Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars18
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2006
Having read some of the other reviews I have to wonder, why they purchased the book in the first place. I would reccomend that all commited Catholics buy Catholics for Dummies so then they can read about your own faith and not be threatend or challenged in anyway! I don't think that Mr Wagner could help it if there was some truth in what he wrote about concerning The Roman Catholic Church and it's history. But I saw nothing that could warrent the reviews previously given of this being "Anti-Catholic" I guess it's just not Pro-Catholic enough for some readers!

Also, just as your personal bias may affect how you read this book, it is bound to be reflected in the writers appoach also so I should remind the other reviewers that people in glass houses should not throw stones!

There are very few books that would attempt to try and give a basic overview of The Christian faith in plain English without getting bogged down in theology, so this book makes an ok read and is easier to get into then some. Unlike other reviewers, I felt it treats all Christian denominations with respect and does not say that if you are part of one group or another then you are not a real Christian although it does examine some small points of Cult groups and their errors. He touches on theology and history with clarity but I must remind people that this is a basic guide. For in depth information, this will be only a springboard.

It is clear, to the point and a fun read (coming from A Christian point of view!) It would be interesting to let a new Christian read this and get a response if it helps them!

This is an ok read in will make a good springbord for deeper study. It also answers many questions a lot of people, especially new Christians ask. I would certainly reccommend this book to be on any Christian leader's bookshelf!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
Christianity for Dummies makes the fundemental doctrines of the Christian faith abundantly clear without comprimise. Other less issues that are not important to salvation such as End Times he presents a balanced view of all thoughts on this matter leaving the reader to decide but does imput his person view. Highly reccommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2008
Taking the rather myopic reviews here aside; if you are looking for a good introduction to Christianity then this is for you. It does what is says on the tin. The layout is good, headings accurate, info in bitesize chunks. Forget trying to look for underlying subversion and just inhale the good that pours forth from its pages. Even if you have been a Christian for ages this is a great reminder and aid.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
Do not buy if you want to have any understanding at all about Catholic Christian Faith. It claims to give an overview of Christian belief, including that of Catholics, but it contains serious and fundamental errors. Phil Lynch has already spotted certain errors. The litmus test for me was the doctrine of the Immaculate Conception. Look it up in the index and it redirects to the Virgin Birth. The two are entirely separate doctrines about the births of two separate people. The Immaculate Conception is the doctrine that Mary was conceived free from stain of original sin. The Virgin Birth is the teaching that Jesus was conceived in the womb of the Virgin Mary by the power of the Holy Spirit.

If this book can be so fundamentally wrong on this how can I trust anything else that is written in it? The book only serves to confuse.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 April 2010
This book gives a very clear guide to the nicieties of the Christian religion, such as explaining the Nicene Creed and the differences between the branches of the faith. Unfortunately, it is also US-orientated and blithely ignores all the controversies which threaten the unity of the Church.

The American tone begins to grate after a while. The authors state it is not unusual these days to see people attending church services in 'Dockers and cut-offs' and use terms such as Lutheran and Episcopalian with abandon. They also barely mention things such as Christian attitudes to homosexuality and child abuse. The explosion of Christianity in the African continent is also given short shrift.

Overall, more of a world-view would have been helpful and perhaps such a tome should have had a greater variety of contributors, perhaps even an atheist or social commentator. As it is, the authors use terms such as 'post-modernism' clearly without having much of an idea what they mean.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
As a Christian i would need to read this and extract salient points for non believing friends. For them to read it 'as is' would make them feel bogged down with information and be more of a turn off than evangelical tool. Possibly could be used by a teacher for bite size chunks. Pity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Christianity for Dummies arrived Safe and well packaged.
Its a good read, you can dip in and out of it and you dont need to read it in any order and its light hearted which makes it easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
I really like these "For Dummies" books. This one in particular is very good. Very well written. Covers a lot of information. I'm also going to recommend another book that I've just read. I've recommended it to many people. Just passing it along. Here's the Amazon link:

What Did Jesus Really Say-How Christianity Went Astray: [What To Say To A Born Again Christian Fundamentalist, But Never Had The Information]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
As a person who has been a christian for over thirty years and have attempted to understand all aspects of Christianity I have finally found one that speaks the same language as I do and an understanding of the word of God.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Excellent book. Very informative and simple. Would recommend it if you are connfused by all there4 is in this subject but want to know more. Really helped me !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.99
£12.51

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)