Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity for keeping up-to-date
This is a must if you want to keep your colloquial French up-to-date. I found it more fun and more useful than the dictionary of swear words "The Complete Merde". The slang is very useful for reading modern French novels and watching films as it does include expressions not easily found in dictionaries. It has large clear print and the definitions give handy examples...
Published on 22 Aug 2009 by Doc Barbara

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too rude for anything other than seedy situations
The majority of terms in this book are far too rude to be used in everyday use/conversation/situations. They might be useful if you wish to get involved in the seedier side of French life, but otherwise don't bother. My French boyfiend was horrified by the content of this book.
Published on 4 April 2010 by Tinkerbell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too rude for anything other than seedy situations, 4 April 2010
The majority of terms in this book are far too rude to be used in everyday use/conversation/situations. They might be useful if you wish to get involved in the seedier side of French life, but otherwise don't bother. My French boyfiend was horrified by the content of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity for keeping up-to-date, 22 Aug 2009
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of French Slang and Colloquial Expressions (Paperback)
This is a must if you want to keep your colloquial French up-to-date. I found it more fun and more useful than the dictionary of swear words "The Complete Merde". The slang is very useful for reading modern French novels and watching films as it does include expressions not easily found in dictionaries. It has large clear print and the definitions give handy examples. It will also help you avoid embarrassing situations when a seemingly innocent word turns out to have a different and rude meaning. Milder terms are also included but it is still not advisable to leave it lying around for your school-age French-learning offspring!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary of French Slang, 7 May 2010
By 
Eric C. Packham (Edinburgh. Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very useful pocket-sized dictionary for the more advanced student of French. Having being brought up bi-lingual I find it extremely enjoyable to browse through. It contains not only traditional French slang but also some of the most up to date expressions. It contains my favourite for a "pompous old fart" _ "il pète plus haut que le cul". French and German are well endowed with these lavatorial expressions, much more so than English. Now, come to think of it, I think I better get the German equivalent of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars L'Argot, 14 Dec 2010
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one-way dictionary from French to English is easy to use and informative. It could have included a few more idioms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teenagers will love it!, 14 Jan 2010
By 
N. E. BURDETT (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a bit more saucy than I expected. I don't think any teenager will have a problem practicing any of this!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential for all advanced students of French, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many thanks to Barron's for their dictionaries of colloquial French and German.This unassuming pocket-sized dictionary is packed with 4,000 colloquial expressions in alphabetical order, nice print and with full sentence examples of usage. Here at last! in concentrated form is the vocabulary of that whole other language that the French actually speak among themselves. The scatalogical slang is also there, even more of it than in the light and humourous Merde! books. I am delighted that these Barron's dictionaries are updated every few years, because they lessen the time wasted in France in dreary incomprehension, unable to follow the conversation or partake in the discussions or even follow the dialogue on the screen at the cinema. Thank you, Henry Strutz and friends, for this quiet, but oh so essential compilation of real-time, real-life French turns of phrase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh la la!!, 21 May 2014
This review is from: Dictionary of French Slang and Colloquial Expressions (Paperback)
Gave this book to two 'men of the world' at my French class. Ils sont tombés des nues. Very embarrassing.Had expected interesting colloquialisms not obscene phrases. Never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of French Slang and Colloquial Expressions (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dictionary of French Slang and Colloquial Expressions
Dictionary of French Slang and Colloquial Expressions by Henry Strutz (Paperback - 25 Aug 2000)
Used & New from: £0.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews