Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome read
I haven't found these books in Belgium so I went online and after a long search I found this book-set and after reading it 3 times already I can't get enough of it
the first book is ok for teenagers but the other 3 maybe a little bit to deep for teens on the other hand if you love sci-fi and love some philosophy then this is an awesome read
spoiler alert:...
Published 5 months ago by daems jelle

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, but get the shadow series as well.
I've become hooked on ender through the audible versions, and decided it was time to own them as "hardcopy"
The print is very pocket like, with type set almost full bleed, but that's to be expected maybe.
Bundled are the definitve versions (the author has done some touch-ups over the years) and a nice introduction by OSC.

Ender's Game is of course one...
Published on 27 Nov 2008 by F. Vandueren


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome read, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ender Quartet (Mass Market Paperback)
I haven't found these books in Belgium so I went online and after a long search I found this book-set and after reading it 3 times already I can't get enough of it
the first book is ok for teenagers but the other 3 maybe a little bit to deep for teens on the other hand if you love sci-fi and love some philosophy then this is an awesome read
spoiler alert:
the first book tells the story of ender as a kid and can be seen as a stand alone story
the last 3 books are 1 story made in 3 books that tells the story of ender as an adult and about the other aliens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, but get the shadow series as well., 27 Nov 2008
By 
F. Vandueren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ender Quartet (Mass Market Paperback)
I've become hooked on ender through the audible versions, and decided it was time to own them as "hardcopy"
The print is very pocket like, with type set almost full bleed, but that's to be expected maybe.
Bundled are the definitve versions (the author has done some touch-ups over the years) and a nice introduction by OSC.

Ender's Game is of course one of the best stories ever, but the other 3 books in this set, said by Card to be the only reason he started the saga, are too philosophical for my taste.
The shadow series picks up on the action and intrigue that was so exhilarating in the original story, and expands on that with a geopolitical flair that makes me suspect Orson plays a mean game of Risk.

So storywise: don't miss Ender's Game, if you feel left in the cold by the speaker for the dead trilogy, then buy the Shadow series.

For fans who have to own this: perhaps there's a nicer luxury hardcover setbox on the horizon ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ender Quartet (Mass Market Paperback)
Perfect quality delivered in plenty of time for the missus to take away with her she seamed happy with them all round good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great set to have, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ender Quartet (Mass Market Paperback)
The pack itself is really nice and arrived in perfect condition.
The books are great too, of course! I think they're worth reading again every 5 years as our impression is likely to change depending on our mental state in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great set, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ender Quartet (Mass Market Paperback)
Arrived very quickly. Bought as a gift for my daughter who wanted to read the book of the film and didn't realise that there are 4 books in the series. I believe that some of the content is about the ethics of whether a whole nation should be destroyed so she is looking forward to reading the books as she has very strong ideas about what she believes is right and wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un-Freaking-Believable!, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ender Quartet (Mass Market Paperback)
Andrew "Ender" Wiggin kept his government-issued monitor on until the age of six. That was a year longer than most. Many of the other kids are jealous, especially his older brother, Peter. When the bad boys at school corner him, Ender does what he has to. Shortly thereafter, Colonel Graff arrives at the Wiggin home and offers Ender the chance to attend Battle School.

It has been about eighty years since the last war with the buggers. The buggers almost managed to wipe humanity out of existence. Since then, the government has been trying to make officers for the next war; a war that could happen at any time. Battle School is where children are trained to become commanders. All the children are organized into armies and they compete in zero gravity war games.

Unknown to Ender (but well known to readers), Graff intends to make six-year-old Ender into the best battle commander in history. The future of humanity could very well depend on Ender becoming a perfect killing machine. Ender is bright, in perfect health, highly intelligent, and imaginative. To Ender, winning is everything. (To quote part of the book: "Ender Wiggin isn't a killer. He just wins - thoroughly.") To some others in the military, Graff is often too cruel to the children, especially to Ender. But Graff is doing what he believes is necessary for the preservation of the human race. Ender realizes early on that Graff is isolating him from the kids by using every low-down trick in the book - and several NOT in the book. The mind games are nothing new to Ender. He was used to dealing with Peter, who is a master manipulator. As Ender thinks up more and more amazing strategies to win the war games, he is also shaping himself into the very weapon Graff wants so badly.

***** FIVE STARS! This is one of the most impressive novels of our time (imho). The author takes a nascent child (Ender) and places him in a military school to (basically) sink or swim. Due to the exigencies of an upcoming war, the person in charge of Battle School (Graff) is unstinting in his mistreatment of all the children.

This story has already become required reading in some high schools. Teachers enjoy having their students debate on whether Graff is guilty of mistreatment of children or if his actions are justifiable. Another point of debate is the emotional and psychological toll on young Ender.

Though the story mainly focuses on Ender, some time is given to his brother and sister who are still back at home. Those Wiggin siblings are as intelligent as Ender, but instead of strategy they have more manipulative and/or persuasive abilities.

All-in-all, this is an excellent story for Science Fiction fans of any age. (Fans of Robert A. Heinlein will especially enjoy this tale. The meticulous thoughts and beyond-his-time-ideas can be found in this story too.) Un-Freaking-Believable! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ender Quartet
The Ender Quartet (Mass Market Paperback)
Used & New from: 12.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews