Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for both sides of the Atlantic
I find this book a very useful reference work, with very detailed information on verbs. I particularly like the fact that it caters for both European and Brazilian Portuguese. This work is for verbs what Manuela Cook's Course is in the way of language courses, for both sides of the Atlantic. I would say that Nitti and Ferreira's 501 Portuguese Verbs and Manuela Cook's...
Published on 1 Dec 2002 by Michael Hopkins

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the right audience
This book does exactly as it says on the tin: presents you with 501 verbs fully conjugated for every tense. If you know what all these tenses are and when to use them then this is the ideal book for you; a reference manual to which you can refer if you've forgotten what the 1st person singular past subjunctive is for "ter", for example. However, one must realise that this...
Published on 8 Jun 2007 by JR Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for both sides of the Atlantic, 1 Dec 2002
This review is from: 501 Portuguese Verbs (Paperback)
I find this book a very useful reference work, with very detailed information on verbs. I particularly like the fact that it caters for both European and Brazilian Portuguese. This work is for verbs what Manuela Cook's Course is in the way of language courses, for both sides of the Atlantic. I would say that Nitti and Ferreira's 501 Portuguese Verbs and Manuela Cook's Portuguese a complete course in understanding speaking and writing ISBN 0340789328 are Perfect Partners. They are both very thorough, and for both sides of the Atlantic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for what it is, 1 Sep 2004
By 
Monica Roberts (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 501 Portuguese Verbs (Paperback)
I have been usig this book for some time and I think that it deserves five stars for what it is, mainly a catalogue of Portuguese verb tenses, with their endings and forms. But it stops there. The information you get is clear and reliable, but you need something else if you want to understand how Portuguese verbs actually work, how they behave in a sentence, how they compare with English verbs. I have now found an excellent book for all that, Portuguese Verbs Explained by Manuela Cook. It goes well beyond this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet comprehensive this book is a must have, 11 July 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 501 Portuguese Verbs (Paperback)
For anybody studying a language beyond rudimentary level this reference book is a must both for vocabulary & translation reference. It has a comprehensive list of simple vocabulary & verbs not conjugated & a summary of how the Portuguese language works in addition to the said 501 fully conjugated verbs of the title. I also have 501 Spanish verbs & would recommmend happily any of the books in this series to students of language. When learning a new language these books should be among the 1st bought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the right audience, 8 Jun 2007
This review is from: 501 Portuguese Verbs (Barron's 501 Portuguese Verbs) (Paperback)
This book does exactly as it says on the tin: presents you with 501 verbs fully conjugated for every tense. If you know what all these tenses are and when to use them then this is the ideal book for you; a reference manual to which you can refer if you've forgotten what the 1st person singular past subjunctive is for "ter", for example. However, one must realise that this book is hopeless for anyone who hasn't studied Portuguese before as the explanation on usage of tenses is completely lacking. OK, some examples containing verbs in context can be found on each page, but that hardly suffices for a clear overview of each tense that could so easily have been placed at the front of the book. Instead, the first few pages are filled with grammatical jargon and rather unappetizing details on "pronouns and their peculiarities" etc. This is all well and good for the connoisseur, but the authors should make it clear that the book is not suitable for beginners unless they understand verb conjugations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 501 Portuguese Verbs (Barron's 501 Portuguese Verbs) (Paperback)
A really good help if you want to learn Portuguese. Very easy to read and I really can recommend it to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review 501 Portuguese, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 501 Portuguese Verbs (Barron's 501 Portuguese Verbs) (Paperback)
Like the 501 series in other languages, it's an essential source for 'Grammar Lovers'! The only thing missing that is an important part of 501 Spanish for example is a section on 'verbs using idiomatic expressions' - for everyday usage this is an important aspect and a regretable omission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good reference book, 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: 501 Portuguese Verbs (Barron's 501 Portuguese Verbs) (Paperback)
If what you want is verb tables, this is the book for you, 501 of them. It is very useful when you want to check a verb ending you may have forgotten. The book also includes some extras which are a mixed blessing - it ventures into explanations that would require more page space in order to be comprehensive and clear enough and as such helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'd prefer it in a pocket size., 24 Sep 2010
By 
Tara Beirne (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 501 Portuguese Verbs (Barron's 501 Portuguese Verbs) (Paperback)
For some reason I thought this was going to be pocket sized, just my own assumption so I was surprised when it arrived to find it the size of a novel. The content of it seems very good but I'm sorry I didn't buy harraps Portuguese verbs instead because its pocket sized and I find that for learning a language it's handier to carry the book with me but obviously that's just my preference and not a fault with the book as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning Portuguese?, 30 April 2009
By 
Mrs. J. May (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 501 Portuguese Verbs (Barron's 501 Portuguese Verbs) (Paperback)
This book was recommended by all of my fellow students on our Portuguese language course here in Portugal and it has lived up to their claim. It is thorough and appears to be the best verb reference book available in the marketplace. Grammar is never interesting but this makes it accessible. The only thing it lacks is a more thorough explanation on the use of each of the tenses so you will need a basic understanding of what they are before you start although some examples of each verb usuage are given in English at the bottom of each page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition quite poor, 9 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have this book in paperback and in that edition it deserves the 4 stars most give it. Travelling to Brazil, and needing to minimize books to carry, I got the Kindle edition as well, but it is a great disappointment. The main verb tables appear as images rather than text, and are tiny, so if your eyes are not 20-20, you will find it very difficult to read. There is no verb index, so to find a verb, you have to do a general search. With an auxilary like 'ter' in any form, it throws up hundreds references (eg. tenho gives 520). Most common verbs also occur in the examples, so for example fazer likewise gives dozens of matches. Some of the matches are with the index, also reproduced in tiny 3 column text, which are not hyperlinked and therefore quite useless. Enter for example faça (=faca on the kindle keyboard) and of the 5 references returned, none refer to the verb table for fazer. Two are to the introductory sections and 3 refer to examples involving knives (faca)! Very frustrating, and a pity as this could be a really useful book, but it needs work: (a) At the very least a verb index right at the front (b) context searches that prioritise and clearly highlight occurrences in the verb tables (c) if possible avoidance of the 500+ false matches for the various forms of ter [though (a) would be a huge help in this direction] (d) hyperlink the english-portuguese index, otherwise it is quite useless (e) present the pages in a vertical column format according to normal kindle text standards, and avoid the tabular images that are almost unreadable even for a person like myself with good close vision. I hope the editors will take this on, as it is a really useful book and it would be nice to (1) avoid having to carry the 1.5 kg of paper on an air journey and (2) not make a wrong decision (as I did) and take this present kindle edition for reference. My advice: Buy the paperback version, it's an excellent reference, but don't waste money on the Kindle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

501 Portuguese Verbs (Barron's 501 Portuguese Verbs)
501 Portuguese Verbs (Barron's 501 Portuguese Verbs) by Michael J. Ferreira (Paperback - 24 Jun 2005)
£8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews