Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idioms are the spice of life.
This book was smaller than i expected, it could almost be regarded as "pocket sized" but came with a nice plastic jacket. But you cannot judge a book by its cover (!groan!) This book is very inforative and useful particularly to students at A-level and beyond, examiners like idiomatic phrases (so ive been told) There are clear illustrations of each feature...
Published on 20 Oct 2003

versus
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A translator's view
As a professional translator,I bought this book in the hope that it would provide assistance with the more esoteric German idioms. I was sadly disappointed. The book scarcely goes beyond tourist phrase books. If you want idiom coverage, the best option is still to buy a decent dictionary.
Published on 26 Oct 2007 by Mr. J. Coates


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idioms are the spice of life., 20 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This book was smaller than i expected, it could almost be regarded as "pocket sized" but came with a nice plastic jacket. But you cannot judge a book by its cover (!groan!) This book is very inforative and useful particularly to students at A-level and beyond, examiners like idiomatic phrases (so ive been told) There are clear illustrations of each feature word/expression, with a very useful index in the back of both english to german and german to english. It also contains a section on abbreviations and their oppposite language equivalent. I would recommend this book as a good investment, they are hard if not almost impossible to come by in high street book shops and are harldy found in town libraries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for its purpose, 1 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Idioms (Barron's Idioms) (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
Every language has its own idioms and metaphors, which shape the character of the language (possibly of its speakers too?) and make it more vivid. As with the other books in this short series, you won't learn the elements of the language itself from this little book but it will help you pick up some conversational or literary references that you might otherwise miss. It's easy to slip into a pocket and good fun to dip into - in my case, as a distraction when waiting for the dentist! - and it won't break the bank. I have noticed a few misprints but overall it's excellent for its purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A translator's view, 26 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. J. Coates "John C" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a professional translator,I bought this book in the hope that it would provide assistance with the more esoteric German idioms. I was sadly disappointed. The book scarcely goes beyond tourist phrase books. If you want idiom coverage, the best option is still to buy a decent dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars German idioms, 8 May 2014
By 
Mr. C. Stanton (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Idioms (Barron's Idioms) (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent book with very good phrases and idioms. Recommended. Easy to follow and very topical. Handy pocket sized and compact
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is very good for what it claims, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Idioms (Barron's Idioms) (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
I hope I have sold a couple more for you - I took this to a study class
I was possibly lucky to get it back - neven my Tutor wanted one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for German Idioms, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Idioms (Barron's Idioms) (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
This book is very useful because it contains a lot of useful phrases that should help me become more fluent in the German language, thereby it should be very useful for my Foreign Languages Studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful if you want an A* at GCSE German, 14 April 2011
By 
FlowaPowa (Ormskirk, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Idioms (Barron's Idioms) (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my two teenagers on the advice of their GCSE German teacher. Apparently they can improve their chances of an A* by including idioms in their written and spoken work.

This pocket-sized book is very browsable, doesn't add much weight to the school bag and seems to fit our needs perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barron's German Idioms, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Eric C. Packham (Edinburgh. Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Idioms (Barron's Idioms) (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
A very handy pocket size book. It take it with almost everywhere I go so that I can learn or revise whilst on my travels. The plastic cover gives it added protection in my raincoat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars German Idioms, 22 Feb 2013
By 
V. G. Sayer "Chefboy" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Idioms (Barron's Idioms) (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
A great guide for those tricky moments when something is said in German which 'apparently' makes no sense when translated literally but is used in a special context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful tool!, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: German Idioms (Barron's Idioms) (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
However, it did not include: "Erwaehnen Sie den Krieg nicht!" ("Don't mention the war!) An absolute must, if one wishes to be diplomatic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

German Idioms (Barron's Idioms) (Barron's Foreign Language Guides)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews