Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great storys
i like all of the repairman jack books they are so hard to put down once you start reading them
Published 5 months ago by Christine

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unhappy
A disappointing end to a journey , it makes it seem that none of it was worth it . Enjoyed the books til now.
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unhappy, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A disappointing end to a journey , it makes it seem that none of it was worth it . Enjoyed the books til now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great storys, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i like all of the repairman jack books they are so hard to put down once you start reading them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Modern supernatural "classic", 12 Jun 2013
By 
P. G. Thorneywork "thornp" (Lichfield UK (midlands)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some parts of the story felt a little far fetched
I must admit to reading all of the series in one continuous "go" - it took me 2 weeks - and this did tend to inure me somewhat against disbelief. The result probably being that I should have found even more of it "a bit too far beyond reality" but I still enjoyed the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You got to read em all, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've not read repairman Jack novels before then your in for a treat. I've got every single one and they are all consistently good. Don't expect high literature, these are easy reading, but do expect to be educated, amused, excited and intrigued. You'll be drawn into Jacks unusual and often frighteningly strange world, and if you're like me you may leave somewhat inspired and addicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and worth the money. Would recommend to anyone that enjoys fantasy, horror, and a ridiculously intelligent and brilliant main character who is the ultimate good guy gone rouge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love every f paul wilson. fantastic read. enjoy every repairment jack novel. will be downloading the rest even though i have them on paperback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A dissappointing last course, 23 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Right from the dedication to the foreword, you get the sense that this final book was a struggle, a contractual obligation. While we all know that this is all heading to Nightworld, and that FPW has expressed some frustration and needs to leave Jack behind for newer projects, I was left with the feeling that what we get is a working project, a first draft.

A few sections are well crafted, and I suspect ones that were developed some time ago, having the feel of say All the Rage, and reused. FPW has done this several times to good effect and as he is fleshing out the supporting act in nightworld and the short stories, as well as a multi novel story arc,it is understandable.

But we also get many sections, especially those concentrating on dialogue, which are clunky and ill fitted to the characters, and are poorly crafted or ill delivered, they are plonked on the page like a script direction or first thought. I might even conclude that they are ghost written, or the ghostly hand of the editor.

There is solid story line and all the loose ends are tied up, but it seems with a nail gun. While the climax barely redeems the novel, and we know how it ends, it still had the scope to make this a much more satisfying and engaging read.

And the climatic suspenseful end of the penultimate act that I was hoping for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark at the End (Repairman Jack Novels)
The Dark at the End (Repairman Jack Novels) by F. Paul Wilson (Mass Market Paperback - 25 Sep 2012)
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews