Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like Horiyoshi III work.
If you love the work of Horiyoshi III then i can advise you to purchase this book as it contains some fine examples of the man's work.

I do have a problem with this book though and that is the photography looks a little dull and has a slight blur to it which is a shame and another thing that isn't this book's problem is that i think if you're after ideas for...
Published on 6 April 2009 by Cerberus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Actually 3.5...
Good, but not great. Photographic quality is not good (being a photgrapher could I might be being slightly harsh here). Interesting insight into Busido but slightly repetitive. Was looking for a certain style/source reference for a design but came up a little short. For tattoo historians and aficionados, possibly not for first timers...
Published on 11 April 2011 by gor1lla


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like Horiyoshi III work., 6 April 2009
By 
Cerberus (London , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
If you love the work of Horiyoshi III then i can advise you to purchase this book as it contains some fine examples of the man's work.

I do have a problem with this book though and that is the photography looks a little dull and has a slight blur to it which is a shame and another thing that isn't this book's problem is that i think if you're after ideas for japanese tattoo's then i will recommend to you Tattoo in Japan Traditional and Modern Styles as it is a better book all round on the subject matter, Bushido Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo is more wallet frindly though and is still a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bushido: Legacies Of The Japanese Tattoo, 13 Jan. 2008
By 
Jordan Holt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
This was a fantastic book, with some very interesting viewpoints and information. I found the relationship between the samurai honour system and traditional japanese tattooing particularly intreguing, and the photography and sketches provided a great insight to the visual elements described in this book. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to know a bit more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tattoo reference book, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
Having had the pleasure to be tattooed by Taki (Horitaka) at the London Tattoo Convention in 2010 and 2011, I can attest to his profound level of knowledge, skill and expertise in the world of Japanese tattooing.

The text is informative and Taki's books are vital sources of research to anyone seriously considering getting a Japanese tattoo.

I collect books on Japanese tattooing and Taki's books were some of the first that I bought. I would highly recommend them.
Based on my knowledge of collecting Japanese Tattoo books for the last seven years, my key observation would be that most tattoo books that are not aimed at professional tattooers contain very limited information on the themes and/or techniques associated with Japanese tattooing. This is not so with this book, where the emphasis is not only on quality traditional hand-tattooing but also the rich history that sits behind it which is a vital point of reference for both professional tattooers and amatuer enthusiasts alike.

A further point that I would like to make is that this book provides an excellent example of just how good tattooing can be as an artform. It pains me to see some of the quality of artwork out there sometimes and I cannot stress the importance of good research when getting one done. Even at triple the RRP I would still highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bushido Legacies Of The Japanese Tattoo, 11 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
An all round excellent book with many fine pictures, and lots of interesting and well wrote information on the history and origins of janpanese tattooing. Well worth the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 8 July 2007
By 
Severin (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
An excellent resource, full of the very best, older-style Japanese tattoos. Loads of colour photographs, excellent, informative texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Actually 3.5..., 11 April 2011
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
Good, but not great. Photographic quality is not good (being a photgrapher could I might be being slightly harsh here). Interesting insight into Busido but slightly repetitive. Was looking for a certain style/source reference for a design but came up a little short. For tattoo historians and aficionados, possibly not for first timers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
I loved this book, it was hugely fascinating, full of excellent pictures and cultural history I wasn't even aware of. I got this as a gift for a tattoo artist and would definitely recommend it to both tattoo fans and those working in the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
Excellent book apart of the amazing pics from Horioshi III the book gives a very good information about the amazing world of japanese tattoo history .
I was very happy witn that !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
Very Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo (Paperback)
us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo
Bushido: Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo by Takahiro Kitamura (Paperback - 10 Sept. 2004)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews