Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christian fiction.
I enjoyed the whole trilogy. All the ends are tied up neatly here.

I found out more about the Amish people's faith from this trilogy than I have from previous books.

It was interesting to see the characters develop.

Christian fiction like this is not widely available in UK, so it is a real treat to read books like this.
Published on 15 Sep 2009 by bookwormkt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The REckoning
This is the last in the series about Katie Lapp - who discovered on the eve of her wedding she was adopted Amish rather than born Amish. I find it odd that she assumed that her birth mother wanted her to live as "English" and so went to her home in New York State where she initially seemed to enjoy living "fancy". (Her birth mother was very rich) Katherine never seems to...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Mrs. G. E. Thompson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christian fiction., 15 Sep 2009
By 
bookwormkt (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the whole trilogy. All the ends are tied up neatly here.

I found out more about the Amish people's faith from this trilogy than I have from previous books.

It was interesting to see the characters develop.

Christian fiction like this is not widely available in UK, so it is a real treat to read books like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read!, 22 Aug 2013
By 
V. Loudon "valedith" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This, the third book in the Heritage of Lancaster County trilogy, is the best of the three books and one I'll read again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The REckoning, 28 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. G. E. Thompson "gillt62" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reckoning: 3 (Heritage of Lancaster County) (Paperback)
This is the last in the series about Katie Lapp - who discovered on the eve of her wedding she was adopted Amish rather than born Amish. I find it odd that she assumed that her birth mother wanted her to live as "English" and so went to her home in New York State where she initially seemed to enjoy living "fancy". (Her birth mother was very rich) Katherine never seems to have wondered why her birth mother gave her to an Amish couple rather than an "English" (non-Amish) couple. When Katherine found a letter from her mother saying she did not want her daughter to live with riches she was quite happy to go back to Plain living in Amish country though as a Mennonite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable conclusion to the series, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Rachel (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reckoning: 3 (Heritage of Lancaster County) (Paperback)
I enjoyed the conclusion to the Heritage of Lancaster County series more than the second book but not quite as much as the first. While living in her birth-mother's mansion in New York, Katie comes to realise that she misses many aspects of her old Amish life - quilting, baking, helping those who are to frail to look after themselves. Can she really throw that all away and become completely "fancy"? I felt that on her quest to discover who she really was, Katie really grew as a character and the immaturities about her that I'd previously disliked diminished. Katie's friends and relatives back in Lancaster also featured more in this book, which is another reason why I enjoyed it. It was great to read about Rebecca coming to terms with her daughter's shunning, Mary finding love and Annie rekindling her friendship with her brother.

Throughout the book, several characters discussed finding salvation through belief in Christ. I appreciated that Beverly Lewis had picked up on the fact that a lot of Amish don't believe in this and instead think that you have to earn your way to heaven, as this is an aspect of Amish life that I don't entirely agree with. However, I can see how this would make the novel unappealing to a secular audience. Daniel's discovery of salvation in the second book had been a trivial point but it was discussed much more frequently in The Reckoning, so be aware of this if you are not a Christian and are considering reading this book.

All in all, I've enjoyed reading this series but would not say that it is my favourite of the Amish sagas available. Lewis broke into the scene with the Heritage of Lancaster County books and while this was groundbreaking at the time, her writing has changed a lot since the late 90s. There are some cliches and predictabilities about these books and the speech can seem stilted in places. These novels make great comfort reads, but a better series by Lewis is the Abram's Daughters series. There are several other authors of Amish fiction who I'd recommend, my favourites being Amy Clipston, Vannetta Chapman and Barbara Cameron. The Heritage of Lancaster County is a great place to start in the Amish genre, and because it was the series that started it all, you can only move on to bigger and better books! 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful ending completing the trilogy of novels Heritage of Lancaster County, 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Reckoning: 3 (Heritage of Lancaster County) (Paperback)
Having read the first two novels in the trilogy Heritage of Lancaster County I was eager to start on the final chapter in the life of Katie Lapp a young woman brought up in the Amish Culture. I was not disappointed. Beverly Lewis has the gift of storytelling. Her exquisite description throughout brought you right into the landscape of Lancaster County. Her knowledge of Amish traditions made the story so believable. You could get an insight into some of the ways of the "Plain People" as the day to day life of the characters unfolds. Her superb ability to weave the threads of the plot into a convincing narrative keeps you enthralled. You would need to read the first two novels in the series, "The Shunning" and "The Confession" before reading this one. I thoroughly enjoyed this series and have already started on the first novel in another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the reckoning, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
along with the rest of the book ordered im really looking forward to this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. V. Beulah Robinson (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the third book in the series - the whole series is absolutely excellent - fiction but founded on fact - an amazing story - full of truth and faith.
Just great _ Thank You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reckoning: 3 (Heritage of Lancaster County)
The Reckoning: 3 (Heritage of Lancaster County) by Beverly Lewis (Paperback - 1 Feb 2008)
8.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews