Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.
I have spoken to muslims in the streets of England on a weekly basis for the last 6 years about true Christianity and the Bible. This book is very good for the Christian person who wants enlighting on muslim belief without having to read the Qur'an from cover to cover! It covers ALL the main issues and must have took a tremendous time of in-depth study and careful...
Published 13 months ago by D.W.Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read since it is not very lucid but ...
Hard to read since it is not very lucid but then nothing about .islam today is lucid since it's modern proponents are so uptight.
Published 6 days ago by B. Zabavnik


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 19 July 2013
This review is from: What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an (Paperback)
I have spoken to muslims in the streets of England on a weekly basis for the last 6 years about true Christianity and the Bible. This book is very good for the Christian person who wants enlighting on muslim belief without having to read the Qur'an from cover to cover! It covers ALL the main issues and must have took a tremendous time of in-depth study and careful reading. James White is a modern day giant for the Christian faith in my opinion, a wonderful man with a genuine heart for our muslim neighbours. God bless anyone who reads the book, you will find it very informative and helpful. To God be the Glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Christian who talks to Muslims should read this., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first thing you need to know is that this is not "Islam in 5 Easy Steps".

The truth is that for many Christians, Islam is mysterious, and it seems like a mountain of a task to engage with Muslims with any degree of success. Unlike so much of the material written by Christians on this topic, often full of sweeping generalisations based on secondary sources, this book is scholarly and the author's use of primary sources is very evident.

The book is quite technical in some places and includes a number of lengthy quotes from literature outside the Qur'an itself, which will no doubt put off casual readers. This approach is necessary however. The teachings of the Qur'an are clearly laid out in a systematic way, including their relevance to Christian - Muslim dialogue. The important differences between Christianity and Islam become increasingly clear as the book progresses, so that by the time you have finished reading it you are in a far better position to talk with your Muslim friends on a meaningful level, without simply talking past each other.

You'll be disappointed if you want a quick fix, or if you refuse to read the endnotes (containing some excellent information). If however, you want to truly understand Islam and how to approach the challenge of witnessing to Muslims then you will not find a better book anywhere. Especially useful is the information on the hadith literature.

A book that you will find yourself coming back to again and again to dig for more information. A truly excellent work, scholarly, respectful and readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Dr J R White., 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an (Paperback)
A respectable discourse. Simple enough for the beginner and sophisticated enough for the serious student. Well researched and well written. Consider it a standalone or as a pointer to further study. You won't be disappointed -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an (Paperback)
Nowadays there is so much disinformation, This book clearly
shows the reader islamic wrong view of christianity. I hope not only christian but also muslim
will have a chance to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an (Paperback)
[[This is an excerpt from my full review on my blog, which can be accessed through my profile]]

I learned a great deal from this book about Islam and am extremely thankful for this book. I was also very grateful for White's thoroughness. There's nothing better than hearing your opponent express their views in their own words. White even represents disagreements within Islam when he could have only represented one side and taken an easy cheap shot instead. At times the large block quotes and very detailed engagement with Islam became tedious though.

However with that said, I cannot praise this book highly enough! I know of no other introduction to the Qur'an with this level of fairness and detail. White's representation and eventual criticisms of the Qur'an are fair and laser-sharp, ignoring the easy shots that others take at Islam and getting straight to the most important points in the discussion. White is not just an apologist but a theologian, he is not simply attacking Islam from no sure foundation of his own, he is constantly drawing the reader's attention to the most important theological issues dividing both religions.

What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an is a real step forward in serious dialogue between Islam and Christianity. If every Christian read this book carefully we would avoid oversimplification and stereotype and be better apologists to Muslims, and with the Spirit's empowering, win more to Christ.

[[Many thanks to Bethany House and Netgalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for a fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.]]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent informative read., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an (Paperback)
The author gives a good and readable account of Islam and its history from a solidly Christian perspective. Very helpfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to confess to an ignorance of Arabic and of the Islamic religions. In an age when so much is said about this faith and its adherents it is nice to be equipped in a scholarly way by James White in this book about the history behind the Qur'an as well as a background of its teaching and adherents. I share Dr White's Reformed and Evangelical Protestantism - but I believe this book is written in an academic matter suitable for anybody who wishes to understand more about this historical significant book and its followers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read since it is not very lucid but ..., 21 Aug 2014
By 
B. Zabavnik (down town shepherds bush beneath the BBC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an (Paperback)
Hard to read since it is not very lucid but then nothing about .islam today is lucid since it's modern proponents are so uptight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read!, 22 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. C. Fincher (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an (Paperback)
A very eye opening book by a very informative author. Not only Christians need to read this but non believers too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice informative read,

This is from the Christian viewpoint, but a lot of effort is made to look at the arguments fairly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an
What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an by James R White (Paperback - 28 May 2013)
7.19
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews