Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Humor to Go with the Aging Process!!
With an epidemic of people turning 50 ahead of us, what should we do but laugh?
Seriously, every week I am regaled with at least 12 stories of what 50th birthday parties were like. I'm not sure I can take 20 more years of this. I am always trying to find humor to help me get through these stories, as well as humor I can give as gifts to people.
This Special...
Published on 23 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the hit I was hoping it would be
This turned out to be one of those gifts that ends up at the back of a draw or cupboard. Sadly it wasn't as appropriate as I had hoped it would be.
Published 11 months ago by Mr. R. Gingell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Humor to Go with the Aging Process!!, 23 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: You Know You're 50 When... (Paperback)
With an epidemic of people turning 50 ahead of us, what should we do but laugh?
Seriously, every week I am regaled with at least 12 stories of what 50th birthday parties were like. I'm not sure I can take 20 more years of this. I am always trying to find humor to help me get through these stories, as well as humor I can give as gifts to people.
This Special Large Print Edition is perfect for my purposes.
Here are some of my favorite jokes from the book:
You know you're 50 when --
on your second honeymoon, you tip the bellhop to carry her across the threshold.
you wonder how Mick Jagger stays so thin.
you drop off your dry cleaning at the post office.
'performance anxiety' refers to golf.
your children earn salaries, not allowances.
you're still able to recall where you left your keys, but not what they unlock.
you now read Playboy for the fashion tips.
at last it's okay to sleep late, but you can't.
you carefully trip the fat from cookies.
staying power refers to remaining awake through Cats.
Florida starts looking good.
Be sure to read this book and find your own favorite jokes to keep you amused by your 50+ old friends. Use it to overcome the misconception stall that humor ends with 50.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only suitable for men who over 50, wealthy, married and American, 28 Jan. 2011
This review is from: You Know You're 50 When... (Paperback)
Unfortunately this book has a very narrow readers market in that it is only suitable for married middle-class American men because there are so many references to "your wife" , "your pension" and to the high level of American brand references and expressions which do not work this side of the Atlantic and leave a British reader slightly left out of the joke.
It could perhaps be re-packaged into a British version by changing the words eg bellhop (porter), social security (the dole), optometrist (optician), winnebago(caravan) 3 dollars of Hi-test (3 pounds of petrol?) junior prom (end of term party) Buick Le Sabre (God knows - a Ford Capri?) then it would be laugh aloud funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you know your 50 when, 16 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Know You're 50 When... (Paperback)
brought this for my ageing partner, he seemed to appreciate the humour. was good value and arrived quickly.ordering was easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the hit I was hoping it would be, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Gingell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Know You're 50 When... (Paperback)
This turned out to be one of those gifts that ends up at the back of a draw or cupboard. Sadly it wasn't as appropriate as I had hoped it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Midway in Birthdays, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Know You're 50 When... (Paperback)
Bought for a present so cannot give a review to help you this time!

If and when I get a response I will let you know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Know You're 50 When... (Paperback)
For my brother s 50th birthday he was very pleased with the book arrived in good time an excellent choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
This review is from: You Know You're 50 When... (Paperback)
Just as advertised, quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 50, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Know You're 50 When... (Paperback)
Bought as a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Know You're 50 When... (Paperback)
SPOT ON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Know You're 50 When...
You Know You're 50 When... by Smith (Paperback - 1 May 1998)
£6.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews