Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars8
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2008
This is the first book in Asimov's Empire series written in 1950. Earth has been ravaged by nuclear war and is an outcast among the other 200 million planets of the Empire. (The same universe as in Asimov's classic Foundation trilogy.) Since earth is very poor, the old are 'removed' at 60 so as not to burden the working population. I found this story very enjoyable. Even though it was written 57 years ago Asimov's ability to write a good story makes this book well worth reading today.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
A great introduction to science fiction, by the master. Although it now slots in to the overall "universe" created by Asimov, this was originally a stand alone novel - so it stands on its own! Good story, some action, and even a little romance. A great read. Could easily be made into a movie, wonder why it never has?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
I can't really fault this - or indeed any of Asimov's work. I love it all and this is no exception. A worthy addition to the science fiction section of your library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
An intriguing start to this first Asimov novel, marred by a great deal of pedestrian inaction, and spoilt by a final moment of suspense-of-disbelief that annoyed rather than built a satisfying conclusion of tension. Asimov is an excellent storyteller and particularly in building story through dialogue. But in this, the dialogue was less of a well-crafted structural device for propelling the story than it was a barrier to building any tension, and by the time the final turning point arrived it was akin to someone letting the air out of a particularly saggy balloon at the stage in the party where only the few die-hards are left lolling about amongst the litter strewn about as apparent evidence of a good time, as always hoped for, but really the picture telling of a sad fizzle of events soonest departed from. Shame - but... we all have to start somewhere, somehow. I still - and always will - love Asimov, the father of great science fiction.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Excellent...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Beautiful book I would recommend this is everyone!!! Although not read it myself, my father was happy with it,so that in turn has made me a happy little soldier, vunderbar!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Was a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Nothing to do with the continuing story from early robot books to the Foundation series. Clearly written as a pot boiler and I would be surprised if it rated anything at the time of publication. Likely only saw the light of day because it carried the Isaac Asimov name at the time.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.