Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful romantic tragedy.
It's 1971, and on the flip of a coin, 36 year-old Richard Collier, dying of a brain tumor, travels toward San Diego, and happens upon an old hotel. There he finds the captivating photograph of a young actress, Elise McKenna, who performed at the hotel in 1896. He decides to research everything he can about her. The more he learns, the more deeply he falls in love with...
Published on 22 Jun. 1999

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay but preferred film
I bought this book because the film version with Christoperher Reeve and Jane Seymour is one of my favourite films of all time. It is one of the few occasions when the film is much better than the book. The story is changed slightly in the film but that improves it and the book was a bit of a let down.

It was nice to note, however, that the author of the book...
Published on 8 Feb. 2010 by E. Chaplin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful romantic tragedy., 22 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Paperback)
It's 1971, and on the flip of a coin, 36 year-old Richard Collier, dying of a brain tumor, travels toward San Diego, and happens upon an old hotel. There he finds the captivating photograph of a young actress, Elise McKenna, who performed at the hotel in 1896. He decides to research everything he can about her. The more he learns, the more deeply he falls in love with her, and the more he's convinced that he has been to her time, and that they were in love. The 1980 movie, Somewhere In Time, starring Christopher Reeve, Jane Seymour, and Christopher Plummer, was based upon this 1975 novel by Richard Matheson. The novel's pull on the heartstrings, however, is even more intense, and the ending to the novel is much more tragic. The proposed sequel, MEMOIRS OF ELISE (different author), though not nearly as exhaustive as Somewhere in Time, does a good job of suggesting what happened to Elise after Richard disappeared from her life, and the events that helped her discover that Richard had come to her from the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ROMANTIC AND POIGNANT...THE LONGING IS PALPABLE..., 1 Dec. 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Paperback)
A terminally ill man falls in love with a famous turn of the century actress. The only trouble is that they are separated by a span of about seventy five years. What is a man to do? Why travel back in time, of course.
That is just what Richard Collier does in order to be with the beautiful Elise McKenna, the woman of his dreams. Or does he? Does he really travel back in time, or is it merely the delusion of a desperately ill man who seeks to find meaning for his existence? Does his tenuous hold on life in the present mirror his equally tenuous hold on life at the turn of the century? Is his death ultimately the only way for these unrequited lovers to be united, at last?
This is a beautifully poignant love story in which the longing the protaganists have for each other is palpable. A bittersweet sadness permeates the pages of this book, as Robert and Elise pass through life, each a shadow on the consciousness of the other. One only hopes that they find in the hereafter, what they were denied in this life.
This wonderfully imaginative and inventive book draws the reader into its fantastical web. A veritable page turner, it is a classic story of a love which will not be denied. Read the book, and then see the movie with Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And love most sweet, 12 Mar. 2006
By 
C. Watts "acendingstar" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Paperback)
Somewhere in time is a beautifully crafted tale of love that transcends time itself.
The year is 1971 Richard Collier has only months to live and comes across a hotel where he instantly feels at home. There he sees and falls for an actress in an old photograph from 1896. In finding out more about her Collier becomes obsessed by the idea that they were lovers roughly seventy five years ago when she performed at the hotel.
Matheson has done an outstanding job in creating a moving novel that will grip you and occupy your thoughts for a while afterwards.
A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time-Travel SUPREME!, 1 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. John Frank Herbert (Greenwich, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Paperback)
As a 'time-travel' freak I came across the film first and found it utterly compelling. I just had to read the book, to fill in the gaps and, of course, to gorge myself on every moment of this unforgettable tale.

The book, needlessly I believe, has our hero dying from a disease right from the start; who needs it when dying from a broken heart says all that needs to be said?

Nevertheless it's a great read, and a permanent fixture in my book cabinet.

Check out Jack Finney's 'Time And Again' for the perfect time-travel novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ROMANTIC AND POIGNANT...THE LONGING IS PALPABLE..., 8 Mar. 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Paperback)
A terminally ill man falls in love with a famous turn of the century actress. The only trouble is that they are separated by a span of about seventy five years. What is a man to do? Why, travel back in time, of course.
That is just what Richard Collier does in order to be with the beautiful Elise McKenna, the woman of his dreams. Or does he? Does he really travel back in time, or is it merely the delusion of a desperately ill man who seeks to find meaning for his existence? Does his tenuous hold on life in the present mirror his equally tenuous hold on life at the turn of the century? Is his death ultimately the only way for these unrequited lovers to be united, at last?
This is a beautifully poignant love story in which the longing the protagonists have for each other is palpable. A bittersweet sadness permeates the pages of this book, as Robert and Elise pass through life, each a shadow on the consciousness of the other. One only hopes that they find in the hereafter, what they were denied in this life.
This wonderfully imaginative and inventive book draws the reader into its fantastical web. A veritable page turner, it is a classic story of a love which will not be denied. Read the book, and then see the movie with Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay but preferred film, 8 Feb. 2010
By 
E. Chaplin (St Albans) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Paperback)
I bought this book because the film version with Christoperher Reeve and Jane Seymour is one of my favourite films of all time. It is one of the few occasions when the film is much better than the book. The story is changed slightly in the film but that improves it and the book was a bit of a let down.

It was nice to note, however, that the author of the book was involved with the film so maybe he saw it as an improvement on the book as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere In Time by Richard Matheson, 3 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Mass Market Paperback)
Someone recommended this as one of the most romantic stories of all time, so I had to have a look!
I loved it, a book about time travel AND romance all in one great!
The book starts with Richard Colliers' brother telling us that he has come across notes of his brothers and is having them printed, he doesn't think they are true (who would?) but Richard believed it and here is the story. Richard is dying from a brain tumor, he can't stand seeing the look of pity and pain in his brothers face, so decides to take off and go somewhere to die by himself. He stops along the way at an old Victorian hotel, enjoys the genteel feel of the place so stays for a day or two. Whilst there he sees a photograph of an actress, Elise McKenna, who had performed at the hotel on 20th November 1896. He falls in love with the photo of Elise and simply can't get her out of his mind. He does a lot of research on her and is intrigued by the story of her performance that night and the fact that there was a guest of the hotel who attended the performance called R C Collier! He fantasises about meeting Elise and is so convinced that if he can THINK hard enough about that night he will be able to go back to 20th November 1896! as this date happens to be a few days ahead (in his own time of 1971) he makes his plans.
He does go back of course and meets his soulmate Elise McKenna. Unfortunately things do not work out for the lovers although you are willing it so much for them! and after an eventful 2 days Richard is flung back to his own time ,1971.
You get so caught up in the story and are so disappointed when things go awry for them, although you know from the beginning of the story that it can not work out.
A lovely little book, a lovely story and really you should give it a go! If you enjoy time travel and romance.
Reminds me strongly of Jack Finney's "Time and Again" another very good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read in one sitting on a boiling hot summers day, 9 July 2013
By 
Michelle Whall "Michelle" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Mass Market Paperback)
I would never have read this book if it was not for a review on Paul Magrs' blog. I was enchanted by the story and the different questions it raised in me as a reader. The story is well constructed and poignant and much better I think than the film, which I watched the next day. I felt the story slowed just a little in the middle, but I loved it all the same. It felt quite profound to be reading it so soon after the death of Richard Matheson as I read that this was in his opinion one of the best books he had written. I look forward to reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I'm saying this but skip the book and see the movie instead, 18 Jan. 2009
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Mass Market Paperback)
Never in my wildest dreams would I ever think that instead of Hollywood screwing up a good book and getting it wrong that they could take a mediocre book and make something unforgettable. Originally published as Bid Time Return, the story starts in 1971 and written in a journal/diary format by Richard Collier, who suffers from a brain tumor. In an effort to escape his real life and career, Richard finds himself at San Diego's Hotel Del Coronado, while there he sees the 19C photo of actress Elise McKenna and finds himself immediately attracted to the image and falls in love.

Richard reads everything he can find on Elise, who after a strange and life-changing visit to the hotel in 1896 never married and he realizes that she died of a heart attack within hours after she saw a very young Richard and recognized him as her lover from the Coronado Hotel. OK..... Determined to escape the present and return to Elise, Richard finds clothing of the period and somehow meditates himself into the past and once there, well, you all know the rest of the story.

So how is it that a story I love to bits every time I see it (well possibly because it _is_ Christopher Reeve) be so slow paced and mediocre in the book? I love a good love story as well as the next female reader, but he was just too sappy and gushy over this woman who he'd only seen in a photograph -- and Elise wasn't much better with her mooning over Richard. The diary/journal format didn't help either especially with 100+ never ending pages of Richard's efforts to return to the past (came close to tossing it), and since I'm not into spoilers I won't go into the ambiguous little ending the author leaves the readers with, but you won't like it. From all the rave reviews, clearly I'm in the minority opinion on this one, but if you're dead set on reading it, get it from the library first - then buy it if you love it. 2/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True love never ends. A hearbreaking but lovely story., 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Mass Market Paperback)
After seeing the film several times over the years, I decided to purchase and to read the book version. It's good to have the book as well as seeing the film as you can compare the two which are excellent in their own right (some prefer the film, some prefer the book, some like the two equally, everyone's different).

A little spoiler:

It's a heartbreaking but lovely story of: time travel, love, romance, never giving up on wanting to be with the one you love; your soulmate, and desiring to be with them come what may. Without giving the plot and storyline away too much so as not to spoil it for others, what I will say is that if you want to read a book that gives you a glimpse into just how far people are prepared to go to be with another person - despite going through anguish and despair to get there - it will move your heart and soul, this story, and you'll come away feeling that love truly does triumph over any obstacle put in its path.

The book was packaged very well, arrived before the 'due date' and there's nothing nicer than opening the packaging and holding a brand-new book in your hands, written by a gifted and wonderful author - Richard Matheson, who takes you on a wonderful heartwarming emotional journey with you not being able to put the book down, it's that good.

I highly-recommend Somewhere in Time to any reader who enjoys romantic time-travel stories, with drama and suspense included too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere in Time
Somewhere in Time by Richard Matheson (Mass Market Paperback - 23 Sept. 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews