Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural coming-of-age thriller
I loved this book - fast paced, fun ideas. A book about a girl and her parents and their ability to jump and what they have to do to protect themselves from the government.

The book is a mix of coming of age, thriller, high school-drama (which I found very fun to read, even though I'm a "grownup"). It's also written in first person which I like. The only...
Published on 22 Jan. 2013 by VonSchnauzer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middling Jumper threequal
Gould's original timeline is continued here. Jumper was a meticulous voyage of discovery of a boy who found he could teleport and used it to escape very real perils only to find in himself the courage to face up to responsibilities. The second book, Reflex, took on in similar detail and logic what might happen if the wrong people found out. The third feels like a step...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. I. M. Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural coming-of-age thriller, 22 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Hardcover)
I loved this book - fast paced, fun ideas. A book about a girl and her parents and their ability to jump and what they have to do to protect themselves from the government.

The book is a mix of coming of age, thriller, high school-drama (which I found very fun to read, even though I'm a "grownup"). It's also written in first person which I like. The only negative part of the book is that the girl is good at everything she tries and after a while that gets tiresome but it certainly does not make it less enjoyable.

Highly enjoyable, good enough characters and very good settings and feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another top work in the Jumper series, 26 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Droitwich, Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Hardcover)
Again, Steven Gould has transported us into the ordinary life of an exceptional person and family - looking at how a family needs to live when they are exceptional and how they react and relate to the rest of the world around them is what is so fascinating about Gould's work. Remembering how Davey was when he first started teleporting and then looking at how he, as a father, reacts to his daughter's jumping is so real that it could just be about wearing the latest fashions!

A must for the true fans of the Jumper BOOK series and Steven's other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middling Jumper threequal, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. I. M. Davis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Hardcover)
Gould's original timeline is continued here. Jumper was a meticulous voyage of discovery of a boy who found he could teleport and used it to escape very real perils only to find in himself the courage to face up to responsibilities. The second book, Reflex, took on in similar detail and logic what might happen if the wrong people found out. The third feels like a step backwards, with a rather staid family dynamic and school setting for a new generation. It's clearly written, easy to read, the detail is there again, but the excitement of discovery and tension of the secret are almost lost despite the freer use of locale. That said, I remain a fan of this plot thread for its refusal to over-dramatise, super-heroise or go for the cinematic. Keep it real, Mr Gould, and find a more gripping idea for your next one please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is fun in the usual Gould way of a smart teen ..., 9 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Mass Market Paperback)
Cent, short for Millicent, is Davy and Millie’s 16 year old daughter. She has been home-schooled, kept away from the outside world and safe from the sinister forces hunting teleporter Davy, helping her parent with their humanitarian aid projects. This all changes when she learns to Jump, and demands a chance to go to school and meet other kids, to be socialised.

As we might expect, any child of Davy and Millie will be out of the ordinary. Cent is very bright, and really quite amazingly grounded. Her inevitable interaction with the school bullies does not go how the bullies expect. Then Cent discovers there more to the situation than simple bullying, and determines to fix it. But that draws the wrong sort of notice.

This is fun in the usual Gould way of a smart teen coming of age. There are new plotlines opening up and not followed through here, as we see not just Cent’s schooldays, but Davy starting to track down the people who captured him all those years ago. I hope this means there are more books to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why no Kindle edition?, 28 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Mass Market Paperback)
It's ridiculous that there are Kindle editions for the first two books and not the third! Please sort this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, bad hardcopy, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Mass Market Paperback)
Brilliant Novel, keeping up with Gould's high standards. I wish, though, to gripe about the physical book. The book was bound backwards, and upside down, so that if you open the front page you face the back page upside down. Also, even though i was careful with my copy, a couple of pages actually fell out. Good book, buy a diffrent version though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
Ian A. Kirton (Darlington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Mass Market Paperback)
Why no kindle edition !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the Jumper series, 11 Nov. 2014
By 
Ian Bradbury "Benglian" (Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Mass Market Paperback)
Yes.

If you like the Jumper series, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He loved it., 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Mass Market Paperback)
Husband received as Christmas gift. He loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good S, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impulse (Jumper) (Mass Market Paperback)
Impulse follows on with the excellent standards of Jumper and Reflex. Steven Gould makes you feel part of the events experianced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Impulse (Jumper)
Impulse (Jumper) by Steven Gould (Mass Market Paperback - 25 Feb. 2014)
£5.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews