Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected
I've only read 2 Mattheson books before Hell House (not great) and I am Legend (a masterpiece) but I'm also aware that Mattheson has written many short works for TV (Twilight Zone) so I was unsure of how good this would be. I have to say that he really is somewhat of dark little imp, the stories inside are wry looks at human nature and very well written. The original...
Published on 29 July 2011 by strangelad

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars No surprises in this box
No spoilers but lets start with the opening story (Button Button). All that hype on the front of the book about this "masterpiece". I honestly would expect something as good as this if not better from something produced from a creative writing class. I knew where it was heading from early on and the twist is a bit of a cheat too. I must admit I am only midway...
Published 9 months ago by angelfish


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've only read 2 Mattheson books before Hell House (not great) and I am Legend (a masterpiece) but I'm also aware that Mattheson has written many short works for TV (Twilight Zone) so I was unsure of how good this would be. I have to say that he really is somewhat of dark little imp, the stories inside are wry looks at human nature and very well written. The original version of Button Button actually has a far better ending than the Twilight Zone version. Anyway, great collection of short stories, highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Button, Button: Uncanny Stories (Paperback)
Bought this having watched the film 'The Box' and being a fan of horror and supernatural tales. I found it to be full of great thought provoking stories of moral dilemma and strange happenings. It is an easy read, clearly written and being short stories it was great to pick up and put down as time allowed. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 13 Mar 2011
What a good book. Not only for excellent value but for the read. Very spooky tales that make you think! An excellent buy. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Button, Button: Uncanny Stories (Paperback)
Love this writer and his short stories, always have always will and there you go should not hve to say loads more so will say nothing nothing nothing nothing nothing nothing nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A master writer, 12 Mar 2014
By 
M. Hevingham "Mark Hevingham" (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The late Richard Matheson was one of my favourite authors and so this review may be biased, however, he was a master of the short story and novel and this book is a fine showcase of his work. The recently filmed The Box is the lead story.

If you enjoy good stories well told you will enjoy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No surprises in this box, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No spoilers but lets start with the opening story (Button Button). All that hype on the front of the book about this "masterpiece". I honestly would expect something as good as this if not better from something produced from a creative writing class. I knew where it was heading from early on and the twist is a bit of a cheat too. I must admit I am only midway through the book but each tale has been nothing better than mediocre. Its a tiny book too, with the print reduced on the page to try to fatten the book up a bit. I am half way through after two hours reading, so expect to finish it tonight but I'm not expecting it to improve. The tales are old fashioned and though they may have been considered ground breaking in the fifties or sixties, they just don't cut it for the modern reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Tales, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Twisty, surprising, tingling tales from the modern short story master. He is great loss but his amazing works live on and are as fresh and relevant as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another exciting book!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another exciting collection of short stories by Richard Matheson. Many of the stories are highly enjoyable due to their unusual plots. This book is recommended to all horror and thriller fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master Matheson, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent short stories by Richard Matheson - as with Stephen King (who he greatly influenced), a very chilling look at the world turned upside down by events beyond your ken and control. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uncanny stories, 28 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Button, Button: Uncanny Stories (Paperback)
not much to say about it but if your in to this kind of stuff , then this writer with out dout is the best there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Button, Button: Uncanny Stories
Button, Button: Uncanny Stories by Richard Matheson (Paperback - 1 April 2008)
£9.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews