Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars27
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2000
Do not be fooled or in any way put off by the title of this superb beginners manual on poker. While it is written in an extremely clear and easy to grasp way, it covers all the fundamental aspects and then some for the man or woman wishing to play any of the main poker variations. This book covers everything you will need to know to sit down at your first tournament or cash game, from betting strategy, what cards to play, poker etiquette and the all imporant positional considerations. Buy this book and it will MAKE you money.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2005
This book has exceeded even my highly set expectations after reading reviews from my predecessors. The entire poker spectrum is dealt with creatively and with skillful flair. Your pace of reading is never obstructed by incomprehensible sentences or theories. It reads like watching a good movie: there is no way to stop reading, unless you doze off after several hours, and you remain constantly fascinated wanting more. Notice however that if you're looking for advanced poker theories, this would not be the right choice for you. Any other player, from beginner to somewhat experienced, will gain a lot from this excellent reference guide. Bottomline: A must-have before plunging into the vast virtual library of poker literature.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2003
After starting to play poker a home for a few quid, i decided to buy a book to clarify the rules and improve my poker. I was so impressed with this book, it had everything.
Don't be put off by the name, this book is for beginners and experts alike. It contains infomation about all kinds of playing, home, semi-pro and casino. I also has detailed chapters on lots of variations. I also gives you a detailed insite into how players will play, saving you a lot of cash!!:-)
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
.

Unfortunately this book is :

a) Severely out of date, basically from 2000.

b) Not a lot of use to most people nowadays, even a total beginner.

c) Is completely useless for most current beginners, only interested
in no limit holdem and sit and go NLHE, nearly all advice regarding
HE is related to limit HE (useless for NL) and is simply fairly obvious.

d) Really doesn't explain much rationally.

e) Completely overeggs how much it will teach you, the answer
is not much, and you will be nowhere near grasping the subject.

f) No way using this book will you learn to understand poker.
It does contain stuff that is true, but doesn't explain it at all.

g) Its simply not worth buying unless you want to read about poker
legends and the "stars" of 1990's decade, the latter is very dull.

h) Has a chapter on bluffing that bears no relation to most
of the poker games it explains, you need to know a lot more
about poker than explained to understand this chapter.

i) Cheap update exploiting "Chris Moneymakers" 2003 WSOP win.

Basically avoid this book if you want anything other than light
(historical) entertainment. Most of it is pretty useless, unless
you know absolutely nothing about poker, but if you do it won't
really teach you that much, you'll have to go elsewhere to make
any sense of some of the advice, and understand its context.

Even very cheap, which is is now I can't reccommend it much.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
This is a relatively good book but it is definitely what it says in the title, for dummies.

Basically if you have almost any knowledge about poker most of the book is not useful, but it is very good at explaining the very basics, and has a small use in going over some of the variations of poker which the typical texas hold 'em player might not be familiar with.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I think this book is a great book for any skill level of Poker player. I myself had never played poker before and found this not only easy to read but very informative and an enjoyable ride whilst reading all the history about Poker. Well worth the money I paid for and I'm sure it will always come in handy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2006
First few chapters are pretty basic, especially if you know the basics of the game.

But some of the later chapters are worth reading. Will definitely save you money (more than what you will pay for the book!), but it won't make you a pro. Hard work and practice still required.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
The book lived up to its reviews. An easy-reading but comprehensive guide to poker. I am a poker novice but I expect someone with poker experience would still learning something from it. I like the fact that it is in parts, the beginning part for novices, and a later part looking at strategy, bluffing etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Arrived on time . Very clear book a little long winded in places
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2005
I've had this book a while. It's great as reference but don't think that you can sit down read all thorugh it and bcome a master - the one thing you need as with anything else is practice.
Some of the ideas and concepts are clever (the bit in Hold 'Em about what is a good hand to go on before the flop based not only on cards but also position was good) but some are just damn obvious.
Overall a 3 star book. It has helped a bit, but is hasn't changed my life and it won't change yours.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)