Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern, clear, useful
Not a book for beginners, though it does cover Javascript basics enough for most programmers in other languages. Modern, thorough, well thought through and dealing with practical problems - not those of image rollovers and noddy stuff, but deeper things, such as dealing with cross browser differences in event handling, etc.. Goes into depth on the DOM and XML, coding...
Published on 1 Jun. 2005

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dated and not for real programmers. Handle examples with extreme caution.
I have enormous problems with this dated, confused and 'gappy' book, and advise would be readers to exercise _extreme_ caution with it, particularly with the examples, a great number of which are a long, long way from currently accepted best practice.

I don't believe that "Programmer to Programmer" describes this book well. The author's confusing and patchy...
Published on 16 July 2007 by C. S. Ward


Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern, clear, useful, 1 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides) (Paperback)
Not a book for beginners, though it does cover Javascript basics enough for most programmers in other languages. Modern, thorough, well thought through and dealing with practical problems - not those of image rollovers and noddy stuff, but deeper things, such as dealing with cross browser differences in event handling, etc.. Goes into depth on the DOM and XML, coding styles and the 'inheritance' model of Javascript. In short, the kinds of things professionals trying to build 'Googlesque' user interfaces will need. It's not a reference manual, and it's not really a 'cook book', it's something in between, and it is the best technical read I've come across for a while! I've learnt a lot - not least that Javascript is a lot more now than it was...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential information with a practical approach, 7 Sept. 2006
By 
K. W. Jensen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides) (Paperback)
Being a software developer with limited knowledge of JavaScript (I have mostly developed in Java), I was looking for a book on JavaScript, that could teach me the do's and don'ts of JavaScript.

This is the book!

Instead of being a complete reference guide (like most recent JavaScript books are), this book takes a broader approach to the subject, explaining _why_ JavaScript/ECMAscript works like it does, how to work with eg. Objects and interitance, and last but not least it explains how to make your JavaScript work consistently in most browsers, despite the obvious differences in implementation of JS.

I highly recommend this book, if you have some programming skills, possibly basic knowledge of JavaScript and want to explore the full potential of clientside JavaScript - in a "professional" context (no tips on text-scrolling and the like).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tip Top, 18 Nov. 2006
By 
Mr. G. J. Mooney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent book! This is still the best and most in depth Javascript book I have come across. A great companion if you want to take things just that little bit further is Sitepoints DHTML Utopia: Modern Web Design Using Javascript & DOM by Stuart Langridge.

Tip top don't pass this one over!!! WHY HAVEN'T YOU BOUGHT IT YET!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need a JavaScript book...this is it, 7 Aug. 2009
By 
Alex Gill (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides) (Paperback)
If your a web developer like myself that has worked with various languages and as such has had to work with JavaScript but not actually really grasped the language fully this is for you.

The problem with JavaScript from the beginning is that its different implementation into browsers and lack of standards has meant general understanding and coding practices have been extremely poor and as a result begginers and the like searching the internet for examples usually find something that is not alot of use to anyone.

I have also found there has been no definitive book out there until purchasing this book. As the title says, this is not for beginners, however it does cover basics and In my opinion if you have the basics or good programming skills in other similar languages, I think you can use this book.

This book covers everything you need to develop your JavaScript from the importance of cross-browser compatibility to mastering the DOM to manipulate the browser. Another great point about this book is the indepth reasons of how things work and what to do or not to do. I can highly recommend this as the best JavaScript book out there.

There is a newer version out there but I was sceptical of buying it incase it left out some stuff from the original like history and how things worked in the older browsers. I didnt want to get bogged down by the advances with new practices and browsers as you have to understand where its all come from and how developers were doing things back in day to how its done now. Dont get me wrong though, this provides all modern practices for JavaScript and its only a few years old.

Get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dated and not for real programmers. Handle examples with extreme caution., 16 July 2007
By 
C. S. Ward "Cecil Ward" (Skye, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides) (Paperback)
I have enormous problems with this dated, confused and 'gappy' book, and advise would be readers to exercise _extreme_ caution with it, particularly with the examples, a great number of which are a long, long way from currently accepted best practice.

I don't believe that "Programmer to Programmer" describes this book well. The author's confusing and patchy descriptions of language fundamentals are not useful to those readers who are highly experienced in other programming languages such as C or C++. Neither does it seem that the author has clearly identified the target reader, as I imagine that the book will bewilder some beginners too. For example, for reasons unknown the author seemed to feel the need to embark on a "fundamentals of OOP" tutorial, a subject quite inappropriate for a "programmer-to-programmer" text as it should be taken as read, and one which is in any case too large to be adequately covered in a few pages. I imagine this may merely succeed in confusing novice programmers, who really do need to consult a proper introduction elsewhere. And why on earth did the author feel that a quick descent into UML was appropriate at the start of the third chapter? Another short section is devoted to explaining bit pattern operations, a subject that is arguably best left to real textbooks on programming fundamentals for beginners. At the same time, in many, many cases discussions of basic topics that experienced programmers would expect to find are simply absent. Javascript is in many ways highly unusual as a programming language, and because of the familiar syntax, C, C++ or Java programmers may be initially led to believe that its behaviour will be close to their expectations, yet this is not the case. For this reason it is crucial for a reference text to take care to tick off these crucial language-conversion issues properly.

Returning to the code examples, I have many problems with their poor quality. A sizeable number do not conform to current "unobtrusive" best practise. I can understand why this might have been done for reasons of brevity, but that doesn't excuse the poor example this sets. There is no discussion of accessibility, which is unforgiveable. And some of examples feature outdated, broken or deprecated techniques. The discussion of hacks to bolster up browser support for addEventListener, for example. Browser-sniffing, a deprecated technique features far too much, indeed a worrying number of examples rely on it. The author of this review is nowhere near competent to comment in detail on the quality of every code example, but the poor techniques clearly visible in some have the effect of casting doubt on the whole.

Despite being published in 2005, the book is simply too old to cover the recent tidal wave of high quality libraries which are now available, and which properly deal with some of the most difficult issues in basic javascript development, issues which this book simply does not acknowledge. The book deserves criticism for being yet one more contributor to the vast amount of poor quality javascript code on the web, yet of course it has to be said that any paper book will inevitable be vulnerable to the problem of obsolescence, since javascript support in browsers is so poor currently and techniques are changing rapidly right now.

This review is unapologetically harsh, yet I am not going to say "do not buy this book" outright. Although dated and harmful for beginners, there is a lot of material in this book, and for very experienced programmers in other programming languages who are forewarned about the book's unreliability it will at least give some idea of the issues and will provide a starting point for gathering a list of topics to be researched. But many readers may be simply better off consulting the blogs of the various acknowledged javascript gurus instead. Reading Brendan Eich's own articles would be a start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to dip into, 19 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides) (Paperback)
If you have been doing javascript for a while and came across all these ajax libraries using odd techniques like "prototype". For the developer who swept OO javascript under the carpet a while ago (me), this book helps you pull the rug off and dust down all those ideas about "OO in a script langauge?" and get to grips with it fast as when you start doing more and more ajax or silverlight those techniques are key to creating javascript components instead of relying on "functional" style programming.

Its no beginners book and its no reference manual, I won't say I've read it cover to cover (I skipped sections explaining OO, I know what it is I just chose to limit it to c#).

Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The foundation stone for modern Javascript., 24 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides) (Paperback)
Amidst all the hype about Angular and the new flavours of Javascript, the most popular web design language, it is wise to go back to the essentials. A blast from the past in terms of examples, but solid instruction and a good platform for learning the new stuff. Now part of the library at Google Developers Group Oxford where we believe in making the web into something you do, not just something you read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the intermediate to advanced developer, 4 July 2007
By 
G. Hinton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides) (Paperback)
I've been developing using JavaScript for 8 years now; during that time I've bought the O'Reilly JavaScript book, as well as their DHTML one and that was my bible, but they tend to get outdated very quickly and never really provided what I thought of to be very practical useful examples, hence they tend to gather dust!

This book on the other hand is fantastic and I'd say pretty up to date. It discusses everything from simple functions to extending element behaviour, and explains how to do it in syntax that works cross-browser - particularly handy for me as I develop sites that need to work in IE and Mozilla on both PC and MAC. The best thing is that it addresses real-life scenarios you'll need to code for, something that Microsoft and other software documentation generally lacks in abundance.

Ignore the "standards" put down by the other reviewer - we're not academics - we're developers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides)
Professional JavaScript for Web Developers (Wrox Professional Guides) by Nicholas C. Zakas (Paperback - 26 April 2005)
Used & New from: £0.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews