Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars An improvement on Glasslands but still lacking in pace and depth.
Sometimes it can be long winded and sure knows how to drag at times however it certainly picks up in terms of action when compared to the preceding book. In the first book nothing that happened seemed to have any large implications until the end. This book however involves matters that will actually grasp your interest, as the events that transpire are on a far larger...
Published on 10 Feb. 2013 by Irvinus

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Glasslands...
A very good read and still much better than the Forerunner Saga so far in my opinion however I think it definitely falls short of the previous book Glasslands. Thursday War as the title suggests is more about an ONI-style "dirty tricks" kind of war than it is about the raw action we are used to from Halo, however having said that there is some excellent action at times in...
Published on 20 Nov. 2012 by David Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars An improvement on Glasslands but still lacking in pace and depth., 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sometimes it can be long winded and sure knows how to drag at times however it certainly picks up in terms of action when compared to the preceding book. In the first book nothing that happened seemed to have any large implications until the end. This book however involves matters that will actually grasp your interest, as the events that transpire are on a far larger scale without losing track of the narrative. Both this book and it's predecessor cannot even dream of competing with the masterpiece "Ghosts of Onyx" which is starting book but this is a great addition to the Halo universe. However there are some problems as many characters from Glasslands simply vanish which is strange after the same writer just spent a whole book developing them. I was also disappointed as to the resolution of what happens to Catherine Halsey who is, perhaps the most intricate and complex character within the series she represents the conflict between doing what must be done and what is right. To have her simply squished out with very little mention was a major loss to the book, the fact that all the characters seemed to bear a mutual hatred towards her was somewhat surprising.
Instead all the one dimensional characters remain, but the writer attempts to add more depth to these characters and to a degree succeeds although certain drastic changes in characters personalities is still odd, Phillips the prime example.
Despite this though the book somehow managed to keep my attention with ease and I was not left disappointed at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice addition to the Halo novels, 3 April 2013
By 
Fons Jena "1302" (Flanders,Western-Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read every Halo novel and must say that this novel was one of the better ones (perhaps because it is the one that is fresh in my memory). The parallel stories are nice additions to the universe and are a great introduction to the story of Halo 4 and Spartan Ops. One story is about the Sangheili and their civil war while another story follows a UNSC team that is working 'under cover'. The Sangheili story gives you more info about Humanity's enemy and the UNSC story tells you about the plan that feeds the civil war on Sanghelios. There are also many references to the Forerunners which I like very much.

It's simple: if you like the Halo Universe and you want to fill in the dark pieces you should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Husband is obsessed, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Halo is like a drug to him, he's constantly talking about it so I figured i'd buy him another book (like I do whenever theres a new one) in order to stop him pestering me.
Funnily enough it work and I actually started to get bored of the silence under our roof!
He loved it and had his head firmly between the pages until he finished it.
Not that I mind too much as I managed to watch the end of my programs without someone chatting away in my ears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last one, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its better than Glasslands but it still has issues. The highlight of the book was Phillips's story, but Kilo-Fives mission is really annoying especially near the end. I liked it better than Glasslands but for people that know Halo lore well will notice Travis's mistakes; she made an attempt to repair certain characters that she totally destroyed in the first book, but it really isn't that apparent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great continuation of the Kilo-Five trilogy, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book arrived no probs, started getting into it and must say....I dont know what everyone else is on about!

It has the same level of "personal warfare" as in Glasslands and the character development is even better.

Get Glasslands or even better, get Ghosts of onyx....then continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ancient Evil awakens., 31 Oct. 2012
The last book. Halo:Glasslands wasn't the best book in the Halo book series but I liked it more than most. However this one is even better. I wont go into details but the plot, is very good and has a bit of Foreshadowing to the events of Halo 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
P (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great addition to the series, lots of cliffhangers and loads of in depth sangheili... Stuff. Also sets up a but for halo 4 spartan ops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A big wow!!!, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read from start to finish. Looking forward to the next book to see what happens to kilo five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is fantastic and adds lots to the Halo canon. However, I must say Traviss' writing style does not match that of Eric Nylund on earlier novels, and her continuation of his story feels a bit bland at times, so I hope that he will return. Nevertheless, the novel adds a great deal to the canon and this, Ghosts Of Onyx (Nylund) and Glasslands add a huge amount to the gap between Halo 3 and Halo 4 and fully explain why we are back at war with the covenant. I think everyone should read this book if they have played Halo 4 - I have friends who play Halo 4 who haven't read it, and I end up explaining the events of this book to them so that they will understand - so go ahead and read it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific sequel!, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I finished reading Halo Glasslands and had to immediately buy The Thursday War. I'm eagerly awaiting more in this series from Karin Traviss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thursday War (Halo (Tor Paperback))
The Thursday War (Halo (Tor Paperback)) by Karen Traviss (Mass Market Paperback - 27 Aug. 2013)
£5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews