Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable source of information
I'm a pretty good cook but I had never dared to tackle making chocolates until recently.

It was one of two books I bought to help me into the world of the amateur chocolatier and thank goodness it was. With detailed information on not only the 'how' but also the 'why' of every step of making chocolates this book has given me the insight, inspiration and courage...
Published on 27 May 2008 by M. Grady

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably good but not for a beginner
There is a lot of detail in this book, too much to take in if your only a beginner. Very big book full of techniques and explainations. Too technical for me
Published 13 months ago by Anna Doherty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable source of information, 27 May 2008
By 
M. Grady "mrtgrady" (Fareham, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
I'm a pretty good cook but I had never dared to tackle making chocolates until recently.

It was one of two books I bought to help me into the world of the amateur chocolatier and thank goodness it was. With detailed information on not only the 'how' but also the 'why' of every step of making chocolates this book has given me the insight, inspiration and courage to produce my own handmade chocolates, including how to make the various centres I'd only ever tasted in shop bought sweets before.

This book includes easily followed recipes and sumptuous photography that you'd want your own confections to match. The science in making confectionery is also explained and this information is what has helped me, so far, avoid making any huge mistakes. A brief mention is made of the tools required to achieve the desired results, although one or two of them are actually quite pricey and more the purview of the professional confectioner or really ardent (not to mention cash rich) amateurs.

What makes me rate this book 5 stars is it's breadth of coverage - it not only details chocolate making but also jellies, hard candy and even starch moulding (I've figured out how to make jelly babies now!!) and this has meant I've been able to branch out into confections I hadn't even considered before.

A great place to start from, then, and an ever present reference now I'm becoming more experienced in confectionery. The price is totally justified - this is a must buy for every amateur confectioner or those seriously considering starting in this career path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know about confections., 29 Jun 2007
By 
Huw Jenkins (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
This book is an invaluable resource on all things confections. It starts with several chapters on the process of making chocolates. This covers in details how chocolate is made from bean to bar, followed swiftly by details of all the main methods of tempering chocolate. Then the fun really starts with lots of information on making ganache and the ratios required. But wait, the book doesn't just stop with chocolate, it then goes into great details of all confections, hard candies, jellies, everything a sweet makers heart could desire.

The majority of books that I've found on making chocolates have been American and, as such, the measurements have often been in cups requiring extra work to transform to metric. This book has all recipes in three forms, metric, imperial and a ratio column . The ratio column being in percentage so you can have a starting point to when you want to increase or decrease the batch size (as the book says however you will need to experiment when you change batch sizes but at least you get to try the results).

The book is written in a thoroughly engaging way and I recommend it to all would be chocolate makers or any confection maker. It's a most valuable resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The chocolatiers' bible, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
As a beginner chocolatier looking for a book to supplement my limited training, I researched the subject online before buying this book. It exceeded my expectations by several orders of magnitude, and is one of the best reference books (in any subject) I've ever come across. It is detailed, thorough and broad in scope, and is also beautifully written, with great clarity and precision.

I refer to it constantly, and whenever I've had a problem with my own chocolate making, Peter Greweling has had the answer. The book is well-designed and laid out. I find the trouble-shooting sections particularly helpful and I also appreciate the theoretical information provided. The writer has the rare capacity to explain quite complex scientific material in a clear and concise manner and has given me an understanding of the theory that helps me to improvise and develop my own recipes with minimal errors along the way.

The photographs are also excellent, both in content and style. There are enough of them to inspire but not so many as to make them feel like padding. The photo sequences taking the reader step by step through some of the lengthy procedures are clear and helpful, and the overall production standards of the book are consistently high.

In short, essential reading for anyone serious about making chocolates and other confectionery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best book in it's field!, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
This was a present for my wife. she is an amateur cake maker, but has recently moved into confectionery. She had previously bought books on chocolate and fudge making which in themselves were good as recipe books, but she wanted to know a bit of the science behind confectionery. After a bit of research (and reading other reviews on Amazon) I decided to buy her this book - she hasn't put it down for weeks!
She says it is the most in depth confectionery book she has ever seen - it not only has great recipes, but it also explains EVERYTHING about the hows and whys of the science of cooking and making chocolates, jellies etc, right down to the molecular structures, temperature and humidity. 5 stars any day of the week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book on Chocolates, 10 Mar 2010
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
This is an outstanding book in the art of chocolate and confectionery making. The book features chapters on ingredients as well as equipment, different types and flavours of chocolate ganache, crystalline and non-crystalline sugar confections, and gelatine products. This book is also excellent in fundamental techniques in chocolate and confectionery making and contains over 150 formulas for classic confections. The book covers a comprehensive list of defects in the chocolate and sugar products to troubleshoot the making processes. Each recipe is given in metric and empirical units as well as percentages for given ingredients. The recipes can be used in small and large scale chocolate and confectionery making process. The author's descriptions of methods and formula are easy to understand. The quality of the photographs in the chapters are very good and the details given are easy to follow and very comprehensive. I recommend this book to anyone interested in this fine art and craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mind blowing !, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
This book is truely excellent, as a pastry chef im always alwaying wanting to learn new information about my craft. This book is great if you wish to learn all the theory about chocolate and the sceince you need to know about your craft, so why things go wrong and the reasoning behind the problem.

Apart from that the recipes and photos of the chocolate are stunning. A couple of great sections in the recipes are that they give you portion guide of how many they make so all you need to do is alter them easliy if you want to make less. The other great part of the book tell you the percentages of each ingriedent in the recipes. I have never seen this before , it is brilliant if you are going to make chocolates to sell as helps so much with ingreidents lists.

Over all a great book for learning, maybe a bit advanced if you just want to make simple chocolates and also is in Amercian so may find it a bit confusing if you don't know the translations of bittersweet chocolate etc, but personal think the book ROCKS !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars budding chocolatiers - you need this!, 23 May 2011
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book for professional and amateur chocolatiers alike and must for chocoholics. It is all about chocolate making not recipes using chocolate. Love the 'what went wrong and how to fix' sections. Very clear step by step instructions and some great recipes and photos. Only drawback for a UK user is that it is an American book so uses lots of corn syrup and a few other ingredients not so easy to come by in the UK. However although it does measure in cups (my usual problem with US recipes) it also gives imperial and metric as well. All in all a good book (you don't need any others) and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
This book delivers what it says!
I was flabbergasted when i sat down to read, so much to learn, so much to try, and so much help it gave!
This book will take you to new heights in your confectionary work, wheter you are a novice like me or a professional!
Huge amounts of recipes, lots of relevant information about how to do it, why to do it, what happends and what happends when you do..

The only thing is that all the recipes are for large batches of chocolate, like a minimum of 120-180 items. This makes it a little harder to just whip something up for the fun of it..

but again, if you want a good book about confections, this is the holy grail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book for chocolate confections, 13 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
Along with this book I bought several other chocolate books so I can't but compare.
This one is my 2nd favourite after "Cooking with Chocolate".
And in my opinion these books are the 2 best chocolate books so far.

Chocolate & Confections as the title says this book is a confection recipe book, really great variety of chocolate fillings, praline, fruit etc.
Keep in mind that recipes are for professionals and produce large quantities of confections so you might have to make half or even 1/4 of the original recipe if you are making them at home.

This book is not for amateurs some experience and skills are required and of course the equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The last confectionery book I'll ever need, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Joy McMillan "Joy M" (Isle Of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner (Hardcover)
An amazing book - this has so much more detail that I'll ever need. The three recipes I've tried so far have been fantastic, and the level of detail given means I'll be happy to try new techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner
Chocolates and Confections: Formula, Theory, and Technique for the Artisan Confectioner by The Culinary Institute of America (CIA) (Hardcover - 27 Mar 2007)
70.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews