Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amazing
This is an amazing book and I really loved reading it! Julia, her husband and their twin daughters live in a small town in the mountains. When the main and only source of income in the town, the lumber mill, is closed, many people pack up and leave. Julia and a few others are determined to stay and try their hardest to revive what is quickly turning into a ghost town...
Published on 9 Dec 2000

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
Not what I was expecting, the filmed versions are so much better. The characters were very one-dimensional. The plot was undeveloped. The
simplistic religious theme was unconvincing. The printing was poor. Not a very good experience for my first Kindle book.
Published 5 months ago by bookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 9 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is an amazing book and I really loved reading it! Julia, her husband and their twin daughters live in a small town in the mountains. When the main and only source of income in the town, the lumber mill, is closed, many people pack up and leave. Julia and a few others are determined to stay and try their hardest to revive what is quickly turning into a ghost town. Julia opens her beautiful home as a place to stay for tourists and later becomes involved in the lives of those who stay with her. This is a story of determination, love, and most of all, God's amazing providence. I've read this book over and over and couldn't put it down. If you like Janette Oke, then you will definitley like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not what I was expecting, the filmed versions are so much better. The characters were very one-dimensional. The plot was undeveloped. The
simplistic religious theme was unconvincing. The printing was poor. Not a very good experience for my first Kindle book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly moving book, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found I had difficulty putting this book down. It is an incredibly moving story, well written and with strong gospel input. Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story of hope and joy, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story, funny at times, heart breaking at others. Great sense of strong faith underlying all. Thank you. Good writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've just newly discovered Christian Fiction and this book has been a beautiful example of it. Great storytelling with twists and turns and lovely examples of how the characters deal with situations we all face every day. Highly recommend Janette's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Julia's Last Hope (Women of the West)
Julia's Last Hope (Women of the West) by Janette Oke (Paperback - 1 Oct 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews