Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2009
This is a lovely warm book very much on the lines of James Herriott. A knowledge of the Northern Irish venacular would come in handy though.A stellar cast of eccentric and likeable characters also it is very nice to get a feel of N. I. pre the modern troubles.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
Dr Barry Laverty starts his new job as assistant at small country GP.
His partner Dr O' Reilly knows who the really sick people are and the malingerers and soon teaches Barry how to deal with them.That plain wooden chair in the surgery is especially made to keep the patients moving along.
They have a clinic in morning and do home visits in afternoon. Their ill patients mostly get sent to the "Royal" in Belfast. Barry delivers a baby, diagnoses a thyroid problem,deals with a scared young pregnant girl and is on call when his partner takes time off. Their housekeeper Mrs Kincaid "Kinky" cooks the Ulster mixed grill,answers phones,dishes out advice when needed and washes doctors pants that always seem to get dirty (thanks to Arthur Guinness the dog)
Barry has little time for a social life but manages to meet the beautiful Patricia
who doesn't want a serious relationship until her career is established.
He likes to go fishing and meets with his pal Jack from medical school when they get time off together.
Life is never dull in Ballybuckleboo and the doctors never NEVER let the customers get the upper hand "cause if you do they will run you ragged"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
This is the first of a series and you will find it will keep you smiling all the way through. It certainly has the Irish spirit and blarney.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
I found this book on a hotel bookshelf in a remote part of Bali and I was reluctant to move off our villa's comfortable lounger until I finished it.

If you want a book that will put giant smiles into your day, I'd highly recommend this delightful collection of laugh-out-loud anecdotes about a respected but unorthodox Irish country doctor and his new assistant. A glossary is provided for those of us unfamiliar with the wonderfully rich and colourful expressions in the Ulster dialect.

As soon as I finished this book, I ordered several more books in the Irish Country Doctor series for my Kindle. They are proving just as addictive as this one.

In each book's afterword, Mrs Kincaid, the magnificent cook who cares for the doctors, provides mouth-watering recipes. However I'll have to tear myself away from the books for long enough to cook her moist Roast Rack of Lamb with Herb Stuffing and Caper Sauce, a loaf of fruity Barmbrack bread, or the elegant-sounding Orange and Chocolate Soufflé.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
I found this title good bedtime reading, althought the end was probably to good to be true, just like a childrens story " where they all lived happily ever after".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2008
simply one of the best books i have read in ages! full of witty banter that steers you through life in a country village.full of twists and turns that keep you hanging on and wondering what dr fingal O'reilly will do next.just when you think you have him sussed he pulls something else out of his sleeve.if you enjoy the craic then you will enjoy this book just as much as i did.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
I really enjoyed this book, it was a wonderful read. It made me laugh with their antics. I like a happy ending, look forward to another Patrick Taylor book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
I enjoyed this - like an Irish version of Dr Finlay really - if you liked that then you will like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
love all his books, familiar names and locations !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
Love the book and condition was really good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse