Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable piece of Irish Literature
James Stephens was working as a clerk in a solicitor's office in Dublin when he wrote this book. As far as I know It was written around 1911. This book Places Mr Stephens among the ranks of writers such as W.B. Yeats & James Joyce.
A match for Lewis Carroll's Alice stories, this book is a treasure of Irish literature. Philosophers, Policemen, Leprechauns, and a...
Published on 20 Jun. 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Crock of Gold
The content is absolutely glorious. It manages to be funny and serious, even solemn. It moves between legend, fantasy and even at times the commonplace. It is full of gems of language (a curse in ehich "policemsn were exposed naked to the blushes of Eternity", for instance0. But the production is awful. It seems to have been reproduced from an edition with smaller pages,...
Published on 16 Dec. 2011 by R. L. Sturch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable piece of Irish Literature, 20 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
James Stephens was working as a clerk in a solicitor's office in Dublin when he wrote this book. As far as I know It was written around 1911. This book Places Mr Stephens among the ranks of writers such as W.B. Yeats & James Joyce.
A match for Lewis Carroll's Alice stories, this book is a treasure of Irish literature. Philosophers, Policemen, Leprechauns, and a naked woman here & there all provide the ingredients for a great read. Why has Holywood ignored this script I ask?
My favorite line from The book " A sword, a spade, and a thought should never be allowed to rust."
Ok just one more " The scalp of your enemy is progress"
Buy this classic, place it next to Joyce & Yeats on your bookshelf.
Go raibh Maith agat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crock of Gold by James Stephens, 1 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Crock of Gold (Paperback)
This book was a gloriously magical reading experience. Suitable for all ages and temperaments, it is an adventure celebrating Life and Love in all its aspects. It provides something for everyone, lyrical prose, humour, mischief, nature as we SHOULD but know it, loss and yearning, innocence of childhood...I could go on and on. It is a story with many layers of meaning, one to remember forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Crock of Gold, 16 Dec. 2011
By 
R. L. Sturch (Milton Keynes, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crock of Gold (Paperback)
The content is absolutely glorious. It manages to be funny and serious, even solemn. It moves between legend, fantasy and even at times the commonplace. It is full of gems of language (a curse in ehich "policemsn were exposed naked to the blushes of Eternity", for instance0. But the production is awful. It seems to have been reproduced from an edition with smaller pages, and whenever a word was hyphenated at the end of a line, the hyphen is solemny reproduced in the middle of th text. So while the book itself merits five stars, this edition scores only two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic, 22 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crock of Gold (Paperback)
Through use of the folk tale, this book contains such depth and charm, that you are left with a sense of having gained a renewed faith in the beauty of life. The first couple of pages had me laughing, as if I thought I was in for a delightful, insightful and playful journey, and I was right. The mythical characters in there seem to embody characteristics that we have encountered in others or ourselves, truly 'what the heart knows today the head will understand tomorrow'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favourites, 25 Jan. 2012
By 
Mårten Ronsten "RoLjud" (HEDEMORA, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crock of Gold (Paperback)
A favourite philosofic saga of mine. I first read it as a teenager and I still love the book. One of the few books that I have read more than just once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A poor poor edition of a great great book, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crock of Gold (Paperback)
DON'T BUY THIS VERSION of 'The Crock'. Find an original old edition. This one is not from an established publishing house. It is riddled with typos and clumsy double spaces. What is more, the size of it is unwieldily and unpleasant to hold. Do yourself a favor, find a first edition, or failing that, an old version, and read it as it was meant to be read (don't give these con-artists a penny more from your crock). LB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crock of Gold
Crock of Gold by James Stephens (Paperback - 1912)
Used & New from: £0.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews