Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
12
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2014
Gould's original timeline is continued here. Jumper was a meticulous voyage of discovery of a boy who found he could teleport and used it to escape very real perils only to find in himself the courage to face up to responsibilities. The second book, Reflex, took on in similar detail and logic what might happen if the wrong people found out. The third feels like a step backwards, with a rather staid family dynamic and school setting for a new generation. It's clearly written, easy to read, the detail is there again, but the excitement of discovery and tension of the secret are almost lost despite the freer use of locale. That said, I remain a fan of this plot thread for its refusal to over-dramatise, super-heroise or go for the cinematic. Keep it real, Mr Gould, and find a more gripping idea for your next one please!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I loved this book - fast paced, fun ideas. A book about a girl and her parents and their ability to jump and what they have to do to protect themselves from the government.

The book is a mix of coming of age, thriller, high school-drama (which I found very fun to read, even though I'm a "grownup"). It's also written in first person which I like. The only negative part of the book is that the girl is good at everything she tries and after a while that gets tiresome but it certainly does not make it less enjoyable.

Highly enjoyable, good enough characters and very good settings and feeling.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
Again, Steven Gould has transported us into the ordinary life of an exceptional person and family - looking at how a family needs to live when they are exceptional and how they react and relate to the rest of the world around them is what is so fascinating about Gould's work. Remembering how Davey was when he first started teleporting and then looking at how he, as a father, reacts to his daughter's jumping is so real that it could just be about wearing the latest fashions!

A must for the true fans of the Jumper BOOK series and Steven's other works.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Cent, short for Millicent, is Davy and Millie’s 16 year old daughter. She has been home-schooled, kept away from the outside world and safe from the sinister forces hunting teleporter Davy, helping her parent with their humanitarian aid projects. This all changes when she learns to Jump, and demands a chance to go to school and meet other kids, to be socialised.

As we might expect, any child of Davy and Millie will be out of the ordinary. Cent is very bright, and really quite amazingly grounded. Her inevitable interaction with the school bullies does not go how the bullies expect. Then Cent discovers there more to the situation than simple bullying, and determines to fix it. But that draws the wrong sort of notice.

This is fun in the usual Gould way of a smart teen coming of age. There are new plotlines opening up and not followed through here, as we see not just Cent’s schooldays, but Davy starting to track down the people who captured him all those years ago. I hope this means there are more books to follow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
It's ridiculous that there are Kindle editions for the first two books and not the third! Please sort this out.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Again, Steven Gould didn't disappoint. It's a perfect sequel of the Jumper saga and also an excellent and contemporary novel adding issues every teenager faces: new school and friends, crushes, and sex, but everything from a clean perspective and not leaving action aside. The characters all well built as well as the plot with a touch of a science lecture. Totally recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Brilliant Novel, keeping up with Gould's high standards. I wish, though, to gripe about the physical book. The book was bound backwards, and upside down, so that if you open the front page you face the back page upside down. Also, even though i was careful with my copy, a couple of pages actually fell out. Good book, buy a diffrent version though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
Why no kindle edition !!!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Yes.

If you like the Jumper series, get it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Husband received as Christmas gift. He loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.