Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Revival Tarries
This book is a must read for any Christian who has ever been worth their salt! Although written in the late fifties, and described as being a book of its time, a read of this book today is enlightening. The world disintegrates by the hour and there seems to be no antidote to the rot that has set in. Church leaders seemed either hamstrung or moribund when it comes to...
Published on 2 Oct 2010 by Mr. Christopher J. Grummitt

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ravenhill, Leonard Why revival tarries,
I can't say I am finding the book riveting or really enjoyable, actually I find it a bit prickly, irritating. Mostly skim reading it but have noticed a couple of things.

On page 58 “Why does revival tarry … because evangelism is so highly commercialised … Page 59 “revival tarries because of the cheapening of the Gospel … Page 60...
Published 3 months ago by SueMRochford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Ravenhill, Leonard Why revival tarries,, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Revival Tarries (Paperback)
I can't say I am finding the book riveting or really enjoyable, actually I find it a bit prickly, irritating. Mostly skim reading it but have noticed a couple of things.

On page 58 “Why does revival tarry … because evangelism is so highly commercialised … Page 59 “revival tarries because of the cheapening of the Gospel … Page 60 … easy believeism … carelessness … fear … Page 61 … the lack of urgency in prayer … Page 62 … because we steal the glory that belongs to God. I can't disagree that these reasons are true, but do they actually relate to revival, what revival so far I am on page 74 and I still have not been told what revival he is talking about, I have no idea yet whether this is a general or specific revival he's talking about. The fact that there is no mention of a general or specific revival in the end times, really makes me wonder what he is talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Revival Tarries, 2 Oct 2010
This review is from: Why Revival Tarries (Paperback)
This book is a must read for any Christian who has ever been worth their salt! Although written in the late fifties, and described as being a book of its time, a read of this book today is enlightening. The world disintegrates by the hour and there seems to be no antidote to the rot that has set in. Church leaders seemed either hamstrung or moribund when it comes to voicing an opinion over the dilemma facing us all. For the twenty five years of my own redemption the cry of 'When oh when Lord will you bring revival?' has echoed through the portals of churches around the globe. God has always seemed absent. Is it simply that He has turned His face away? Leonard Ravenhill has not not only explained 'why' in 'Why revival Tarries' but throughout the book he issues stern warnings to a church on the brink of apostasy. The message is, without doubt, God given and very much for today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Revival Tarries - a double edged sword, 4 Sep 2009
This review is from: Why Revival Tarries (Paperback)
highly challenging and inspirational. sharp and incisive. a message to nations gone asleep, to kingdoms in self indulgence and to individuals blindly and helplessly tossed around in the whirlwinds of these perilous times.The Soul Reconcilers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Revival Tarries, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Revival Tarries (Paperback)
This a classic on the subject which is little known about. It is very readable indeed, and time and time again strikes the right chord with one's spiritual dimension. It is not OTT to say that it is impossible to read this book and not become a better, more God-like person. Would that every Christian had a copy, and read it regularly - it's that type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book on the need of prayer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stirring, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Revival Tarries (Paperback)
This is a very good book. It's a book I think all pastors and leaders should read! It stirs you to seek God more, and to see the great need for the Holy spirit and prayer in the Church today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spark of Revival Fire, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Book will ever be relevant for any generation that doesn't want Revival to die out.
Amen amen amen Amen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Revival Tarries
Why Revival Tarries by Leonard Ravenhill (Paperback - 1 Aug 2004)
£8.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews