Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven universal principles - seven laws of nature
A number of other books has been written about these seven principles, using somewhat more modern language, but this book is the classic. This is not just a theory or a philosophy - the principles, being universal, are down-to-earth practical. If you apply them consciously in your life, your life will change.

While in times long gone by, these may have seemed...
Published on 11 Feb 2008 by Laura De Giorgio

versus
47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange little book!
I came accross this book accidentally - or it came accross me, with an existing interest in philosophy & non-dualism.

Many of the ideas contained in the book are similar to those found in New Age reading and Eastern philosophy; everything in motion, opposites, vibration, you are not the body. There are also some very great differences,and the book is aimed at...
Published on 3 Mar 2010 by Ms. Ej Newell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange little book!, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. Ej Newell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I came accross this book accidentally - or it came accross me, with an existing interest in philosophy & non-dualism.

Many of the ideas contained in the book are similar to those found in New Age reading and Eastern philosophy; everything in motion, opposites, vibration, you are not the body. There are also some very great differences,and the book is aimed at the magic/manifestation/power end of spiritual belief.

I have only rated with three stars because the book is written in such a strange way; neither well pitched to readers completely new to the philosophy, or to those familiar with some of the ideas. For example it is quite taken for granted that the reader is not body-identified, and other concepts are breezed over with statements along the lines of 'but we shall not expound upon that here'. In other places the detail is there, but without any explanation for how it is so, or how the concept relates to the teachings.

It came accross as poorly written - over punctuated & capitalised and inconsistently swinging from philosophical argument to great presuppositions. I appreciate that some of the style may be of a particular period, and initially I found it quite charming. Here are a couple of sentences from the book showing the style to expect when reading this book:

"There is one more matter of which we desire to speak in this lesson, and that comes very near to an invasion of the Metaphysical field of speculation, although our purpose is merely to show the futility of such speculation."

"At the last, THE ALL is All Reason in Itself; All Law in Itself; All Action in Itself--and it may be said, truthfully, that THE ALL is Its Own Reason; its own Law; its own Act--or still further, that THE ALL; Its Reason; Its Act; is Law; are ONE, all being names for the same thing."

My conclusion is that as an introduction to ideas and concepts it is not an accessible read. To an experienced reader of spiritual philosophy it holds few new ideas. But if you have no expectations and can enjoy the writing style, it is an interesting short read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven universal principles - seven laws of nature, 11 Feb 2008
By 
Laura De Giorgio "hypnotherapist" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A number of other books has been written about these seven principles, using somewhat more modern language, but this book is the classic. This is not just a theory or a philosophy - the principles, being universal, are down-to-earth practical. If you apply them consciously in your life, your life will change.

While in times long gone by, these may have seemed to be only arbitrary spiritual principles, they are in accord with the view of quantum physics. Kybalion states that universe is mind-like in nature; quantum physics states that the universe is composed out of intelligent energy. The rest of the book describes how to manifest anything with one's thoughts - the process of manifestation, and it reminds me of the book "Dimensional Structure of Consciousness" by Samuel Avery.

The most important part of this book - other than pointing out these principles is that they are UNIVERSAL - they allways work, they express throughout nature and if you use them and apply the consciously, you can create whatever you can possibly desire in your life. You will know then that there is a law and that it works with mathematical precision, and that you can ALWAYS count on it.

The moment you grasp this truth, you will never ever again wish or hope for something to happen, you will know that you have the power to create it and you will be certain of it. And when you use this principles consciously and experience the truth of them - no one in the entire world will ever be able to talk you out of fulfilling your heart's desires. Even if the entire world doubts and laughs at you, you will not care because you'll KNOW that you CAN. You will have the "key".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illumination Even For Beginners, 5 Feb 1999
By A Customer
A very strange little book this, it was lent to me by a good friend and I thought it would take am weekend to read! At the time I failed to understand his analogy of the book to that of an onion. Now I understand. When you read this book you will abosrb a tiny fraction of the material and each time you choose to re-read a chapter, it's as if whole paragraphs are revealed to you for the firts time - a bit like removing successive layers from an onion skin. I find this book to be a foundation for any magik and although perhaps not easily understood in places, the more it is read, somehow the more you are allowed to understand. I now have had to return the book and am about to purchase a copy for myself. I agree with the others, it will be the best $14 I have spent for a very long time. A superb work and an absolute must for any collection worthy of the name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All Practicing Occultists and Scientists, 21 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This book originally transmitted orally for generations, Is literally "The Key" to the great work and to 'mastery' of all philosophies. In addition, this book is a must for anyone interested in Alchemy, Hermetic Philosophy, and the origins of the Physical Sciences and Transcendental Sciences.
SUPERB: A work Worthy of the Great Ones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! You should read this book., 30 May 2003
By A Customer
A great introduction to occult wisdom. Anyone who is interested in the big questions about life and reality would do well to read this small volume. The writing style is dated, however this does not detract from the teaching or power delivered through the Hermetic principles.

A wise man once said that beautiful words are often not truthful words, and truthful words are often not beautiful words. This book does not contain any beautiful words or fanciful language, but my conviction is that it does contain extraordinary truth and wisdom. Simply the best occult book that I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a consise, lucid introduction to hermetic wisdom, 13 Mar 2010
By 
This is a short book, about one hundred pages, but it stays in the mind for longer than just the time taken to read it. It takes the form of a treatise on the seven hermetic principles which form the basis of hermetic philosophy. This was the ancient wisdom taught by hermes trismegistmus, who became identified with thoth, the ancient egyptian god of knowledge and writing.
Although brief, it is rich and profound, and inspires a personal sensation of deep peace and satisfaction that is better and more powerful than any pharmacologically induced euphoria. Surely this is the wisdom that is eulogised in the first four chapters of the Book of Proverbs.
In summary, and excellent disillation of the ideas of hermetic philosophy, one that can give rise to a true gnosis, or knowledge of god.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The base of all Philosophies., 6 Oct 1998
By A Customer
I have been studying this book for 6 years. I am a member of the Puerto Rico Hermetic Philosophy and If you follow tis book, your life will shine...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice version, but go to the source, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Seeker "Seeker" (Thames Ditton, Surrey) - See all my reviews
This is the BOTA version of "The Kybalion", and Paul Foster Case was one of the "Three Initiates".
It is a beautifully produced version, but massively over-priced everywhere except on BOTA's website (bota.org)- not sure why, probably greedy sellers trying to con people.
Wonderful and most deep knowledge, also try the Philip Deslippe latest version, some good stuff in there, especially about WWA.
PP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful condensed wisdom, 4 April 2011
I have followed different spiritual ways in my life, but this book seems to describe the underlying truths that unite all teachings. It is incredibly powerful condensed knowledge. Some concepts are explained so clearly, that they brought about a revolution in my thinking and I could instantly feel the difference in my life. I think the knowledge contained in this book can be utilised, and can bring about a deeper understanding of the universe and what we are. I would recommend it to any student of any way - pure universal wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egyptian Wisdom, 4 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Kybalion is a concise version of the philosophy of Ancient Egypt, and applicable to all aspects of modern life. You will need an open mind. Read this book and be astonished! Here are some links: The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs[[ASIN:0965250938 Egyptian Cosmology: The Animated Universe]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa1baf9c)

This product

The Kybalion: A Study of the Hermetic Philosophy of Ancient Egypt and Greece
16.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews