Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tomb? What Tomb?
OK, one thing first, there is no tomb in the book. Strange but see the author's own website for the explanation.
With that out of the way this is a cracking book. On the surface it is a simpler plot than some of his others but, trust me, there are depths to be plumbed. No-one, but no-one can write a "real life meets the supernaturual" thriller better than F. Paul...
Published on 27 July 2003 by Peter John Miles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not fantastic.
Repairman Jack has enjoyable libertarian undercurrents running through it. However Wilson's view of what you might describe as Good vs Evil might not be everyone's cup of tea. From my perspective, the author could perhaps rely less on the mainstream media and read a bit more widely on topics of the east, to inform his 'world stage'.
I don't think I'll be paying for...
Published 16 days ago by Faz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tomb? What Tomb?, 27 July 2003
This review is from: The Tomb (Paperback)
OK, one thing first, there is no tomb in the book. Strange but see the author's own website for the explanation.
With that out of the way this is a cracking book. On the surface it is a simpler plot than some of his others but, trust me, there are depths to be plumbed. No-one, but no-one can write a "real life meets the supernaturual" thriller better than F. Paul Wilson and, of course, it introduces Repairman Jack to the world. This is the first book in which this character appears and therefore gives more of his background and the events which made him what he is, the ultimate anti-hero for today.
In addition the book ties in with virtually all the others, a tie in which deepens as the series advances in time.
My final word? Read this book, then read all the others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A CURSE FROM THE PAST INVADES THE PRESENT..., 12 Feb 2005
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Tomb (Mass Market Paperback)
The horror genre is enriched by this book, which is inventive and original. Though the book is plot, rather than character, driven, it does not suffer for its lack of character development. The reader is kept too busy thinking about the plot to worry unduly about character development. Such is the power of this unusual and compelling horror story.
The plot is relatively simple. The horror reached across the world from India to the United States. A heinous defilement and murders in a temple in mid nineteenth century India by British soldiers unleashes a curse which is to follow the descendants of the leader of the attack. Coupled with that curse is an entourage of creatures of unimaginable horror that have once again risen to do the bidding of one who would right past wrongs. But with great power comes great responsibility.
Enter Repairman Jack, a man who works to put to right what once went wrong. A man who earns his living by his wits and by his ability to defend himself to the death, if necessary. If one has a problem, he will fix it. When he agrees to help a one armed Indian gentleman, Kusum Bahkti, retrieve a necklace that is a priceless family heirloom. How priceless, he will soon find out.
Repairman Jack is thrust into the middle of a series of almost
inexplicable events....mysterious disappearances, rank odors, unusual substances of Indian origin, and a necklace that holds the key to an ancient horror. He then encounters what would be the most formidable foes he would ever encounter. He must find a way to vanquish these hellish creatures or risk losing those whom he loves.
Highly original and inventive, this is a pretty well written horror story that should keep even the most jaded of readers turning its pages. It is also the book that introduced the character of Repairman Jack, a popular character who would go on to have a series of books revolve around him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A CURSE FROM THE PAST INVADES THE PRESENT..., 11 Sep 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Tomb (Paperback)
The horror genre is enriched by this book, which is inventive and original. Though the book is plot, rather than character, driven, it does not suffer for its lack of character development. The reader is kept too busy thinking about the plot to worry unduly about character development. Such is the power of this unusual and compelling horror story.
The plot is relatively simple. The horror reached across the world from India to the United States. A heinous defilement and murders in a temple in mid nineteenth century India by British soldiers unleashes a curse which is to follow the descendants of the leader of the attack. Coupled with that curse is an entourage of creatures of unimaginable horror that have once again risen to do the bidding of one who would right past wrongs. But with great power comes great responsibility.
Enter Repairman Jack, a man who works to put to right what once went wrong. A man who earns his living by his wits and by his ability to defend himself to the death, if necessary. If one has a problem, he will fix it. When he agrees to help a one armed Indian gentleman, Kusum Bahkti, retrieve a necklace that is a priceless family heirloom. How priceless, he will soon find out.
Repairman Jack is thrust into the middle of a series of almost inexplicable events....mysterious disappearances, rank odors, unusual substances of Indian origin, and a necklace that holds the key to an ancient horror. He then encounters what would be the most formidable foes he would ever encounter. He must find a way to vanquish these hellish creatures or risk losing those whom he loves.
Highly original and inventive, this is a pretty well written horror story that should keep even the most jaded of readers turning its pages. It is also the book that introduced the character of Repairman Jack, a popular character who would go on to have a series of books revolve around him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi, Jack!, 22 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found Repairman Jack thanks to, of all things, former professional wrestler Lance Storm, who regularly endorses the books. I thought I'd give it a shot, to see how they are.
I was very pleasantly surprised by the first book. More surprised to see it was originally conceived as a one-off, and that it was written some considerable time ago. The book has a very recent feel.
Jack is one of those classic characters - heartless, cold, and brutal at times, with a heart of gold, which never descends into cliche or parody. He is, surprisingly, identifiable.
Wilson has a deft touch with building characters, developing relationships, describing action scenes, and mixing adventure with a touch of the fantastic.
I can't recommend this highly enough, and I'm looking forward to reading subsequent volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evil in the night, 4 Dec 2011
By 
S. Horrigan "Shaun" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Jack is a repairman, only he doesn't repair domestic appliances. Jack repairs the balance when the police, the courts, the lawyers and the rest of bureaucracy fails. Jack is a dangerous man to know, but definitely one you want in your corner when things get tough.

When asked to investigate two seemingly unconnected events, the theft of a necklace from the grandmother of an Indian diplomat and the disappearance of an elderly relative of his ex-girlfriend, Jack soon discovers that the two events may not be as unconnected as they first appear and that something really evil is hunting in the night.

This story is a brilliant horror/thriller that just grabs hold of you and never lets up. The plotting is very tight and pace is wonderful! Starting out relatively slowly, but gathering speed with every chapter until you get near the end when the tension builds so much that you find yourself reading faster and faster to turn the next page and to find the next twist in the story.

Written almost 30 years ago this book has aged exceptionally well with the settings and background to the story having an almost timeless quality. Jack himself is a great creation; totally focused, totally flawed, sometimes brutal in his methods, but always true to his principles. I also really liked the character of Abe, the owner of the semi-legal "sporting goods" shop who supplies Jack with the tools of his trade.

Overall: 5 stars - Although this book is slightly outside my usual reading genre I found it very hard to put down and devoured it in a couple of days. I also really liked the little reference to The Weapon Shops of Isher - one of my favourite pulp science fiction stories. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not fantastic., 12 July 2014
By 
Faz (Die Schweiz) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Repairman Jack has enjoyable libertarian undercurrents running through it. However Wilson's view of what you might describe as Good vs Evil might not be everyone's cup of tea. From my perspective, the author could perhaps rely less on the mainstream media and read a bit more widely on topics of the east, to inform his 'world stage'.
I don't think I'll be paying for any more Repairman Jack stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a quick read but not a spine chiller by any stretch, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read The Keep The Keep (The Adversary Cycle) by the same author, I had high hopes. Where I found The Keep, menacing and tense, I found the Tomb gave me too much too soon to leave much room for anticipation, or dread of an impending showdown. There are monsters and there is a plot with blood, action and gore and there is a showdown (although no actual tomb). Repairman Jack is an improbable but well drawn character. So what is my problem? It just wasn't that creepy. The Keep had something of the gothic about it. Repairman Jack felt pedestrian and it's almost hard to believe it's the same author. It's Ok, that's all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Page turner!, 16 Jan 2014
The best bit for me is the Repairman Jack character himself, an urban mercenary with overtones of Dick Tracy, the Scarlet Pimpernel and Sherlock Holmes, though with somewhat libertarian views. A book about his daily life would be interesting in itself. A fast-paced horror/thriller. The plot seems slightly odd as it involves supernatural creatures coming to New York from India due to the misdeeds of a Victorian Englishman, which is a bit contrived, but it works well. If you read this one, you will want to read the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Execellent! - Deserving of more exposure..., 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd loved the movie version of 'The Keep' (early Michael Mann movie with a bit of a cult following..) for decades and was gratified when I found the original story by F. Paul Wilson on Kindle. I think the movie does the book justice, but for me the book story wins by a couple of lengths. I was further delighted to find a relatively untapped library of Mr Wilson's work that follow 'The Keep' in blending folklore with fantasy, sci-fi, contemporary noir and horror - a bit like Raymond Chandler meets Graham Masterton, if you can imagine... The Tomb combines all this and introduces 'Repairman Jack' - all right-thinking blokes would want to be Jack if they could - in a well-developed and satisfying yarn. I'll be working my way through Mr Wilson's back catalogue for months to come.. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned fun, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I devoured novels like this back in the 80s but somehow never read this one. It's a slightly silly, not really that scary, but enormously entertaining horror yarn with a likeable 2 fisted hero, a decent supporting cast and some really fun monsters. I suspect this version has been revised to bring some of the cultural references up to date but there's no getting away from that great B-movie feeling that so many 80s horror novels had.
Definitely looking forward to more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tomb (Repairman Jack Novels)
The Tomb (Repairman Jack Novels) by F. Paul Wilson (Paperback - 15 Mar 2011)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews