Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Computer Science Illuminated, 13 April 2009
By 
The is the best pre-computer science introductory text I have came across. Its systematic approach to the subject is for the layman without any computing background. I recommend this book to anyone I would like to understand basic computer concepts or would like to pursuit a degree in computer science
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Computer Science Illuminated: Student Study Guide, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the only proper computer science book on the market and no matter what edition you buy it has all the foundations of computer science. Unlike the BTEC books which I found useless in a sense that they just talk about how to be a good computer technician or what to do to be successful when you work as a computer technician and they only touch the surface in a few areas of computer science.

So if you want a proper computer book rich with information and something that you can read and learn the fundamentals of computing then buy this one. I have worked for many years as a computing/IT lecturer, and looked at hundreds of books in the past and I can confidently recommend this book for all computing courses from level 1 to degree courses. A complete coverage of computer science at various levels. It is also a book that does not rely on a particular package or application program or operating system, so it never goes out of date - a book to keep for the years to come.

Another thing that impressed me about this book is the interesting way it is written that makes a very interesting reading material. It also contains many colour pictures and excellent illustrations. The quality of print is excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
Anselmo Diaz Valiente (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book, after careful deliberation with myself(due to its price) last year, when I started my degree in Computer Science.
The book is easy to read, with lots of clarifying moments(when you exclaim 'Eureka') as something that was obscured before becomes cristal clear.

The structure, content, and pace are excellent. Though at first sight it may appear somewhat lengthy, by the time you finish it you will be left wanting more(so in effect it could be argued that it's short).

I learned LOTS by reading this book, and served very well as a refresher of things I already knew, and as a complement to the course materials I was studying at uni. It covers pretty much all the basic elements of computer science, with the exclusion of robotics, I think.

Most importantly, it doesn't assume much knowledge from part of the reader/student, and all information is presented in an approachable, entertaining, yet deep way.

There are many books on CS out there, and as an introductory text, this is one of the best. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to computer science!, 1 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Computer Science Illuminated (Paperback)
Covers the basic knowledge and terms necessary for further study. A thoroughly pleasant experience to read this book, it introduces key concepts and the fundamentals in a way that made me want to pursue a new career. I had for some time been looking for this kind of introduction, frustrated by texts that presumed knowledge in complex fundamental topics. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Computer Science Illuminated, 3 Jun. 2012
By 
Richard (Baden-Wurttemburg) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Computer Science Illuminated (Paperback)
Computer Science Illuminated is a very resourceful book and has proven to be a great reference guide for some more abstract area of the Science of computational systems. Any computer science student, computer programmer, web developer or embedded system developer should have this book on their shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful beginners guide on computer science, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Computer Science Illuminated (Paperback)
Ideal and easy explanation of computer science. Especially for those who wish to understand computer technology. My daughter used it to undertake an MSc in IT and found it invaluable. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An introduction like no other!, 30 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Computer Science Illuminated (Paperback)
Before I picked up this book I had been programming for around a year. This need not have been the case. After graduating I wanted to learn more about computer science, and found many books either too bland or too dense. What I wanted was a quality introduction to the general field of computer science.

This book was/is it. First off the style is so disarmingly polite and helpful that you are actually amazed by how much you have learnt after reading the text. The authors introduce the layered 'Onion' of the computer world and delve into each layer in a fair amount of accessible and engaging detail.

First off we learn about number systems and data representation, which is of fundamental importance. The book then takes us on a tour of logic gates and transistors and explains how things work at the hardware level. Next, come arguably the best part of the book, the programming 'layer'. The authors use a free to download virtual machine, that, by being tweaked and changed allows the user to get a really good idea of what is going on inside your computer when you ask it to execute an instruction. The CPU is covered in detail and the fetch-execute cycle is described well and given more meaning by the virtual machine.

By the end of the programming chapter you will have an idea about machine language, assembly language and higher level languages and I should imagine that you would feel confident to pursue futher study. Excellent chapters on networks, operating systems and the limitations of computing follow. Additionally, an intuitive approach to algorithmic analysis is given and big 'O' notation explained.

The key thing to realise about this book is that it gives a thorough overview and prepares you well for perhaps a degree in the subject. It introduces all the terminology that many other books assume that you will know. But do not be fooled into thinking the subject or this book an easy one. Its ideas are challenging, but you are in great hands with the authors and resources the book has available.

For ANYONE wishing to get into computer science, this is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful - lots of resources., 26 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended by many computing teachers. I find it useful for topics I need to get my head around. Pretty good with online resources which always help. I find some parts to be the same as every other text book, the complicated bits are vague in their expressions and definitions which is annoying at the least. But overall and good buy as a supplementary revision book for A-level Computing or tutoring the topic I'd say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 9 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Computer Science Illuminated (Paperback)
I am extremely happy buying this book and it is a book I will always keep. A wealth of knowledge is to be had in this book and it really did exceed my expectations.

Regards,

Peter Murray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must have, 27 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This is a must have book for university of Glasgow first year Computing Science students along with the Rolland databases book. It is mainly used in the systems part of CS1Q and there is helpfull stuff for CS1P in there to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Computer Science Illuminated
Computer Science Illuminated by Nell B. Dale (Paperback - 19 Jan. 2010)
Used & New from: £11.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews