Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Brandon Sanderson
The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson is, I believe, this authors first novel in the young adult market.

As a big fan of Brandon Sanderson's adult books I was hesitant in reading this as I was worried that the author may lose some of his story telling ability and complexity of his magic systems when writing for a younger audience... I really needn't have...
Published 18 months ago by GOTTON

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK...
Love Brandon Sanderson's work. This is, admittedly, aimed at younger readers. However, if you're desperate for something to read, then this is a reasonable time-filler. However, don't expect something along the lines of his more usual offerings, because it's not THAT great... Wish he'd concentrate on finishing his really good stuff, instead of paying the rent with...
Published 11 months ago by Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing!, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. A. R. Preston "A Preston" (England, Chester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
I read the whole book in one day...and if its not made into a film ill eat my penguin!! :-p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss!, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
Another brilliant idea that lights up the pages! It can be read as a one off but hopefully we will get more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not big or clever but smart enough, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
This would sit in the YA genre if you had to put it alongside Sanderson's other work. It is an enjoyable romp that moves along in Sanderson's very readable and quick tempo style. It does not have the depth or intrigue of his other works but if you enjoy his writing you will get another story with a very unique magic system and likeable enough characters. What I would call a "throwaway classic" in that I would recommend it to anyone after a fun book which is short and sweet. It is set up for a sequel which I would definitely read although it would not be high on my Sanderson's sequel list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bright and breezy, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
This is more in the way of a murder mystery than pure fantasy, and while I don't think that is Sanderson's natural genre he pulls it off pretty well. All the fantasy elements are rock solid, as you would expect.

Overall this is an assured, well paced, light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shockingly good what Harry Potter should have been, 27 Sept. 2013
By 
life student (east midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
i thought this was fantastic, Sanderson has gone out of his way to think of somethng novel and new. it's severla months since i read this and the stiry is still scratched into my mind. this would be equally good as a book for young adults as well as adults and seems much more thought through than Alcatraz ( same author).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This was a very interesting, if flawed, book, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
The Rithmatist proves yet again the quality of Brandon Sanderson as an author. He has an amazing ability to spin fantastic stories that compel you to keep reading. As an author who writes for both young adults and adult fiction Brandon has to walk a fine line in tone in his books and he does this well in the Rithmatist. Making it work for a younger audience but still enjoyable for an adult.

Its only drawback is that the magic system, whilst incredibly inventive, as all Sanderson's are, didn't quite work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
Feels like a childrens novel, probably is. All the best Fantasy is suitable for children anyway. It's another richly imagined world with interesting characters and a plot that keeps you gripped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book for all ages, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Mari S. Dow "Witchie D" (Brechin, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
Undoubtedly this was written for teenagers more than adults,but Brandon Sanderson's writing grabs you right at the beginning and keeps you enthralled no matter how old you are. Excellent book can't wait for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its all lines I tell you!!, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
Yet another different and exciting concept. A youth who discovers his fathers past as he learns about drawing lines which come to life, all be it not for him. He teams up with a young girl who can make the lines come to life but is a poor drafter. together they save the day, so far. This is well worth a read for the free reader at primary school (Year 6) and the reluctant adult, like my friend Mos. Give it a go , once started i'd be surprised if you put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rithmatist (Kindle Edition)
story line characters concept begining and ending absolutely loved it. praying there will be another one to follow did not want it to end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rithmatist
The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson (Hardcover - 14 May 2013)
Used & New from: £3.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews