Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well structured book for beginners
I'm an experienced VB6 developer, so I skipped large sections of this book. It goes into examples of arrays, variables, conditions - the type of things I don't need to know about. Beginners certainly will find the book well structured with basic examples and clear explanations.
More experienced developers will skip large sections of it and use the examples to...
Published on 1 Dec. 2004 by Mr BD

versus
73 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners (as it says in the title!)
This book attempts to teach you how to program, using Visual Basic.Net. I think it does a pretty good job of this, however it's not so useful if you are already a programmer/have used VB6. This wouldn't be a problem, only the book claims to be suitable if you 'have some experience with other versions of Visual Basic' - it isn't particularly, with the first half of it...
Published on 4 Dec. 2002 by jaucourt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners (as it says in the title!), 4 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Beginning VB.NET (Paperback)
This book attempts to teach you how to program, using Visual Basic.Net. I think it does a pretty good job of this, however it's not so useful if you are already a programmer/have used VB6. This wouldn't be a problem, only the book claims to be suitable if you 'have some experience with other versions of Visual Basic' - it isn't particularly, with the first half of it being orientated towards teaching concepts such as arrays and how they are used, how to write an algorithm for a program, how to use variables, etc. . . .
If you are new to programming and want to learn VB.Net, buy it, it's a fantastic introduction. If you are an experienced programmer looking to learn VB.Net, I'd recommend you go elsewhere (such as Core VB.Net reference by Balena).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well structured book for beginners, 1 Dec. 2004
By 
Mr BD - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning VB.NET (Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
I'm an experienced VB6 developer, so I skipped large sections of this book. It goes into examples of arrays, variables, conditions - the type of things I don't need to know about. Beginners certainly will find the book well structured with basic examples and clear explanations.
More experienced developers will skip large sections of it and use the examples to highlight differences between VB6 and VB.NET, but it possibly not the best tome for that.
There are a couple of small errors with some of the examples, but the publisher's website provides corrections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 20 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's hard to believe that this book comes from the publishing group as Beginning C# (Beginning Visual C# 2005), Beginning ASP.Net(Beginning ASP.NET 2.0 (Programmer to Programmer)), and Beginning SQL Server 2005 (Beginning SQL Server 2005 Programming (Programmer to Programmer)), because, unlike those books, it is appallingly bad.

This book is supposed to give new programmers an insight into object orientated programming using VB.Net 2005 as the language of choice.

If you go through it cover to cover, you will become very adept at following and copying programming examples based on someone else's work, and feel very good about yourself, until you try and knock out something yourself, at which point it will quickly become apparent that your knowledge of the concepts of OOP, and the fundamental operation of the .Net framework are nearly non-existent.

The book scratches the surface of what is a very powerful programming language, and essentially allows you to knock out a couple of flat form-based applications. It is fairly obvious that this book is designed to entice you to buy the subsequent books in the series by hinting at more "advanced" topics, while never really explaining them.

If you are an experienced Visual Basic programmer, then give this a miss. If you are a beginner to programming, and actually want to learn something about the .Net framework, either go with a different VB book, or buy the Wrox Beginning C# 2005 book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 16 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Beginning VB.NET (Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
This is a great book for beginner programmers and intermediate programmers alike. I came from a VB6 world and have used this book it has taught me a lot. I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to learn VB.NET..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to learn VB, 18 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This is a great book for learning VB2005. It goes through many lessons including writing a game for a handheld. I would recommend this to anyone learning VB2005 for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 20 Dec. 2006
By 
Alec Wood (Hartlepool, UK) - See all my reviews
Work your way through it quickly and you'll quickly be ready to learn more. Sure it gets a bit long winded and repetitive sometimes, but all beginners books do, and we beginners can choose how much of it to read.

Definately a beginners book, but as such, a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good quality item at a very good price, will without doubt be using this company again fit for purpose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning VB.NET (Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning VB.NET (Programmer to Programmer)
Beginning VB.NET (Programmer to Programmer) by Richard Blair (Paperback - 8 April 2004)
£23.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews