Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Scholar by Modesitt L E
another fast flowing imagination grabbing adventure in this continuing story of the life from poverty to power of a young artist who finds great power to help stop the terrorists and Dictator's winning and also so raising a family with his wife for the calm after life's Challenges and Scholar
and soon he moves on to be a Intrigue in the next book
Published on 23 May 2012 by Haywain

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as previous books
Unfortunately this book seems to lack complexity or have very much energy.
The plotline is fairly linear and unchallenging.
I rate it 3 stars as it is ok, it's a shame as I really like previous work but this does seem to be a step down from that.
That said I will be reading the follow on books and would recommend this as an easy read for other Modesitt fans.
Published 18 months ago by T. Robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Scholar by Modesitt L E, 23 May 2012
another fast flowing imagination grabbing adventure in this continuing story of the life from poverty to power of a young artist who finds great power to help stop the terrorists and Dictator's winning and also so raising a family with his wife for the calm after life's Challenges and Scholar
and soon he moves on to be a Intrigue in the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scholar: A Novel in the Imager Portfolio, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A continuation of themes that Modesitt has written about several times; developments and hiding of abilities, power and influence. I enjoyed the read but having gone through the Recluce books there comes a point where you feel you are reading the same book with different names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite author, love all his books! I read them over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent addition to the canon, 30 April 2013
By 
R. M. Wilson (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the hero, and the culture is very believable. The plot builds well, and the whole thing is well up to Modesitt's usual high standard, without some of the more irritating stylistic habits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scholar, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
Mrs. D. Tozer (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholar (Imager Portfolio) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book of Modesitt seemed to take longer than usual
to get into, but only, I think, because it sets the scene for the
later books. Thoroughly enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as previous books, 7 Jan. 2014
By 
T. Robinson (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately this book seems to lack complexity or have very much energy.
The plotline is fairly linear and unchallenging.
I rate it 3 stars as it is ok, it's a shame as I really like previous work but this does seem to be a step down from that.
That said I will be reading the follow on books and would recommend this as an easy read for other Modesitt fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Standard Modesitt, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read the same book three or four times already same author different title , but I have just bought the next in the series and as you can see given this four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but...., 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Readable as always with Modesitts' books, but not as engrossing as some of the earlier books in the Imager series, or indeed Modesitt's other fantasy series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scholar-a novel byL E Modesitt, 11 Sept. 2012
By 
J. Mcmillen "bobfio" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This novel is part of the imager series and is imaginative and entertaining as as always from this author and well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
John Dean - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholar (Imager Portfolio) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is well up to Modesitt's usual high standard. Ending is a bit abrupt but it is a good read as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scholar (Imager Portfolio)
Scholar (Imager Portfolio) by L. Jr. (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Oct. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews