Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-structured and cleanly presented information
Given that this is a huge tome (over 1000 pages), presenting an enormous body of information; and given that the information is often quite complex, the way in which it is presented is impressive. The book is neatly divided into 7 sections, each section contains between 5 and 9 chapters, and each chapter is divided into clearly-labelled sub-sections. This clarity of...
Published on 18 Jan 2004 by Mary McNeil

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the novice - infuriating.
Infuriating. Do not believe the waffle in the intro about this book being suitable for absolute beginners. It assumes that the reader knows something about Dreamweaver and at least has an existing grasp of webpage building. It breezes over the basics far too quickly, often without adequate explanations. For example, part of creating a website is defining a testing server...
Published on 9 Aug 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the novice - infuriating., 9 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX Bible (Paperback)
Infuriating. Do not believe the waffle in the intro about this book being suitable for absolute beginners. It assumes that the reader knows something about Dreamweaver and at least has an existing grasp of webpage building. It breezes over the basics far too quickly, often without adequate explanations. For example, part of creating a website is defining a testing server. For an absolute beginner, like me, this is likely to be the PC on which the site is being created. This "helpful" book simply states "You should also define, at this time, whether the testing server is located locally or should be accessed via FTP." Well thanks awfully, but how do I complete the bit about defining the local testing server? Maybe a completely basic thing, but for a novice, it's just one of the hundreds of things we need explaining at the outset. To be fair, it is a comprehensive book and will probably prove to be a good buy eventually, but it looks like I'll have to learn Dreamweaver MX the hard way before I get the most out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-structured and cleanly presented information, 18 Jan 2004
By 
Mary McNeil (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX Bible (Paperback)
Given that this is a huge tome (over 1000 pages), presenting an enormous body of information; and given that the information is often quite complex, the way in which it is presented is impressive. The book is neatly divided into 7 sections, each section contains between 5 and 9 chapters, and each chapter is divided into clearly-labelled sub-sections. This clarity of presentation makes the book easy to read, chapter by chapter, but also great for dipping into when you want to find something specific.
I'm not a Dreamweaver novice, but neither am I a grizzled old website designer with years of experience, so for me, the style and language are great. Direct enough to get the point across without wading through loads of over-simple directions, but straightforward and clear enough to get a grasp of the more difficult concepts without feeling battered by jargon!
A genuinely helpful reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and comprehensive, 30 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX Bible (Paperback)
I started with this book when Dreamweaver 3 was released back in 1998 and I always buy each new edition because it is so comprehensive. If you want a cover-to-cover beginner's guide to throw away after one read then buy something else but if you want to learn the program thoroughly and have a valuable reference to return to buy the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant reference book, 4 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX Bible (Paperback)
I would recommend this book as a reference next to a good tutorial like the one from FriendsOfEd called Foundation Dreamweaver or the ones from Wrox.
If you new to Dreamweaver, don't expect it to teach you all of it with excercises etc.. It's merely something you dip in every now and then to check "what that function or button does" or simply something that explains the functionality in plain english.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners.., 5 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX Bible (Paperback)
The Dreamweaver bible is praised by professionals and hated by beginning webdesigners. For a reason! This book is presented as equally suited to pros and beginners alike. Well, unless you enjoy tormenting yourselves, beginners should avoid the Bible at all cost.. If you do not know anything about Dreamweaver MX yet and want to learn it look somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IT Book, 29 July 2009
By 
J. Ridgeway - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX Bible (Paperback)
A very comprehensive book on building a web site. Is really useful book and it arrived promptly in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamweaver MX Bible, 25 April 2003
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX Bible (Paperback)
Its the best Dreamweaver book I've read so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamweaver MX Bible
Dreamweaver MX Bible by Joseph W. Lowery (Paperback - 30 Aug 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews