Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Dummies
Although this book is titled "PL/SQL for Dummies" it's everything but! Paul Dorsey is one of the top Oracle experts of our time, and his expertise shows through in every page. I've been working with Oracle for 20+ years and consider myself pretty expert. I've learned a lot from this book. You want to set Oracle coding standards? (one thing I did for my last firm) - this...
Published on 21 Sept. 2010 by Malcolm Turner

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Why use such low quality paper?
I bought this book to help me to learn Oracle PL/SQL for a new job but found it really hard to read as the content is really squashed up and its written on low quality brown paper. I only managed to get to chapter 6 before I decided to pay a bit extra for Learning Oracle PL/SQL by Steven Feuerstein and Bill Pribyl. Best decision I ever made as the book is so much clearer...
Published 23 months ago by G


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Dummies, 21 Sept. 2010
By 
Malcolm Turner (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oracle PL/SQL For Dummies (Paperback)
Although this book is titled "PL/SQL for Dummies" it's everything but! Paul Dorsey is one of the top Oracle experts of our time, and his expertise shows through in every page. I've been working with Oracle for 20+ years and consider myself pretty expert. I've learned a lot from this book. You want to set Oracle coding standards? (one thing I did for my last firm) - this book does it for you. But at the same time it is basic enough for a beginner to learn how to code Oracle. This book should be in EVERY Oracle developer's library - from beginner to expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 29 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Oracle PL/SQL For Dummies (Paperback)
as other reviewers comments, really does describe everything in great detail.
starts at beginning and builds throughout the chapters. good code snippets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Why use such low quality paper?, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oracle PL/SQL For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me to learn Oracle PL/SQL for a new job but found it really hard to read as the content is really squashed up and its written on low quality brown paper. I only managed to get to chapter 6 before I decided to pay a bit extra for Learning Oracle PL/SQL by Steven Feuerstein and Bill Pribyl. Best decision I ever made as the book is so much clearer and easier to digest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for beginners I think, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have used standard sql for quite a while now and needed to pick up Oracle PL/SQL quite quickly for a project. On the whole I steer clear of the Dummies range but this time I have made an exception. The info is pitched perhaps a bit low for me personally but as a quick 'n' dirty guide it is going to prove useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very prompt delivery of this product. This product was exactly what it was stated to be. Excellent. I highly recommend the service provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oracle PL/SQL For Dummies
Oracle PL/SQL For Dummies by Paul Dorsey (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2006)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews