Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Got..............
this for my kids when they were studying languages at school, they said it was ok and helped them along their language journey......
Published 18 months ago by Savi

versus
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ... an insult to the storage capacity of a CD!
I was very disappointed with this book/CD pack. I have awarded 'Italian For Dummies' 2 stars. It earns these points for its nice introductory grammar section which is ideal for any beginner.
But the pack loses BIG, in my opinion, for failing to utilise 'space' - both in terms of the book and the audio CD which accompanies it.
The pages of the book have huge...
Published on 27 April 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ... an insult to the storage capacity of a CD!, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Italian For Dummies (Paperback)
I was very disappointed with this book/CD pack. I have awarded 'Italian For Dummies' 2 stars. It earns these points for its nice introductory grammar section which is ideal for any beginner.
But the pack loses BIG, in my opinion, for failing to utilise 'space' - both in terms of the book and the audio CD which accompanies it.
The pages of the book have huge margins on either side, which leaves you feeling that you should have gotten twice or three times as much information as you paid for. (ie - You've been robbed!) And I'm not judging the book on purely quantitative terms. For example, if the book did it's job, it shouldn't matter how much is written inside it. But the problem with this book is that there is so MUCH left out that you will feel resentful about that wasted 'paper'! (This book covers very basic stuff)
The biggest travesty, however, is the audio CD. It was the main reason I bought the book in the first place. Everyone knows that the audio component of any language pack or course is VITAL to the learning process. Anyone aware of the storage capacity of a CD will be disgusted by how little they find on this one. And remember too that everything is repeated on this CD so in reality I would estimate that you will get about 15 mins of 'new Italian' for your money.
What is so disappointing is that what little was included in the book and tapes was actually very good. There just wasn't enough of it.
My verdict: Buy this book if you have a lot of money and time and don't mind buying another course to follow up. This book is an EXCELLENT INTRODUCTION, but really should have given more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Italian For Dummies (Paperback)
Italian for Dummies was no use, trying to find info quickly was a waste of time, thank god i went with someone who had the lonely planet Italian Phrase Book which was used constantly. buy the Lonely Planet Italian Prase Book, it was excellent and easy to use. Dont waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Got.............., 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian For Dummies (Paperback)
this for my kids when they were studying languages at school, they said it was ok and helped them along their language journey......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars italian for dummies, 18 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Italian For Dummies (Paperback)
i was disappointed as no cd came with the book you need to use the both together to getb the best out of the book hear dialect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to learn Italian - this is it!, 26 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Italian For Dummies (Paperback)
I wanted to learn Italian in less painfull way and I made it. This is great and fun book whit useful dialogs on CD. It really help me whit my exam and talking to Italian people. I would recomendet to enyone who is starting to learn Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 16 Aug. 2007
By 
P. J. Ryan "onkel_bucks" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Italian For Dummies (Paperback)
I agree about the margins and poor audio CD that other reviewers gave this book.
For me I think it is best to know how Italians structure their sentences and give more precise translations. A simple example would be - 'Che cosa desidera', translates to 'What thing desires you', but the authors would give the translation as 'What would you like'!!! It is very misleading.
I need a book that gives true translations, any recommendations?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Italian For Dummies
Italian For Dummies by Karen Antje Möller (Paperback - 8 May 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews