Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely accessible to Dummies
I really found this book helpful. I have to admit having had a couple of ballet lessons in the past but those were very poor and well over 20 years ago, so I was probably starting from the very beginning. The layout was good and you could in theory skip over to the chapters you are interested in, although the book goes to some trouble to emphasise the progressive nature...
Published on 16 Jun 2004 by RoseRodent

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BALLET FOR DUMMIES FOR FUN
This is a highly amusing book, written in a very original way.
However, as an aide to me actually learning Ballet it quickly lost its usefulness.
You actually have to READ great chunks of text to get anything from it, and the wit can become tiresome when you just want to know whether to put this foot into 3rd or 5th, etc. So hard book to use whilst you are...
Published on 22 Nov 2004 by simongervais


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely accessible to Dummies, 16 Jun 2004
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
I really found this book helpful. I have to admit having had a couple of ballet lessons in the past but those were very poor and well over 20 years ago, so I was probably starting from the very beginning. The layout was good and you could in theory skip over to the chapters you are interested in, although the book goes to some trouble to emphasise the progressive nature of the techniques - you could find yourself unable to understand the instructions if you have skipped over the bits about what "low fifth" and "cou de pied" actually are.
The one downside I found was that the book almost never gives you information on how to get OUT of any positions, for example the "developpe" bringing your leg out in front/side/back and then the instructions end with you balanced on one leg with the other stuck out in the air. There is no information on how you might then proceed to the next step in a sequence. The pictures can sometimes be a couple of pages away from the text too, I guess to save on pages, but in a real "Dummies" situation I would prefer them to describe step 1 and then have the picture right there not over a couple of pages. On the whole instructions are really clear, although one box near the beginning of the book asks us to place feet broadly and keep the ankles from gripping - not, I hazard, terms that the beginner will be able to relate to.
If you are thinking about a beginners' class but don't want to show up knowing nothing at all then this is an excellent starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great information, 18 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
Will this book teach you how to do ballet? No. No book would be able to teach such a complex skill. What this book does, is go through various aspects of ballet technique, terminolgy and conventions (eg dress, class structure) It is a great all round guide to ballet, and a good support to someone starting ballet classes, or looking to start. It breaks through the mysterious cliques that many percieve there are in the ballet world, and make ballet an approachable and attainable form of excercise and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BALLET FOR DUMMIES FOR FUN, 22 Nov 2004
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a highly amusing book, written in a very original way.
However, as an aide to me actually learning Ballet it quickly lost its usefulness.
You actually have to READ great chunks of text to get anything from it, and the wit can become tiresome when you just want to know whether to put this foot into 3rd or 5th, etc. So hard book to use whilst you are actually trying out the steps.
The illustrations are too small and not clear enough for me, and once again not easy to use whilst practising because you need to keep the book close to you in order to read the small pictures.
I also found the pictures hard to follow, the caption and numbering was confusing. Often you seemed to get a couple of pictures to cover a step in 4parts, so you could sometimes be left wondering what happened in the "missing" two pictures. For example, how did that forward foot in 3rd get behind into coup de pied.
Large illustrations, perhaps with arrows to indicate the move into or out of a position would be more useful to me. Also helpful would have been a CD with the book to accompany your exercises instead of telling you to go and find a certain piece.
Finally, my own classes taught different positions, different sequences, different exercises so I quickly had to choose between the live class or the funny but not too helpful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ballet, 21 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
Its good, but a bit American.
Useful tips
My daughter now at Grade 6 has read it and refers to it when need be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for dancers and anyone interested in ballet generally, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
I liked this books no nonsence approach and its scope of coverage. Covers simple and complex moves so will be of use to many dancers. Delivered quickly and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but not easy to understand for a complete beginner, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
Useful but not easy to understand for a complete beginner. Definitely not for someone that is not taking ballet classes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On the whole good, but sadly lacking, 19 April 2013
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this book a couple of years ago as an intro to me learning as an adult. On the whole it is a really good book, very informative with plenty of steps to keep anyone playing. But I have to agree with previous comments. You have to wade through a lot of the written word with the pictures being quite small, and sometimes not near the text. My book is covered in little page markers so that I can turn straight to the exercises. It would have been nice to have included some other exercises for strengthening/stretching the feet. The other disappointing fact is that there is no accompanying DVD. This would have been a great addition, allowing people to see the steps and follow a class format. For anyone, wanting to take up Ballet as an adult though it is a good first book. Another good book is the DK 'Ballerina' book with DVD. Very basic and appears to be primarily for children but offers good visual aids for some of the steps in the Dummies book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gift, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
Ballet mad daughter enjoyes flicking through and reading new bits of info. Thought i was calling her ballet skills at first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballet For Dummies, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. Tracey Monaghan (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
It definately is what it says on the cover. Step by step readings including images explaining the basic of ballet including terminology, ballet positions and movements, safe practise rules and many others. Brilliant for beginners but also for someone studying dance in any way shape or form as it will definately help widen you knowledge of ballet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet For Dummies (Paperback)
Brilliant manual to work from to help with my 'adult ballet'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ballet For Dummies
Ballet For Dummies by Evelyn Cisneros (Paperback - 17 Oct 2003)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews