Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it.
Great story, great plot. Could do with a little bit of editing but my overall enjoyment of the story wasn't affected by that. I'm now going to check out some more of Robin's work!
Published 10 months ago by E

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars started well ended badly
I agree with some on here that it had a good start. The trouble started when they were put in more and more crazy situations that they could not possibly have been able to do.

There were so many things that didnt add up eg how did Chris get rescued from the lava tube and oxygen put in his tank....how was that physically done?, who did it. How can you stab...
Published 9 months ago by Derek


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars started well ended badly, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with some on here that it had a good start. The trouble started when they were put in more and more crazy situations that they could not possibly have been able to do.

There were so many things that didnt add up eg how did Chris get rescued from the lava tube and oxygen put in his tank....how was that physically done?, who did it. How can you stab someone through the foot and impale it into a metal floor?

Then there was the religious undertones which is very American...sorry but I gave it three stars.....would have been two but for the good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story, great plot. Could do with a little bit of editing but my overall enjoyment of the story wasn't affected by that. I'm now going to check out some more of Robin's work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great premise, 6 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offworld (Paperback)
The first half of this book is first rate based on a great premise which I don't want to spoil. And whilst the second half turns into more run of the mill thriller territory, this is still a good read.

It's such a great start... a mission to Mars, astronauts returning to earth when they lose communication with Houston. Is it them? Are there problems on Earth? What will they find, or more intriguingly, what don't they find?

Shades of FlashForward (though Offworld is a better novel) but in a different way.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous., 10 Dec 2013
By 
penny (nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story was told at a breakneck pace, presumably to cover up the lack of any real plot or narrative talent. Half way through I got that sinking feeling that the author had " A Message" so I googled him and sure enough he is an evangelical christian. If you like being proselytized with a side order of pseudo-science, this one's for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars promising start, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good original start to the book.
ruined by the conclusion, American godbothering nonsense in the end!!
characters and storyline rushed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Offworld (Kindle Edition)
An intriguing premise, and a storyline that unfolds well. Well thought out characters, interesting and believable. Not your average sci-fi novel, more than just a 'shoot em up' action tale, it brings more and adds a nice philosophical touch at the end. A thoughtful and thought provoking read all round, I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to reading more from the author. I would recommend this book to anyone, although it has to be said the Kindle glitches can be a bit distracting. A little more care on presentation/layout wouldn't go amiss, there are some curious typos, but didn't detract from my enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book set off at a good place but slowed two thirds in only to pick up again in the final chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but a tad farfetched., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good story overall, but a bit OTT on both the science and the protagonists' abilities. The main scientific premise is a bit woolly, but all in all a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One for Sci Fi enthusiasts only, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started this book with high hopes since the opening chapters were dynamic and gripping, but then it slowed and failed to live up to the "page turner" expectations I had. In the end it was cliched and dull, with a poor ending. Dull!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Offworld, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would agree with some of the reviews that this had an interesting start with the astronauts returning to an empty world but not to spoil the story it develops into a typical three people against the world. However if you are looking for an easy read this would be a good purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Offworld
Offworld by Robin Parrish (Paperback - 23 Oct 2009)
8.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews