Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars55
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2013
I've been a Halo fan for over 11 years now, I've seen the series expand from being an isolated tale about being stranded on a mysterious ringworld to something with a tremendous amount of depth. Greg Bear is a phenomenal writer and he delivers once again an absolute belter of a story in Halo: Silentium.

Prior to this, Cryptum was my favourite novel in the series because of how well written and detailed the Halo universe was 100,000 years ago. Over the past 3 years, the Forerunner Saga has gradually introduced these characters I came to love and care about, and Silentium closes many of those arcs in a fashion which left me emotionally devastated (in a good way).

Let it be said that this novel is a mix of two things - a cosmic horror story interweaved with a mythical tragedy. Greg finally delves into the role and history of the Precursors, and I have to say that they are among the most utterly terrifying beings in my repertoire of fiction. This is full-on Lovecraftian-esque sci-fi horror, not something that has been watered down for the masses. My jaw was on the floor for a good portion of the book where certain revalations come to light which takes what you THOUGHT you knew and twists it in ways you'll never see coming.

It makes me very sad to see the end of Greg's involvement with the Halo series, I think he's the best thing to happen to it in many years. I'll close by saying that Silentium closes the doors on a number of questions we've had since the first game in emotionally satisfying ways, but sets the stage for double our previous questions and makes the future of humanity in the Reclaimer Trilogy look to be very bleak indeed.

If you're a Halo fan, you're interested in the story and want to see just how much depth Halo 4's story has - buy this book.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
A brilliant example of something that's rare today. A contemporary but classical space opera that is beautifully crafted in its writing but also weaves in marvelous science. Believable characters, supper plot and a real feel for where science can go and its effects on people make this a great antidote to another witch, vampire, PC saga. Here the author shows science fiction at its best. Somehow apart from Asher and a few others so few seem able to master the genre today
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Ties up some of the loose ends and plot holes that were "created" as a result of the Halo 4 story without being too Deus Ex Machina. Also fully explains the Precursor/Flood connection.

Also does an excellent job of showing how desperate the Forerunners were, showing why the flood were their undoing and why they realised lighting the Array was their last option. During Primordium, I lost all sympathy for them, but by the end of this book, I was secretly hoping there would be another way (although that was obviously impossible).

Some stuff was expected, but there were still some shocking plot twists towards the end.

Worth hitting up youtube and looking for "Halo 4 Silentium Rebirth Narrative" for an additional 40 minutes worth of narrative by Greg Bear which goes in to a little detail about the Lifeworkers reseeding Erde Tyrene (and it ties up Risers story).
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I'll keep this a short review.

The first book was decent. The second book was pretty dull for the most part. This book was awesome, almost all the way through, and genuinely made the series worth reading. Hooray. You basically finally get what you wanted from the beginning - perspectives from some of the most important Forerunners of the time, loads of info on the Forerunners, Flood, Precursors, ancient Humans and more which I can't really say without spoiling it. I just wish it had been this good from the start.

All in all, a great conclusion to a good series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
The Forerunner trilogy has been longly anticipated by the Halo community, and this entry (Silentium) finally brings it to a close. Telling the story of the Forerunners' final days with their battle against the Flood, it covers, in a lot more detail, the events alluded to in the games and also slots nicely into the backstory of Halo 4 and it's Spartan Ops mode counter part; Halo Infinity. If I lost you there then it is fair to say that this book probably isn't for you, and here lies this novels only weakness. It simply won't appeal to anyone but the most hardcore Halo fans, even if you love Sci-Fi in general.

However, this isn't exactly a bad thing, especially when you consider what a power house of a franchise Halo is. 343 and Greg Bear have obviously worked very closely together to not only provide an absolutely amazing read, but also provide a novel which ties up so many lose ends in the Halo cannon, many threads of which have been lingering since Halo: CE's release in 2001. This must have been an absolutely monumental task and Greg Bear pulls it off with such ease and finesse that I was actually quite taken back when all the pieces started to fall into place. With this novel, the Halo series is ready to move onto the next major plot point without any massive plot holes for the first time in nearly 12 years. That is an achievement in itself, and speaks volumes about the passion Greg Bear and 343 obviously have for this series. Of course, there are still a few minor questions that remain, but we must not forget that there are 2 more games planned (which tie directly into the relationship between the Forerunner Trilogy and Halo 4) and another novel (covering the events between Halo 3 and 4) to iron out any minor issues.

In conclusion, this is a book that only Halo fans will get anything out of, but my god are you in for a treat if you are a fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
I would highly recommend this book to anyone asking. The first in the trilogy did a great job at hooking the reader and setting the stage, whilst book 2 lacked a little in terms of pacing, but this title is something else entirely. Anyone knowledgeable of the Halo fiction will know that the forerunner "tragedy" is one of the most interesting parts of the lore, but even without having learnt this from the games, one can easily appreciate the raw emotional intensity and sheer scale of the events that take place in this book.

I literally read it from cover to cover in the space of two days and felt emotionally drained by the end (in a good way of course.) There are plenty of ingenious direct references to the games, but irrespective of that, the tale and characters told here are some of the best I have ever seen in science fiction. The forerunner saga is essentially what the Star Wars prequel trilogy should have been to the original films, done to sheer perfection and with such grace as to compliment the games but to maintain a solid, sweeping tale that is completely inclusive.

There are a few mysteries left yet to be explored as a result of these books, but that is definitely a positive if it means there could be more entries as impressive as this in the future. A solid read and one of the best sci-fi tales out there, I would recommend it to anyone with an open imagination and a penchant for tragic yet hopeful tales.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
This book is brilliant, to fully comprehend it I recommend reading the other books first.
My favourite book alongside the ghost of Oynx and the Fall of Reach in the halo series.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
If you're a huge lore nerd like myself you will love this book, it answered all the question I had left about the halo universe and more a must read for fans of the series.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Silentium, in my opinion is definatlety better than primordium (book 2) but not as good as book 1/cryptum as the forerunner saga was, for me, all about how the human and forerunner charachters interact which was missing from primordium with mostly humans, but silentium is the same again but this time only about forerunners. Book one (crytum) also followed an adventure but book 3, while insightful for halo fans, is more just a documentation with a few short stories thrown in which are good and link together but more as history and a build up to the last few chapters rather than the bulk of the story as in most novels. This means that the book ends very abruptly and new charachters are always being introduced while stories are always being told thousands of years away from eachother and so misses the companionship and reactions which were provided in book 1 which made it one of my faviroute halo and sci-fi books.

If you have read books 1 & 2 and want to know more about the series then this book is definatley worth your attention. And until then.....silentium.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Fantastic books and links in to halo 4 very nicely, one of my favourite halo books. A must read for halo fans.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.