Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars11
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2010
A very useful pocket-sized dictionary for the more advanced student of French. Having being brought up bi-lingual I find it extremely enjoyable to browse through. It contains not only traditional French slang but also some of the most up to date expressions. It contains my favourite for a "pompous old fart" _ "il pète plus haut que le cul". French and German are well endowed with these lavatorial expressions, much more so than English. Now, come to think of it, I think I better get the German equivalent of this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 August 2009
This is a must if you want to keep your colloquial French up-to-date. I found it more fun and more useful than the dictionary of swear words "The Complete Merde". The slang is very useful for reading modern French novels and watching films as it does include expressions not easily found in dictionaries. It has large clear print and the definitions give handy examples. It will also help you avoid embarrassing situations when a seemingly innocent word turns out to have a different and rude meaning. Milder terms are also included but it is still not advisable to leave it lying around for your school-age French-learning offspring!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
The majority of terms in this book are far too rude to be used in everyday use/conversation/situations. They might be useful if you wish to get involved in the seedier side of French life, but otherwise don't bother. My French boyfiend was horrified by the content of this book.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
Many thanks to Barron's for their dictionaries of colloquial French and German.This unassuming pocket-sized dictionary is packed with 4,000 colloquial expressions in alphabetical order, nice print and with full sentence examples of usage. Here at last! in concentrated form is the vocabulary of that whole other language that the French actually speak among themselves. The scatalogical slang is also there, even more of it than in the light and humourous Merde! books. I am delighted that these Barron's dictionaries are updated every few years, because they lessen the time wasted in France in dreary incomprehension, unable to follow the conversation or partake in the discussions or even follow the dialogue on the screen at the cinema. Thank you, Henry Strutz and friends, for this quiet, but oh so essential compilation of real-time, real-life French turns of phrase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 December 2010
This one-way dictionary from French to English is easy to use and informative. It could have included a few more idioms.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
Just a bit more saucy than I expected. I don't think any teenager will have a problem practicing any of this!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Very useful, although it requires further translation from the 'North American' biased English slang to get at the exact colloquial language used by us Brits. Nations divided by a common language?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Gave this book to two 'men of the world' at my French class. Ils sont tombés des nues. Very embarrassing.Had expected interesting colloquialisms not obscene phrases. Never again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Was a book my daughter wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
just what I needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)