Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Dune?
While Dune remains an undisputedly epic masterpiece in its entirety this relatively small book condenses into its pages all the same intrigue and complexity of a devious society seen though the eyes of, importantly, believable individuals.
Where Dune has its massive scope Dosadi has intense focus, the whole "universe" in this story is compressed into one...
Published on 6 Aug 2002 by M. Stanbrook

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too Small to Read
Book probably a good read, its problems is it was most liklry printed in 1966, the print is very fine, very small, and detracts heavily from a pleasant reading experience.
Published 16 months ago by Michael Johnson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Dune?, 6 Aug 2002
By 
M. Stanbrook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dosadi Experiment (Mass Market Paperback)
While Dune remains an undisputedly epic masterpiece in its entirety this relatively small book condenses into its pages all the same intrigue and complexity of a devious society seen though the eyes of, importantly, believable individuals.
Where Dune has its massive scope Dosadi has intense focus, the whole "universe" in this story is compressed into one immense city wherein live billions of individuals. Plot within plot within plot is revealed as the story pursues the results of the pressures of this environment.
As I am saying on all my reviews of these re-releases of Herbert's work - its about time! And if you can't wait there have been copies in second hand stores for the last decade just waiting for you to buy them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 22 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dosadi Experiment (Paperback)
An experiment on how to control emotions and consciousness ... but it blows up in the faces of those who began it. It's about "awareness", about how we learn to know things. the hero, McKai from Whipping Star, is sent to Dosadi to ensure it does what the experimenters want. But there he meets Jedrick, a fascinating and totally focused woman who is about to save the people. she does this by learning how to think ... this is so much more than one would believe. It's frightening. It's quite possible. It's wonderful. The ending is tearing to the heart and soul and yet completely wonderful. If only humans were like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the God Veil, 13 July 2013
This review is from: The Dosadi Experiment (Mass Market Paperback)
If you have never read a Frank Herbert book before, this is where I would start. Yes, it is the sequel to his Whipping Star, but to be honest it won't detract from reading Dosadi if you haven't read it.

What you have in The Dosadi Experiment is a concentration in a relatively small book of all the things I like about Frank Herbert books - politics, intrigue, philosophising, and an exploration of how people reaction in extreme circumstances. On top of that, the Gowachin and the city of Chu itself are wonderful creations.

A previous review had as his title "Better than Dune?" I wouldn't bother with the question mark. It really is an excellent book. The only 2 criticisms I would have for this is that the ending is a bit rushed, and I wish he had done a sequel. There are just so many things that could have been explored further, both on Dosadi and in the wider ConSentiency.

That said, if Brian Herbert and Kevin J Anderson read this and are thinking about doing a sequel - DONT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's good., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I struggled at first but thought, wait a minute this is Mr Herbert...let's see where this is going. It's good, really good. Just finished a second reading, it gets better. Very deep for quite a short book by Mr Herbert's standard. Highly recommended and if you can get a copy of Whipping Star as well that's good for some background on the main character and the Caleban.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Frank Herbert and nicely narrated, 15 Mar 2013
By 
Duncan Howorth (Chester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dosadi Experiment (Audio CD)
I loved this. Its years since I read the book and it was like meeting an old friend. The aphorisms are not as good as in the Dune series but the story is nicely paced and has many of the themes that appear in his other tales - hellstroms hive and the santaroga barrier - but here the hero is the investigator instead of the investigated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Carol Kirkland (glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dosadi Experiment (Mass Market Paperback)
Got this as a gift for my husband as he likes frank herberts dune books, he really enjoyed it, good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Far too Small to Read, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dosadi Experiment (Mass Market Paperback)
Book probably a good read, its problems is it was most liklry printed in 1966, the print is very fine, very small, and detracts heavily from a pleasant reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stuning, 20 May 2004
By 
Jamie Wright "harlequin185" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dosadi Experiment (Paperback)
another fantastic expansion upon an interesting idea by one of the greatest masters of the english language. pure solid gold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

The Dosadi Experiment
The Dosadi Experiment by Frank Herbert (Mass Market Paperback - 16 Sep 2002)
4.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews