Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference guide for D70 & D70s owners
The first 40% of the book is a more colourful, in-depth, helpful version of a Nikon manual. There are colour pictures and notes highlighting what the author is referring to. Owners of Nikon D70 and D70s can relate to this book well. The book is written more for the amateur or beginner photographer who has the D70. This is evident in the first couple of chapters.
The...
Published on 21 Mar 2006 by Mo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A glorified Manual
I bought this book, on spec from Amazon a couple of years ago, because I found the accompanying manual difficult to read. It was small writing, and often confusing, I had to read the paragraphs several times to really understand it.

This book, in some ways isn't much better. However, I find it easier to read, as it is slightly more chatty. The text size is...
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by A. Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference guide for D70 & D70s owners, 21 Mar 2006
By 
Mo "f1mo" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
The first 40% of the book is a more colourful, in-depth, helpful version of a Nikon manual. There are colour pictures and notes highlighting what the author is referring to. Owners of Nikon D70 and D70s can relate to this book well. The book is written more for the amateur or beginner photographer who has the D70. This is evident in the first couple of chapters.
The first chapter is a quick guide on the functions & features of the camera and what these do and when to use them.
The second chapter focuses more on settings of the camera. This is ideal for novices who want to explore the camera but don't know what each of the functions do. The writer provides tips on exposure, shutter, metering, focusing, flash, lens selection and flash selection.
The other 60% of the book focuses on taking pictures. This is where the book becomes another photography book but the best thing is Nikon D70 users can relate to it. There are lots of example pictures taken by the author which he goes onto explain how he took them and what equipment he used. All this information is laid out in a clear table with set-up, lens, lighting, exposure & camera settings. These examples are useful for inspiration. The author also does a great job using 'kit' lenses with his example, this I thought was very sensible as most people will have a kit lens to start off.
Overall the book is ideal for your camera bag as a reference and a quick guide to your Nikon and you will be able to relate to majority of the topics and examples covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Needed, 25 Nov 2005
By 
Richard R Thomas (Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I browsed the pages of digital books, reading reviews and not being able to make up my mind. Then I spotted this book and thought 'Why not'. As it turned out an excellent choise, the book covers many aspects of the manual, but then go's on to explain how to apply them, it gives tips on various aspects of photography and when and when not to use the various functions of the camera. If you are new to the Nikon D70 like I am this book is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A glorified Manual, 27 Aug 2008
By 
A. Jenkins (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book, on spec from Amazon a couple of years ago, because I found the accompanying manual difficult to read. It was small writing, and often confusing, I had to read the paragraphs several times to really understand it.

This book, in some ways isn't much better. However, I find it easier to read, as it is slightly more chatty. The text size is also more readable.

However, I tend to keep it in the camera bag, as a source of reference. As such it is useful to have on holidays etc. Then if yo need to refresh your memory the information is there. Also I ahve used it as a time waster when waiting for flights, or passing time at the pool etc.

So over all, nothing more than a glorified manual, but for the money worthwhile. His tips on photography, are also worthy to read if you are new to photography.

Adrian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 1 April 2011
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I personally found this book to be an invaluable resource.

It is always in my camera bag, and i do mean always, if im out in the field and need to figure out the best settings for a situation then i just quickly pop this out, and bobs your uncle perfect settings, for perfect pictures.

Yes its quite manualish but then if your new to the DSLR game and the nikon d70 is your 1st DSLR like mine was it was perfect for me.

Obviously if your looking for a more comprehensive guide then i suggest Nikon D70 (The Expanded Guide)

I have both and use this one more, but i think its down to individual preference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
A lot easier to read than the original book which came with the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for a great camera., 29 Dec 2013
By 
Bruce Boogie (Stroud UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This makes the camera a whole lot easier to use and get great photos.
It shows you what everything does and how and why to use it.
This is old gear now, but a good guide is always useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Good and practical guide easily followed. Suitable for novice and improvers. Basic overview is excellent and the tips for better photography are good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NIKON D70 NICE CAMERA TO USE, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Allan M. Mcintosh "allan .mac" (SCOTLAND U/K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
this camera is great to use has many fine features produces fine pictures in all aspects the onlt thing is it tends to be a little bulky but still easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good but not great, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Most of this guide is an uplift from the D70 camera manual. There are little pointers that can help but not many. Would consider a practicle guide to digital photography book rather than this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I found the Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide extremely helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide
Nikon D70 Digital Field Guide by David D. Busch (Paperback - 5 Aug 2005)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews