Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Halo novel ever. Of all time.
I've been a Halo fan for over 11 years now, I've seen the series expand from being an isolated tale about being stranded on a mysterious ringworld to something with a tremendous amount of depth. Greg Bear is a phenomenal writer and he delivers once again an absolute belter of a story in Halo: Silentium.

Prior to this, Cryptum was my favourite novel in the...
Published on 19 Mar. 2013 by Didact

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh.
Thankfully the last in the series! This brings the trilogy to an end quiet tidily, a lot more interesting than book 2 but does not excite. Fills in quite a few blanks in the storey and Halo series, but one of those books that despite feeling you have to read, you're glad its over. Not bad, but not good either.
Published 15 months ago by Matt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book great ending, 12 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So here we are the end of the trilogy. When I started reading the trilogy I had to go to and read up halo history on the web but once I understood this it was great . Good series on halo universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a fan of the Halo series of games or just the Halo universe (I'm the latter) then the three books in this trilogy are required reading. Each is written in a different style but each is well written with a compelling plot. The ending is genuinely moving even though you know it's coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic end to the trilogy!, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book pulls together different parts of the halo universe an ties up a lot of loose ends. Fantastic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than primordium but not as good as cryptum, 30 Aug. 2013
Silentium, in my opinion is definatlety better than primordium (book 2) but not as good as book 1/cryptum as the forerunner saga was, for me, all about how the human and forerunner charachters interact which was missing from primordium with mostly humans, but silentium is the same again but this time only about forerunners. Book one (crytum) also followed an adventure but book 3, while insightful for halo fans, is more just a documentation with a few short stories thrown in which are good and link together but more as history and a build up to the last few chapters rather than the bulk of the story as in most novels. This means that the book ends very abruptly and new charachters are always being introduced while stories are always being told thousands of years away from eachother and so misses the companionship and reactions which were provided in book 1 which made it one of my faviroute halo and sci-fi books.

If you have read books 1 & 2 and want to know more about the series then this book is definatley worth your attention. And until then.....silentium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the best trilogy I have read in a long time, gripping, and difficulty in putting the books down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The third one., 30 Jun. 2013
By 
D. C. Norman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good finish to this trilogy. Ties up a few lose ends and as a whole give a little meaning to the "Halo" universe and where it all started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patching up the story line, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good filling in spots for the game :) Been waiting to find out a little more of the story into how the didact comes into Halo 4 game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic conclusion, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This brings the events of the series full circle. Cryptum and Primordium were truly only the back-story for this thrilling conclusion. It brings things round with a full explanation of the events surrounding the Didact's imprisonment on Requiem and the Librarian's presence on that same planet as well as alluding to the grim fate that awaits the future of Halo. My only criticism is that the ending is (intentionally I'm sure) vague as to the fates of several characters. Warning - must not be read unless you have already read the previous two novels or it will make little sense. Greg Bear really did save the best until last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Conclusion, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Forerunner Trilogy started strong with Cryptum, lost some steam in Primordium and with this - Silentium - It's right back on track.

Silentium brings the story to a wonderful end which accompanies the Halo series well and makes Halo 4 just that much more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best sci-fi...scratch that...one of the best books I've ever read. Great pacing, great character development, and if you're a bit of a Halo geek it contains a lot of crucial, fascinating background story. A must read for all the fans of this franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo: Silentium (Forerunner Saga)
Halo: Silentium (Forerunner Saga) by Greg Bear (Hardcover - 19 Mar. 2013)
£19.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews