Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic
Kick ass ninja queen Tessa is proud of her job guarding the President of the United States and is prepared to take any action necessary to save her, including using her own body to shield the Pres from an assassin's bullet. Before the bullet penetrates her brain Tessa is whisked 300 years into the future. She learns she has been chosen as Earth's candidate for "The...
Published on 13 April 2005 by Book Addict

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Challenge: Rystani Warrior Series: 1 [Kindle Edition]
I liked the product description of this book so I purchased it & was very much looking forward to reading it but after 35 pages I just gave up on it & requested a refund for it (bearing in mind I have read and purchased & red many sci-fi/fantasy/paranormal/Romance e-books over the years this says a lot in itself as I have only ever deleted a couple of books on my Kindle...
Published 6 months ago by tried & tested


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 13 April 2005
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenge (Mass Market Paperback)
Kick ass ninja queen Tessa is proud of her job guarding the President of the United States and is prepared to take any action necessary to save her, including using her own body to shield the Pres from an assassin's bullet. Before the bullet penetrates her brain Tessa is whisked 300 years into the future. She learns she has been chosen as Earth's candidate for "The Challenge" an ordeal which should she pass, makes her planet eligible to join a galactic alliance and receive much needed anti-pollution technology. The luscious Kahn, a native from the patriarchal planet of Rystan is selected to tutor her and following the recommendations in his trainer manual, decides built-up libido frustration will release Tessa's psi ability. Despite her libido tension Tessa refuses to crack and informs Kahn that this approach will never unleash her mental powers. Proving that she is well able to defend herself against attack, Kahn finds himself agreeing to use the training methods practiced on males, that of face to face combat, but the idea of hitting a woman repulses him.
Kahn can not understand this strange Earth woman and fears that she will ruin the opportunity for Rystan to receive membership into the Federation of Planets (his planet's full membership will only be granted should Tessa pass her challenge). His people are slowing starving to death and face constant attacks from the Endekians, a race of nasty aliens determined to inhabit his planet and profit from their only natural resource, radioactive glowstones. When Tessa attempts to flee (her plan to bargain with Earth to select another candidate due to her lack of psi ability), she steals a shuttlecraft, an action punishable by death. If Tessa should die before she attempts the Challenge, an automatic failure is issued, so Kahn does the only thing he can to protect her life - he marries her.
This has got to be one of the best books I have read in months and should appeal to fans of quite a few genres. There's plenty of action, steaming sex scenes, weird aliens and wonderful space-age technology. The developing relationship between Tessa and Kahn has almost epic proportions, be it in the bedroom or whilst training for the Challenge. Both characters are brilliantly drawn by Susan Kearney and the reader cannot help but like and respect the pair. There are also some really fabulous secondary characters, including Dora, a sentient computer who becomes Tessa's best friend and the Osarian, telepathic beings so repulsively ugly they are shunned by the majority of alien races. Beauty is more than skin deep however and Tessa finds her none too attractive new friend and now secret business partner Osari a canny negotiator, his lucrative deals producing enough credits for Tessa to purchase some very expensive high tech gadgets.
"The Challenge" was a brilliant space romp that kept me turning pages for hours and left me breathless in places. One minute I was wincing at the training sessions and the next moment I was laughing aloud (watch out for where Tessa places her wedding band upon Kahn's body - lets just say it's not his finger). The twisting plot line is enthralling and I challenge any reader not to enjoy it! At the end of this book Tessa dares Dora to become more human, a challenge the flirty computer takes very seriously by deciding to grow her own body. Her story is told in "The Dare" due for publication in July 2005 - I for one already have a copy on order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Sexy and love amongst the stars., 18 Mar. 2005
By 
shaz17 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenge (Mass Market Paperback)
Tessa was shot in the line of duty, saving the president from snipers etc... She was good at her job and took it Very serious indeed, she was a female warrior and a virgin to boot....Tessa wakes up 300 years later in the arms of a giant handsome hulk, named Kahn. Tessa was no longer a secret service agent for her president, she was the only hope her planet had for surrival...but Kahns planet depends on her passing the challenge also. All these people on both their planets depending on poor old Tess...She has to develop, her Psi abilities (She does not beleive she has any, no one on Earth as any Psi ability, do they?)Kahns insisting that it is latent, but everyone as it. His problem is he treats her like all the other females and keeps driving her to sexual frustration, (Which is how the psi ability is brought forth on females.....he is sooooo wrong in how do get it going in Tessa. And when she losers her temper, her ability breaks forth and it attacks Kahn....Now he is starting to realise that this female is different, She is a warrior woman on a mission, and missions are what Tessa does not and will not fail on, no matter what they are. But what about the part of the mission where Tessa has to wed the sexy brute and make a good biddable wife....Yeah right... "I dont cook and I dont clean, Ever" (Well thats because she cant.....
And the ships computer just loves Tessa and Tessa names her Doris, what a laugh...
This can be funny, sexy, serious etc... A real good all round read. First one i have read by this author and i can say i did enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Challenge: Rystani Warrior Series: 1 [Kindle Edition], 16 Sept. 2014
I liked the product description of this book so I purchased it & was very much looking forward to reading it but after 35 pages I just gave up on it & requested a refund for it (bearing in mind I have read and purchased & red many sci-fi/fantasy/paranormal/Romance e-books over the years this says a lot in itself as I have only ever deleted a couple of books on my Kindle and hardly ever have I had to request a refund for an e-book unless it was faulty in some way…). I kept waiting for the story to get off the starting blocks and I thought it had done so as I really enjoyed reading the 1st few pages which has a lot of action in it relating to the heroine's job which was protecting the president but then it just stalled… by page 35 I just couldn't take reading another page of it…I know this book has got quite a lot of five-star reviews and somebody did mention that this story warms up after the 1st quarter but seeing as this book is over 300 pages long waiting until page 75 for this story to get going was just not going to happen. I didn't find this story very believable at all when the heroine finds out that she has been brought 300 years into the future because she is the world's only real hope for survival (apparently, she is told that nobody has the qualities needed to be a candidate for the challenge because there are no virgins left in the world over the age of 16 anymore and those that are just too immature… There are only a few requirements a candidate needs to meet and one of those is that they must be a virgin). There are lots of fantastic sci-fi/fantasy/paranormal romances out there to pick from but as far as I'm concerned this book definitely isn't one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So slow, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded this after reading the other reviews but just could not get on with it.
Managed to get through the first third but gave up after that.
I like sci-fi fantasy and can usually suspend belief for lots of things but this one was really way too silly.
The female character was fast forwarded to the future and believes this after only one chat with someone from Earth, the male is so old fashioned its like hes from the stone age not the future and the development of the story was so slow and in some way I can't fully explain was flat like looking at monochrome when it should be in colour.
Maybe if you like really old, slow paced stuff and mild S&M does it for you, you may enjoy it but not to my taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warms up after the first quarter, 18 Jan. 2006
By 
K. Newman "krazykmcd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Challenge (Mass Market Paperback)
Tessa Camen had to travel through time to find the family she’d always wanted. An orphan who found her calling in martial arts, Tessa eventually found herself in the elite position of being bodyguard to the president of the USA. During an attack on the President, Tessa is shot and killed. However, this turns out to be exactly what the Earth of the future needs, a warrior woman (and a virgin to boot) with no family ties to represent the entire planet in The Challenge, to become part of a huge interplanetary alliance which will allow the restoration of the over-polluted Earth back to it’s natural best. Kahn is the lucky guy selected to be her trainer. Kahn’s world went through the last Challenge, but to be fully accepted into the Federation their world has to train the next successful candidate.
Kearney has written some good books, but in my opinion this is not one of her best. Kearney says herself that this book was drafted early in her career, and was rewritten from scratch before being published. I feel it would have been worth a couple of re-drafts. I love paranormal stories, and have come to enjoy trip through time stories. This combines the two, but a bit uneasily. The basic story of a woman finding what she’d been needing her whole life is an engaging one, without the need for what seems like a plot constructed around this premise. Okay, a story needs a shape, but I’m just not convinced that there was any reason for this story to be shaped around the Challenge, to save not one but two worlds! The use of the various psi based technologies does not fit or work very well for me, and I found that very hard to forgive and work past. The withholding of information from Tessa is contrived, and the discovery and use of her psi abilities is not really told with the same insight of what it would have been like for her as, for example, when Tessa first leans what has happened to her and to the Earth. And the Challenge trial itself just doesn’t have the suspense, importance or weight to hold up the story.
Regular readers of the paranormal in particular may find themselves agreeing with me that this story lacks the punch of making the unreal seem somehow possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As fantasy fiction goes, this was pretty good. I found it difficult to relate to the sharp contrast between the incredible technology on the one hand and the seemingly primitive on the other. This wasn't completely formed by the social attitudes of Rystan, but the general attitudes prevalent in the book. This book was quite good value but subsequent ones are more than I would want to pay when I can continue with the series offered by Evangeline Anderson's 'Claimed', or S E Smith with the 'Dragon Lords' series, as their style appeals to me rather more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Left wanting more, 22 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenge (Mass Market Paperback)
Everything you could look for in a read - stength, passion, action (of all sorts), romance. While the story is set in the future and in a different galaxy, it uses the old fashioned ideal of me Tarzan, you Jane, showing how the heroine turns all the hero's ideals and beliefs around. Can't wait for the sequel 'The Dare'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, 16 Dec. 2013
By 
Helli (Isle of Sheppey Kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book took me by surprise , and turned the whole reading of it on its head . I went from thinking a bit odd but not bad , to not putting down until I had read the whole thing and brought the next book in the series. A fantastic read well recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've got to give this 5*, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh yes. A well deserved 5*. I loved the storyline, the action, romance. Everything to make a steamy read. Even the outcome was bril. I've got a new fav author. Off to read the next intstallment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story, 26 July 2013
By 
A. Bell "bear crazy" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this series, this author makes you laugh out loud at places and I would recommend this series to anyone - I bought these a couple for years ago in paperback form and just had to read again and again now they are in e-book
A MUST READ and RE-READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Challenge
The Challenge by Susan Kearney (Mass Market Paperback - 25 Feb. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews