Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read the title... it is quite clear who this book is aimed at
This book has been harshly reviewed by people who have knowledge of NLP: "don't read this book if you know anything about NLP" is apparently the take home message. Fine. But that is kind of like telling a rocket scientist not to bother reading a pre-school chemistry book!

For those who know nothing about NLP, i.e. the intended demographic, this is a great...
Published on 7 Jun. 2008 by N. T. Southorn

versus
268 of 314 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One star is two too many
I have absolutely no idea how well-versed in NLP the authors of this book may be, but whatever the level of their knowledge, what comes across in this book is so confused, and in many places so downright inaccurate, anyone genuinely knowledgable on the subject could be forgiving for thinking it was written by a couple of complete novices.
(Please note - this is a...
Published on 23 Feb. 2006 by Ken


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read the title... it is quite clear who this book is aimed at, 7 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
This book has been harshly reviewed by people who have knowledge of NLP: "don't read this book if you know anything about NLP" is apparently the take home message. Fine. But that is kind of like telling a rocket scientist not to bother reading a pre-school chemistry book!

For those who know nothing about NLP, i.e. the intended demographic, this is a great book with plenty of examples relating the theory to real life. Sure, it isn't advanced NLP but you can't run before you can walk.

I am a complete beginner and this book captured my imagination and made me think more analytically about my actions, thoughts and communication skills. My advice is go to a book store and read a chapter or two before making your mind up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it or hate it....., 21 Aug. 2009
By 
T. Parry "Tim Parry" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
Okay so NLP has a huge debate around it and I think it is one of those things you either love or hate and this is most probably where the extreme reviews from 1 star to 5 stars comes from.

I have completed an NLP practitioner course and read several books. I am not evangelic about it but do believe it is a useful tool to carry in your toolbox of life skills.

This book does what it says on the tin. It is a simple introduction and overview to NLP. You can debate the scientific aspects of NLP endlessly and how effective it is but if you want to give it a go and begin exploring then this is a useful starting point. You may then be ready to move on to some other weightier tomes on the subject.

Simple, cheap and clear? Then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than an introduction!, 12 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
Okay, this is a "For Dummies" book, but that doesn't mean it is basic by any means. Every tool in NLP is explained, with anecdotes, exercises and much more besides.
NLP, when used by a skilled practitioner, is a very powerful method of changing the beliefs of yourself and others. That it hasn't been abused as much as it can be is quite astonishing to me after reading this book.
But if you think this or any other book will simply hand you the keys to someone's mind in a quick technique, you're sadly mistaken. NLP is a complex model of the unconscious and it requires a bit of study. It's what you make of it. Like anything worthwhile, you'll need to study it, but I read this book in a weekend and was practicing NLP successfully soon after.
There are some interesting side effects, too. You'll be able to spot a liar and from that tell whether they're left-handed or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 19 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
An honest and solid book on NLP that stands out amonst the many impenetrable books in this field. Strongly recommended both for first-time buyers and also for those of us who are still learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for those new to NLP, 3 Sept. 2006
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
I have always had an interest in NLP, but have only recently started to study it more seriously. This book, like all the "Dummies" books is clear and easy to follow. It takes you through NLP in easy stages, and can be used to dip in and out of. It explains key terms in a simple manner, and I thought this to be a particular plus point. Very often, textbooks on subjects like this, can be way above the heads of the average user, however, NLP for dummies has avoided this. The book contains anecdotes which are not only interesting, but support and enhance the text. I work in Education, teaching the future teachers and will be using many of the techniques within my classes. I will also be recommending this book to my students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


268 of 314 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One star is two too many, 23 Feb. 2006
By 
Ken (Out there) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
I have absolutely no idea how well-versed in NLP the authors of this book may be, but whatever the level of their knowledge, what comes across in this book is so confused, and in many places so downright inaccurate, anyone genuinely knowledgable on the subject could be forgiving for thinking it was written by a couple of complete novices.
(Please note - this is a comment on the contents of the book, not about the authors.)
Apart from anything else, as a reviewer in another place quite rightly noted, much of what is in the book isn't actually about NLP at all. On top of which the description of things neurological - such as the quite baffling description of the hippocampus - is largely pure gobbledegook:
'the hippocampus is made up of banks and banks of pyramid-like structures that get filled up during the day and emptied out at night? This means that you are able to make connections more quickly when you first wake up, so do your hardest thinking before the pyramids fill up.'
Before the "pyramids fill up"? You cannot be serious!
Apparently the authors have no idea whatsoever that what they are talking about are "pyramidal neurons" - the real "pyramids" in the brain are something else entirely. Moreover pyramidal cells aren't only found in the hippocampus, about 70 (seventy) per cent of the neurons in the neo-cortex are pyramidal.
On the same topic, what passes through neurons are minute electrical pulses which are transmitted to other neurons many times per second. So what the authors think the "pyramids" are "filling up" with, and why they are allegedly only "emptied out at night", is anyone's guess.
There are many other mistakes in the book, of varying substance, and I won't waste your time by trying to list them all here. The point is already made, I think, that whatever research went into preparing the text was totally inadequate. And contrary to the claims made in previous reviews this is probably one of the worst introductions to NLP on the market today.
For a introduction to NLP that really does cover all the important information, accurately, O'Connor and Seymour's 'Introducing NLP' is still the one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro for non-dummies, 7 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
At over 300 pages this is a detailed reference on the tools and concepts of NLP and yet the authors have managed to present their slippery subject in the clear and straightforward language needed by learners. I found the Dummies approach friendly and accessible, written by enthusiasts who have a real affection for their subject but who don't see it as the single answer to life, the universe and everything. For the lay reader this is a great reference book on what can be a very broad and confusing subject. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to make a solid start with NLP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 2 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
I have read many NLP books and this one stands out as being one of the best around. What I particularly like about it is the humour and the examples - and the clear way some of the more complex NLP principles are explained. I also like the index which is really helpful when you are using the book to dip into for specific information. In-depth and also easy to read. A good combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid introduction to NLP, 18 Oct. 2007
By 
John Hepburn (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
Clear minded, competent and enjoyable introduction to NLP. The basics are advanced in a simple, well-rounded manner and there are plenty of activities to challenge and refine your thinking and behaviour. Possibly it's greatest achievement is that the later ideas and activities (which are often called 'more advanced' in other books) flow beautifully and logically on in an engaging and stylish manner. As with 'CBT for Dummies' (which acts as an almost complementary companion) it's a book I often recommend to clients in the appropriate circumstances. Well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neuro-linguistic Programming for Dummies, 28 April 2004
This review is from: Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies (Paperback)
I thought this would
provide a nice introduction to NLP but it is muchmore than that. It is a no
nonsense highly informative book where boththe NLP virgin and practioner
have much to gain! I especially like thefun way it is written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies
Neuro-Linguistic Programming For Dummies by Kate Burton (Paperback - 2 April 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews