Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2002
As with all 'Dummies' books 'Rock Guitar for Dummies' follows the same standards and humour as other books in the range. However, don't buy this book on the understanding that it will teach you how to the play the guitar from scratch, some prior knowledge is needed. This book acts as a guide to help develop your guitar playing into a rock sytle rather than teaching you from scratch. I'm guessing 'Guitar for Dunmmies' will cover the area's I expected to find in this book! Overall the book is well written and provides a wealth of information on all things 'rock guitar', 50% of the book is actual guitar playing, while the other 50% is theory behind the equitment etc...
Last Words: Not a beginners guide.
0Comment47 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2003
Brilliantly written, particularly good at explaining things you feel you really ought to have already known. Great chapters on hardware, amps and effects; as well as actually *playing* rhythm and lead. The style is just right, not too dry and not too full of "humour".
I'm not sure a total beginner could work through this without a lot of work, but if you've played a few chords, have a helpful friend who plays or are coming from another instrument, you really could find yourself playing rock guitar with this book and plenty of practice and dedication.
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2005
Ok, i'll review this book in 2 parts:
Firstly, the sections on hardware, maintenance, and general info about electric guitars. I bought this book expecting not to use this section at all, but has since proved invaluable. It's great for answering all those questions you had about guitars and equipment but felt too stupid to ask in the shop (the sections on amps and effects pedals is brilliant), and the maintenance bit contains all the essentials and more for keeping your guitar in top nick. Full marks for this bit.
Secondly, the (more important) tuition part. I was expecting the rhythm guitar section to explain in depth rhythmic timings and power chords, i.e. things important to ROCK guitar. However it concentrates on traditional chords and even barre chords, virtually irrelevant for a distorted rock guitar (the author himself even says so on page 73!!). The lead guitar section is where it all falls apart. It only concentrates on the pentatonic scale and nothing else, which i have since realised is only good for old-shool rock/indie and not much more. I remember finding this section particularly baffling as a beginner, not because it was too fast paced, but because the author tries to teach this scale without mentioning 2 very important things: a) what the pentatonic scale actually is and how it is formed, and b) what you're actually supposed to do with it once you've learnt it. In fact, a continuing moan throughout this book it that the author tries to teach without explaining the theory behind things, which would make it so much clearer.
Overall, this book is probably worth getting for the technical side alone, but you may find yourself skipping over much of the tuition section and as a result it won't last more than a month or two. You may as well start with 'guitar for dummies' then go on to more specific tuition books.
0Comment20 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
Great book... but ...

Reading from Kindle, well - it doesn't quite transfer over well with only being able to view partial images.

Also - while reading page to page, guitar in hand - I suddenly found myself in over my head, it jumping into vastly more complex styles of playing etc when I was still struggling with the basics. It assumes a skill level that is above 'dummy' ...

So, be warned -
A Rock Guitar Dummy :-)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
This must be one of the best tutors and books about guitars, (I also have Guitar for Dummies). Certainly I have not come across anything better.The Cd is also very helpful. Overall I found this a good interesting read for beginners and experts, (I'm not an expert but I have been playing for forty odd years). I think that anyone should be able to learn from scratch with the help of this book although it is slightly more advanced than Guitar for Dummies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Get this if you can play a few chords and notes, can read a few tabs and want to know EVERYTHING you need to know about rock guitar. All Rock styles are covered, guitar types are covered, amps are covered, effects are covered. Even the main rock guitarists are covered, including my favourites, Blackmore and Iommi with music in their own styles...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
I bought this book for my Dad to learn how to play his new guitar. I was expecting it to be brand new but that may be my fault as I didn't check. Despite the book being a little bit rough around the edges he loved it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
The book is brilliant, easy to read, easier to follow! The accompanying CD allows u to get immediate feedback on your attempts! Excellent "manual" with enough in there to get u playing and playing well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
i think i got a full refund cus there was no cd with it when it arrived,good book thow
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
The usual Dummies format, put to good use in this book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Take guitar lessons in the comfort of home with a professional teacher