Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather like a famous brand of woodstain
This misses out on 5 stars because it doesn't actually tell me the information that I bought it for (i.e. restricting MAC addresses). But to be fair it does exactly what it says on the tin.
I'm actually a developer, and thus far the only Dummies book I would recommend for serious developers are Bill Hatfield's excellent ASP(.NET) books. However when it comes to...
Published on 16 Oct 2003 by B. Eaton

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars have dummies got a lot brighter?
it is interesting that the first reviewer is a developer and liked this book. i am not and didn't. the book assumes that you are an it pro and therfore understand all of the basic concepts of networks and domain servers. if you like me want a book to learn these basics, don't buy this one.
Published on 31 Oct 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather like a famous brand of woodstain, 16 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2003 For Dummies (Paperback)
This misses out on 5 stars because it doesn't actually tell me the information that I bought it for (i.e. restricting MAC addresses). But to be fair it does exactly what it says on the tin.
I'm actually a developer, and thus far the only Dummies book I would recommend for serious developers are Bill Hatfield's excellent ASP(.NET) books. However when it comes to networks I'm not as clued up as I should be (what happened to the days when IT people knew everything about computers?) which is why i bought this.
This is not a detailed under the hood look at Windows Server 2003 and gets a bit dizzy when going on about Active Directory, but it's explanation of network topology, TCP/IP, and other *fascinating* (mmm...Cat 5 cable) subjects is straightforward and easy to understand.
Admittedly the 2003 Server software does pretty much wipe your rear for you in the setup anyway. But that does kinda rely on you understanding what hardware to use and where to stick it (word to the wise: don't use xp with ICS and an ADSL modem on a 2003 Server network - just buy a router!). Anyway, I'm happy now - who would have thought that you could run Quake and SQL Server on a file/print/DHCP/DNS server with no fuss eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
start from the begining even you have an understanding this takes you through it , one step at a time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 14 Sep 2011
By 
Lm Oconnell (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2003 For Dummies (Paperback)
Very excellent book to assist persons in learning or updating their knowledge in Windows Server 2003. Purchased to help me through my final year at University, and condition of being a second hand book was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. J. S. Goold "jg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Windows Server 2003 For Dummies (Paperback)
Pretty good guide for beginners as the title suggests, but does only cover aspects lightly. Ideal for messing about with and learning the basics though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars have dummies got a lot brighter?, 31 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2003 For Dummies (Paperback)
it is interesting that the first reviewer is a developer and liked this book. i am not and didn't. the book assumes that you are an it pro and therfore understand all of the basic concepts of networks and domain servers. if you like me want a book to learn these basics, don't buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent copy, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. A. Oxley (newcastle upon tyne uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Windows Server 2003 For Dummies (Paperback)
i found the second hand copy to be in excellent condition, the price was great even though it came from the usa, seller dispatched it very quickly. i bought it for my husband and he finds it to be brilliant so thank you, A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Late, 3 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2003 For Dummies (Paperback)
The book is fine but delivery was late. It took four weeks to arrive which was well outside the window. I had to contact the supplier who was very helpful but nevertheless........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows Server 2003 For Dummies
Windows Server 2003 For Dummies by James M. Stewart (Paperback - 1 April 2003)
16.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews