Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic faery tale
A wonderful faery tale. About an artist who takes herself off to a secluded retreat for inspiration and finds strange and beautiful faery folk mysteriously appearing in her sketches. She finds out that the world of faery is in danger of extinction and is calling out to her for help in their survival. A fantastic read by this brilliant author.
Published on 1 July 2006 by kehs

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Not up to Mr Lints usual high standards.....short and easy to read on holiday maybe, but not one to settle down with and enter those worlds he is master of in other tales.
Published on 13 Oct 2010 by Mr. F. Reid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic faery tale, 1 July 2006
By 
kehs (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wild Wood (Paperback)
A wonderful faery tale. About an artist who takes herself off to a secluded retreat for inspiration and finds strange and beautiful faery folk mysteriously appearing in her sketches. She finds out that the world of faery is in danger of extinction and is calling out to her for help in their survival. A fantastic read by this brilliant author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 13 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. F. Reid "Frank Reid" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wood (Paperback)
Not up to Mr Lints usual high standards.....short and easy to read on holiday maybe, but not one to settle down with and enter those worlds he is master of in other tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been longer, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wood (Paperback)
Not bad at all. Quite an unusual and very interesting storyline. Unlike his other works in a number of respects and I wish he would pursue this line of storytelling rather than seeming to concentrate on his Newford novels. Failing that, this tale could have been improved by being longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An environmental tale with a twist.........., 8 May 2010
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wood (Paperback)
Eithinie is an artist, a somewhat reclusive and lonely women who lives in a log cabin near some woods.
When she suddenly starts seeing strange things in the woods and also in her paintings, she takes a holiday to try and make sense of what is happening to her and her life. Is the solitude and lack of a partner causing some kind of depression where she is imagining things?

On her return initially she sees no more odd people in the wood but they are there waiting, listening and pleading with her.

This is a superby written novel very different from the new genre of books about the Fey/Sidhe/Faerie Folk.
It is more earthy and in that respect maybe more believable.

Eventually Eithinie gives in to the Fey and the ending of the book is somewhat of a surprise. I also loved the way that the author has managed to draw the readers attention to how we are ruining our planet with pollution and maybe also killing off other worlds in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wild Wood, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. Kj Wishart (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wild Wood (Paperback)
This is a most excellent book; it had me gripped from the opening pages. If you are into conservation mixed with all things fae then this book is a fabulous choice. Full of mystery & magic 'The Wild Wood' will remain in my favourite books list for all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wild Wood
The Wild Wood by Charles de Lint (Paperback - Jun 2004)
£9.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews