Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book geared to the American market though..
Healthy Carb Cookbook for Dummies

As a newbie to low carb dieting I found the book great at explaining the nutritional facts of which I was unaware. I've tried and enjoyed many of the recipes. I can also say that I've lost over half a stone inside about 6 weeks - the book tells you you didn't put all that weight on overnight. I also find I don't have any...
Published on 11 Jun. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For health rather than weight loss
A book that rather sits on the fence as far as low carb is concerned. From my experience, the approach recommended in this book would suit low carb dieters who have reached their goal weight rather than achieve weight loss. Perhaps it is aimed more at those who wish to improve their health by reducing their intake of refined carbohydrates.
Published on 7 Jun. 2004 by Barbara Coulter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For health rather than weight loss, 7 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
A book that rather sits on the fence as far as low carb is concerned. From my experience, the approach recommended in this book would suit low carb dieters who have reached their goal weight rather than achieve weight loss. Perhaps it is aimed more at those who wish to improve their health by reducing their intake of refined carbohydrates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book geared to the American market though.., 11 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
Healthy Carb Cookbook for Dummies

As a newbie to low carb dieting I found the book great at explaining the nutritional facts of which I was unaware. I've tried and enjoyed many of the recipes. I can also say that I've lost over half a stone inside about 6 weeks - the book tells you you didn't put all that weight on overnight. I also find I don't have any real desire for sweets or chocolate - if I feel hungry, I'll have a carrot, fat free yoghurt or fruit.

On the downside, as a UK reader, I got a bit fed up with the use of American terminology for cooking utensils - for broiler - read grill; for grill - read barbecue, etc. and for products which are relatively obscure in Manchester's supermarkets, i.e. black soybeans, Canadian Ham(Google implies the term means different things depending on where you live).

I'd also like more ideas on what you have with some of the meals apart from salad- potato seems to be out, never getting a mention, despite being unquestionably a vegetable. A friend recently suggested mashed swede and carrot, which I think is a great idea.

I got the book from the Library initially and have now purchased a copy.

Geoff Arrowsmith, Oldham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The only Dummie is the Author, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
This has nothing to do with Low-Carb Dieting. This is a book about slightly reduced High-Carb eating, not worth it's price at all even at give-away price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very American, 11 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
The book gives good information on low carb dieting in general but I found the receipes impossible. They are very American and I hadn't heard of most of the ingredients and can't find them in the UK. Dissappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 19 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
You can get most of this information from the internet. I wasn't particulary inspired with the recipe section. Printed on cheap nasty paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Helped me trying to come too grips with low carb dieting, making me understand what is low carb and what is classed as hi- carb. The recipes are good too. Very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is!, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
D. Roberts (southend on sea, Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is ok but weights measures and a few things are really for the American market
It's ok and the measuring you just convert .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful recipes, 10 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
I brought this book for myself but lent it to my Mother who is fairly elderly who found the recipe ideas easy to follow, so have lost the book to my Mother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low-Carb Dieting for Dummies, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
I love the "Dummies" books, they are so easy to read and so helpful. This one was a real help, when I needed to reduce my carbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite, 30 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
What I expected and not really for me. More of a low carb plan and one that feels too inflexible for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies
Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies by Katherine B. Chauncey Ph.D. R.D. (Paperback - 21 Nov. 2003)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews