Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what it says
This book filled in a lot of the gaps in Catholicism for me. IT is what it says: a guide for dummies. I had read Path to Rome by Dwight Longenecker, a book by Ronald Rolheiser, a biography of Pope John Paul and Greg Watts' Catholic Lives, all excellent books. Catholicism for Dummies gave me a framework of Church history and an explanation of Church teaching. It was...
Published on 7 April 2005 by lucy jones

versus
26 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undeniably useful but distinctly dodgy nonetheless
This book offers a useful overview of Catholic beliefs and practices that is difficult to find elsewhere, but non-Catholics beware, this is not a book about Catholicism, it is a Catholic book. This is not for 'people of all...beliefs' as the cover blurb claims - both authors are Catholic priests and the absence of a non-Catholic voice is sorely apparent. The reader is not...
Published on 12 April 2006 by Thérèse’s mate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good Introduction (or Re-Introduction), but also very thorough, 13 Oct 2010
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
I was wary of purchasing a "Dummies" book as I've found some in the past to be far too basic and simplistic. However, this substantial offering does not fall into that category.

Written by two American priests "Catholicism for Dummies" is full of interesting information, facts and anecdotes. The balance is also right here as it accessible to the layman without being too theological.

There are 414 pages across 22 sections:

*Introduction
*What It Means To Be Catholic
*Who's Who In The Catholic Church
*Ya Gotta Have Faith
*Believing In Jesus
*Worshipping Catholic Style
*The Sacraments of Initiation
*The Sacraments of Community and Mercy
*Celebrating The Catholic Mass
*Catholic Law 101
*Loving and Honouring: The Ten Commandments
*Being Good When Sinning Is So Easy
*The Church's Stand On Some Sticky Issues
*Showing Your Love For God
*Expressing Affection for Mary
*Calling on the Canonised
*Catholic Traditions
*Ten Famous Catholics
*Ten Popular Catholic Saints
*Ten Popular Catholic Places
*A Brief History of Catholicism
*Fun Facts For The Faithful

It is obviously impossible to provide a full and substantial overview of the teachings, structure, history and role of an organisation that is almost 2,000 years old in a single book - so be realistic and accept that this text is a useful snapshot for those with an interest in Catholicism (or perhaps you were a 'cradle Catholic' and didn't really know what was going on when you were originally raised in Catholicism).

On the downside, some of the language is rather flippant in places e.g. "Hey, Father Joe, bless this, will ya?" is a title of a small subsection. I suspect, though, that the authors were working to a brief and had to write in the 'House Style' for the Dummies series. Fortunately, this kind of language is not prevalent throughout all of the book.

Overall, if you are embarking on a quest for a better understanding of a global religion with over 1 billion nominal adherents, then this is a very useful overview and something that you will gain a lot out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab! A great summary of Catholicism!, 19 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is written in an informal, fun manner, but this in no way detracts from its subject matter.
An ideal starting place for anyone considering becoming a Roman Catholic, or for an Anglican Catholic as a summary of beliefs. (There is a huge similarity between the 2 denominations, but one or two divisive issues, but the relevant sections can still be taken on board by an Anglican, albeit with provisos.) I have now ordered 2 of these books for Catholic friends and want to borrow them back (maybe I should buy myself a copy too?)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catholicism For Dummies, 5 Feb 2010
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is a 'must read' for those interested or embarking on the Catholic faith. From explaining Catholic doctrine to praying the rosary, it's packed with infomation,and written in a style that is easy to understand.
I would highly recommend this book to those wanting to understand Catholicism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catholicism for Dummies, 28 Sep 2010
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
This is an excellant reference book comparable with "The Catechism of the Catholic Church" but far more readable and easy to understand.
Every Confirmation candidate should have a copy.
Apart from the sound doctrine there is much of interest about people, saints and places and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nearer my God to Thee, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
Great book, although I am a practising Catholic there is a lot of stuff in this book that I was unaware of and I feel it has helped me come both closer to God and my faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
bought this as a present for a friend, had a quick flick through and it looks interesting and covered major points
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Catholicism for Dummies (Purchased on 07/25/2011), 27 Aug 2011
By 
C. M. Tan Ong (malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
I never knew so much I didn't know!~ But I guess it would be asking too much if the cathecism of the catholic church is not so bulky!~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seeking!, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a really good book for intending 'new' catholics! Gives all the answers in a
straightforward way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 8 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
This is such a good book. I recommend it for any Catholic and especially for anyone involved in catechesis. It expands most if not all points of Catholic teaching in an intelligent and yet accessible and lucid way. My own copy is very well thumbed and I have recommended it to many other people who have also come to appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catholicism for Dummies, 21 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catholicism For Dummies (Paperback)
Excellent book for non-catholics such as myself. Well written and explains much. Disperses many theories that Catholics "believe" and explains the real beliefs behind these so called theories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catholicism For Dummies
Catholicism For Dummies by Rev. Kenneth Brighenti (Paperback - 29 May 2003)
Used & New from: £0.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews