Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2009
I was surprised when such a tiny book arrived - could it be worth the cost?
It certainly is. Sister Wendy applies her considerable knowledge of art in interpreting the painting of Duccio, drawing out deep meaning from a series of images reproduced in the book. How I would love to visit the originals for myself!
The text is thought provoking and an aid to prayer and meditation. I am sure that I will wear this little book to tatters over the coming years. I wonder if I should order another copy for just such an eventuality, but the binding is good and the paper quality excellent.
I hope and believe that other purchasers will find this book an aid to their spiritual life.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
A tiny book but beautifully illustrated with historic religious paintings. Again, Sister Wendy's beautiful descriptions of the pictures and her words of comfort to the soul are a delight.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
A book of rich insights where Sister Wendy links the sensitive observations of the artist to the central mysteries of the Christian faith. It is a book that will repay a thoughtful reading. Foranyone who looks for visual stimulus for their meditations this book has a great deal to offer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
'Sister Wendy's Meditations on the Mysteries of Our Faith' is a beautiful little book.

It is rich in concentration on the Story of Easter to enrich the mind by providing
the beauty of Duccio's paintings to meditate on.

Sister Wendy's commentary on the paintings and Jesus' Passion and Resurrection is
penetrating, thoughtful and enlightening.

I cannot think of a better book on art getting to the heart of Easter.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Beautiful illustrations, would Sister Wendy ever disappoint. Lyrical words to accompany every part of Jesus' 40 days in the wilderness.,Wisdom abounds. A little book to read and read again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
lots of reptetion from other books. it was to small/wished it had more and more informatiuon .one could have said it was a pocket book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
A wonderful little book - needs to be read slowly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
nice book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)