Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scared,you will be.
This book and the titles in the series

Adversary Cycle
1. The Keep
2. The Tomb
3. The Touch
4. Reborn
5. Reprisal
6. Nightworld

are the only books every to scare me.

Though Nightworld will give you knightmares.
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by P. E. Turner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE TIME OF THE EVIL ONE IS NIGH...
Jim Stevens is a struggling writer, who is married to his high school sweetheart, Carol, a social worker. Jim is an orphan, having been adopted by Jonah and Emma Stevens when he was little more than an infant. As luck would have it, Carol is an orphan, too, having lost her parents in a head on collision with a semi on the Long Island Expressway, when she was in high...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by Lawyeraau


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scared,you will be., 16 Jun 2010
By 
P. E. Turner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reborn (Paperback)
This book and the titles in the series

Adversary Cycle
1. The Keep
2. The Tomb
3. The Touch
4. Reborn
5. Reprisal
6. Nightworld

are the only books every to scare me.

Though Nightworld will give you knightmares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reborn by F. Paul Wilson, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started 're reading the six books again and I went onto Wikipedia to find out the reading order and noticed that it was different from the laid out order printed on the books.
I would recommend sticking with the order laid out on the front covers as the Wikipedia order doesn't make any sense as I started reprisal before reborn and realised I was missing a lot of the story so far it is The Keep then Reborn and then Reprisal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE TIME OF THE EVIL ONE IS NIGH..., 23 Aug 2010
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Reborn (Hardcover)
Jim Stevens is a struggling writer, who is married to his high school sweetheart, Carol, a social worker. Jim is an orphan, having been adopted by Jonah and Emma Stevens when he was little more than an infant. As luck would have it, Carol is an orphan, too, having lost her parents in a head on collision with a semi on the Long Island Expressway, when she was in high school.

After a fruitless search for his biological parents, Jim gets some unexpected correspondence from a law firm, advising him that he is a named beneficiary in the will of a wealthy Nobel Prize winning geneticist. Jim is flabbergasted, when he discovers that his legacy to him is in the neighborhood of eight million dollars. Now that is definitely news, but when he discovers that he is nothing more than a clone of his benefactor, his world begins to come apart.

What happens to Jim and Carol as a result of this revelation is not what either of them ever envisioned. Apocalyptic signs are everywhere. Something evil is underfoot and struggling to make itself manifest. The Chosen are being called upon to do battle, as the time of the evil One is nigh.

While I am a fan of this author, this is not one of his best works. It is simply pretty standard fare with some interesting moments. Fans of the author will get a modicum of enjoyment from this book, as will fans of the supernatural thriller genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Reborn, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Mw "jenwin" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a patch on the keep,the story has a snail pace,but enough to keep pages turning.hopefully improve as the series progresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reborn, 1 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Nyree D. Sullivan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good one !
Keeping the reader intrigued all the way through and adding science to it made it even more enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifyingly good, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not very often you forget the characters aren't real, but F.P Wilson does it very well, and the story line is always inventive and clever. Would recommend this as a good scare anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Reborn - break the Cycle, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Alison Cross (Moggerhanger, Beds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I quite enjoyed the first book of the 'Cycle' - having seen the most awful film adaptation of 'The Keep' I bought it on the Kindle out of curiosity to see if the book was really that bad and was pleasantly surprised. The World War II setting gave the book impetus and relevance (with the Jewish characters interacting with the SS). It delved into political and religious discourse and speculation which kept up an intelligent dialogue whilst moving the supernatural twists and turns along, It also really engaged you with the main characters.
I can see that ending this on a 'high' would logically mean that the next book should be a 'low' but I felt particularly aggrieved that the characters from the first book (older as the book is set a few decades later) were very underutilised, the previous male character only seeming to be an 'observer' of the events and given a mere token glimpse of the previous female character.
This book did not seem to engage you as well with the new female lead, her 'doom' was so obvious and inevitable and the new male lead seemed to be woollily set up right at the end (and a bit wishy washy) that I lost interest.
I don't think that I will read any more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Horror Reborn, 24 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Reborn (Paperback)
FPW himself is obviously aware of the unavoidable Rosemary's Baby comparisons but still manages a stunning change of character emphasis early in the book, something at which he excels. The short historical/dream sequences at the start of some chapters are some of the most disturbing things I have ever read, in particular the graphic visualisation of impaling and the plague. These moments are astonishingly effective at indicating the evil that is being unleashed. Unfortunately much of the rest of the book is fairly standard horror fare. However, be warned, this series of books has much worse horrors to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reborn, or Attack of the Hairy Clones, 25 Nov 2010
This review is from: Reborn (Paperback)
The Adversary Cylce gets into full swing in this fourth entry, with a recognisable old evil becoming reborn...
Events are really beginning to take shape now, and links to other novels of the Cylce & to the Repairman Jack novels are becoming ever more present. The secret history is unravelling slowly...
No rakoshi present in this, but you will know what is being reborn if you started off by reading The Keep, where the cycle started. I won't go into great detail about the plot, if you have been reading FPW then you should already be aware of the secret history of the world, and of the otherness.
As a stand alone novel, this would still actually make a cracking good read. Definite comparisons are The Omen, and Rosemary's Baby. This is such a compelling book, with some truly great insight into religion, people's beliefs in God and Satan, and the controversial topic of abortion. The adversary is never actually named in the novel, but someone who once encountered it (again not properly named...) knows that what is being reborn is far worse than Satan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reborn
Reborn by F. Paul Wilson (Paperback - 27 Oct 2009)
8.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews