Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastering intricacies of Adobe Photoshop
Once again, a how-to book in the "Dummy" series has been invaluable in deciphering the complexities of Adobe programs. In this case, the Photoshop program explained has myriads of functions and one needs to know point A in order to arrive at Point B. Highly useful in a book of this sort is graphic clarity and a good index (most publishers seem to care little about...
Published on 21 Aug 2009 by Rand Philip

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite for dummies!
This book reads like a textbook, which is fine if you're interested in getting a generalised overview of WHAT most of the functions in photoshop do. However, if what you're looking for is a set of tutorials to explain HOW to carry those functions out to get the desired results then this book is not for you.
I've been messing around in photoshop for a few weeks so am...
Published on 30 Nov 2009 by M.B.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastering intricacies of Adobe Photoshop, 21 Aug 2009
By 
Rand Philip "Philip" (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photoshop CS For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
Once again, a how-to book in the "Dummy" series has been invaluable in deciphering the complexities of Adobe programs. In this case, the Photoshop program explained has myriads of functions and one needs to know point A in order to arrive at Point B. Highly useful in a book of this sort is graphic clarity and a good index (most publishers seem to care little about indexes) so that readers can quickly find answers to questions, returning, for example, to Point A to refresh their memories.
A tear-out section in the book makes it possible to have short-cut keyboard commands nearby for quick reference.
The "Dummy" series can be plagued by humorous asides that get tiresome, but this volume has reduced those to a disc rete number.
As a devourer of how-to computer books and hopeless nerd, I suspect that this book is the best possible solution for a good introduction to Photoshop (CS in my case).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite for dummies!, 30 Nov 2009
By 
M.B. (Southend, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop CS For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
This book reads like a textbook, which is fine if you're interested in getting a generalised overview of WHAT most of the functions in photoshop do. However, if what you're looking for is a set of tutorials to explain HOW to carry those functions out to get the desired results then this book is not for you.
I've been messing around in photoshop for a few weeks so am not a complete beginner, but I've been struggling to make head nor tail of a lot of the more complex stuff in this book. I guess what I need is something with screen shots showing me how to get from A to B rather than a book which tells me what results I could get but not how to get them.

It's a good book overall (although to call it the 'Dummies' guide is a bit misleading as to me it seems to be a bit complex for a complete novice) just not quite what I was looking for. I have now ordered another book which apparently is more what I wanted, and I think the two books together should give me a comprehensive overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jargon free book., 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Photoshop CS For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
Does what it says on the tin (well, cover). Although not as amusing written as Macs For Dummies. But full of useful instruction for anyone getting started in photoshop. It avoids getting you bogged down in jargon, but still gives you a solid understanding of image editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop......, 6 April 2010
By 
K. Bates "Kev and Kerryanne" (Caistor, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop CS For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
This book has been a great help as photoshop is such an enormous program and has so many layers. good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mysteries unlocked, 22 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. A. D. R. Marshall (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photoshop CS For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
Have had the original version Photoshop CS for some time, but only with the screen based guides,which are not easy to follow if you're a novice and trying to follow the instructions on screen whilst at the same time use the program. Photoshop CS for Dummies I have found invaluable in unlocking the secrets of the program. It is written in a comprehensive style and perhaps best used as a reference, rather than trying to read cover to cover. Well worth the money when you consider the capabilities of the program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa8b0e58)

This product

Photoshop CS For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers))
Photoshop CS For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) by Phyllis Davis (Paperback - 7 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews