Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex but delightful tapestry of a novel
Like the hair carpets that form the central theme to Eschbach's novel, the plot is a delicate and superb weave of many different and all well-written strands. (You really would not guess that this is a translation, the English flows so naturally.) There is no main character, though most characters feature in more than one chapter; rather, each character plays his or her...
Published on 8 Jun. 2006 by A. D. MacFarlane

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A misfit of a book!
I found this book a confusing fusion of an old civilisation with an odd crazy sci- fi ending. The mix just did not fit. Disappointing.
Published 11 months ago by M B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex but delightful tapestry of a novel, 8 Jun. 2006
By 
A. D. MacFarlane (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Paperback)
Like the hair carpets that form the central theme to Eschbach's novel, the plot is a delicate and superb weave of many different and all well-written strands. (You really would not guess that this is a translation, the English flows so naturally.) There is no main character, though most characters feature in more than one chapter; rather, each character plays his or her own role in illuminating Eschbach's vision of the future. Each individual chapter could be a short story. Taken together, they form a tapestry.

A word of caution: this srikes me as the kind of story that won't appeal to everyone. However, I personally loved every moment of it and I recommend it to any science fiction or fantasy fans as a taste of something a little bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring book, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Paperback)
If you have an imagination you are in for a treat. Eschbach tells his story well drawing together a number of seemingly unconnected stories into something (in Manchester parlance)truly 'gobsmacking'. As the threads come together it becomes hard to put this book down. I found myself feeling the thrill of being totally absorbed by a book like I haven't in ages. The book has a philosophical undertone leading you perhaps to reflect on your own life and beliefs. It really should be better known and more widely read beyond SF readership. For those wondering I don't usually read SF and found nothing off putting about this book being set in the future. Read it and pass on the recommendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Carpet Makers, 8 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Paperback)
'KNOT AFTER KNOT, DAY IN, day out, for an entire lifetime, always the same hand movements, always looping the same knots in the fine hair, so fine and so tiny that with time, the fingers trembled and the eyes became weak from strain-and still the progress was hardly noticeable.'

I first read this book a few years ago, just after my son Bruce was born. It was the book I read during his first two weeks of freedom from the womb and, in between the nappy-changing and feeding, I sat with my son in my arms and read The Carpet Makers.

'Since the time of prehistory, carpet makers have tied intricate knots to form carpets for the court of the Emperor. These carpets are made from the hairs of their makers' wives and daughters; they are so detailed and fragile that each carpet- maker finishes only one single carpet in his entire lifetime. This art has descended from father to son since the beginning of time itself. But, one day, the empire of the God Emperor vanishes... and strangers begin to arrive from the stars in search of the hair carpets. What these strangers discover is beyond all belief, more than anything they could have ever imagined... '

A string of open-ended and seemingly unconnected stories are - dare I use the pun - 'woven' together to create a universe so compelling, so shocking, that it is only now that I have decided to pick it up and read it again.

I can't recommend this book enough. The Carpet Makers is a story so rich in detail and depth that it practically is a door to another time and another universe. The stories are all connected but each one is also a snapshot of the life of a subject of the God Emperor, the man who has, as far as anyone is concerned, ruled the universe for all time. People familiar with vast universes of Paul Atreides or the Emperor of the Warhammer 40K Imperium will find the setting familiar, a vast galaxy-spanning Empire that's almost inconcievable in it's size and influence.

Andreas Eschbach creates characters with surprising depth in the few short pages that they have and that's a mark of quality writing; if the author can draw you in with nothing more than a few pages of story, detailing a character who won't be mentioned again for the rest of the book and still carry the overall story along with careful attention to the core idea... it makes me wonder what a full length uninterrupted novel must be like. After reading this, I can't wait to find out.

This is the reason why I waited for several years before reading it again; the sheer size of the concept and the reason for the existence of the carpet makers was staggering and it took me a long time to even begin to grasp the enormity what had happened in the pages of the book. This means that I can't even hint at the plot of the book without giving some small fact away that might ruin it for you. You'll just have to trust me and get a copy and find out for yourselves.

This is a huge book in every sense of the word, starting small but slowly building into an explosion of epic proportions; Andreas Eschbach takes you by the hand and slowly walks you through his world before dragging you into the finale. This is an excellent read from an excellent writer and I am definitely going to hunt down more of his work.

I urge every science fiction fan to buy a copy and lose themselves in the Empire of the God Emperor and his carpets made from human hair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's see more translations of Andreas' work, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Kindle Edition)
As I started to read this book, I wondered what it was all about and where it was going. Stick with it! It's well worth the effort.

Andreas takes us on a wonderful journey which ultimately asks us to question the very values society is built on. Also a word of congratulations for Doryl Jensen. It was very easy to forget you were reading a translation.

I look forward to more translations of Andreas' work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story that you won't stop thinking about, 13 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. C. R. Greaves (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Kindle Edition)
A clever and interesting story, with the potential to make a great movie. I do like this guy's work, I find him imaginative and different, and always look forward to finding his new books. Well worth five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book delivered as expected, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Paperback)
Awesome book delivered as expected. It took quite a while yet this was announced beforehand. This book seems to be the only translated one of A.Eschbach. Still hope there will be more translations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something to make you think, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this. It is an interesting piece of fiction and, while it clearly has to labelled "SF", it is really more about what motivates people and what it means to have a meaningful life and how they value their contributions to society. It mostly does not read like a translation and is easy to read. It builds a world beautifully chapter by chapter and the ending is a surprise. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original ideas, gripping storyline, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Kindle Edition)
There are some pretty solid recommendations for this book. I just bought it because I finished Lord of all Things and wanted more by this writer. My only reason for reading it was entertainment and a few hours escape. It gives that in spades. It's thought provoking too and reads like a moving work of art. I loved it and will recommend to any reader with a working imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 April 2008
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Orson Scott Card Present's) (Hardcover)
This has to be one of the greatest books ever written. An amazing tale of revenge taken on a universal scale. Of how hate can become the end of worlds.Of how power can be used for the most horribly tragic of crimes.
This is not a large book, it is not an epic or series, it is not a trilogy
nor does it have sequel. It is a devastatingly beautiful tale of great cruelty!It stands alone. It will not be forgotten.
SF is not all ships and robots, it's about possibilities. Alternate and parallel worlds, time and space, other dimensions,etc. But who could depict these things without the personal story? It is the characters that help these vistas come to life And in this book they are living and breathing. I can see them,hear them, feel them. This is a book rich in originality and beauty, pain and vision.And hair,lots of hair.
If you want to read something new and exciting, something not about zombies or "monsters", then read this book.
I hope someone with a "brain" make this a film, I am hoping, luc Besson/Mel Gibson - take note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly dark!, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpet Makers (Paperback)
I'd describe this as a cross between science fiction and fairy tale. It is beautifully written (and translated) and sets up all of the pieces for a curious mystery story, told through short story character vignettes. Contains some surprisingly dark moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Carpet Makers (Orson Scott Card Present's)
The Carpet Makers (Orson Scott Card Present's) by Andreas Eschbach (Hardcover - 27 May 2005)
Used & New from: £0.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews